We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience, but no sealife at all”
Review of Seaborn Catamaran

Seaborn Catamaran
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.34*
and up
Half-day Catamaran Trip from Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Catamaran Sailing Trips. Dolphins & Whale Watching at Madeira Island.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good experience, but no sealife at all”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The boat is pretty large, so very good for walking around on. The nets on the front are comfy for laying on while sailing, although you do tend to get splashed! The staff were very nice too. We had a nice trip sailing out near the Deserted Islands and back. Unfortunately we didn't see any dolphins, whales, turtles, birds or anything animalish. They advertise as 'if you don't see dolphins and whales, you get a second trip for free' but I don't think they actually like doing that. We didn't see anything, but when the trip was almost over the guide suddenly told us there were some whales in front of us. Nobody else on the boat saw them, but all the guides said they were there. They also said the whales were 'shy and spend 90% of the time under water, so it's hard to see them'. They ended up counting this 'whale encounter' as a sighting and nobody got a second trip. I don't know if there were actually whales there or they just say that to groups who don't see anything. Other than that, the trip and staff were great so it was a bit of a downer.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AlissaCarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    85
    22
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“No dolphin and whales but still fun”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Went out on the Sea Born in the beginning of november. Searched in fain for dolphins and whales but still enjoyed the trips with nice views of Funchal and the coast. The crew is very friendly and open to chat and show things.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank FrankDijkstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a morning”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Went out on Sea Born in September - pilot whales, bottlenose dolphins and best of all several sperm whales. Then mooring below the second highest sea cliff in the world for a spectacular swim and a leisurely sail back along the coastline. Crew concentrated on their work most of the trip but on the return trip were very chatty and full of humour and fun. Like most Madeirans they love talking to tourists and clearly want to improve their English. While seeing wildlife is not guaranteed - depends whats out there on any one day - its a fab way to spend a few hours.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Whale and Dolphin Watching”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We went on a 3 hour trip on the Sea Born Catamaran on our recent holiday and can recommend.The crew were excellent , helping everyone on and off the boat.

We saw several dolphins and one whale on our first visit. Enjoyed it so much , we went again on our second week as the weather was perfect , very hot but the slight sea breeze was very welcome .This time we only saw two dolphins but several whales .(6 to 8 all at one time ).We were very surprised and excited .

The catamaran stopped just below Cabo Girao for those who wished to swim in the sea .They provided snorkels and face masks .

Returning to Funchal gives you a different view of Funchal as you sail along the coastline .Fantastic trip with plenty of room onboard to walk about .Highly recommended .

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Dolphin Watch”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Went out on the catamaran Sea Born trip lasted 3 hours saw loads of dolphins and you get a chance to swim for about 30 minutes near a bay on the return journey.
Maximum passengers on this boat is 50 others cram up to a hundred on the same sixe vessel. Excellent value @ 30 euros

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank StuartD21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seaborn Catamaran also viewed

 

Been to Seaborn Catamaran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing