We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casino”
Review of Casino da Madeira

Casino da Madeira
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.11*
and up
Câmara de Lobos Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #59 of 149 things to do in Funchal
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed in casino park hotel next door...Great show and food..
good night out only open wed to sat....

Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casino_madeira, Gerente at Casino da Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your review.

Casino da Madeira takes pride in knowing that you enjoyed your time with us.

We hope to see you again.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 205 of 342 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

Can get a bit busy as only small but pleanty of small slots to have fun. Poker table tends to open later after ten.

Thank Kevin_Tyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casino_madeira, Gerente at Casino da Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your review.

Casino da Madeira is indeed a small casino, when compared to some of the other similar places. However, we do try to make it as friendly and welcoming as we possibly can.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Whilst staying at the Pastana Casino Park hotel I gave the Casino next door a try.

My normal game is Blackjack but when you have a dealer who is lightening fast but seems to make a point of not understanding English & even played some of my hands before I said anything it is difficult to be impressed.
The place was full of locals playing the slots & unusual for Madiera I felt out of place.
Didn't like the fact that they seemed to spray perfume in the air which mixed with the smoky atmosphere was a bit cloying.
Did not go again.

Thank TravellerClif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casino_madeira, Gerente at Casino da Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are sorry your experience with us didn't meet your expectations. Please mind that a lot has changed since your visit and we are constantly trying to improve all our services.

We hope you decide to visit us again in the future.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We booked one of the Dinner Shows at the Casino, which are on 4 nights a week. We picked the Burlesque Show. The Staff in the Resturant area on the 4 level of the Casino were very good and efficent. The seating arrangement is on one level which can give a restricted level to the stage. This is probabily due to the building being of 60/70s origin. This could be solved with split level seating.
The meal was a fixed menu, with no indication of any alternatives. The wine/water during the meal was replenished regulary. The Food was of a resonable standard.
The House Band were quite professional but they looked like they would rather be playing more lively music.
The warm up singer/ comedian was abit chessy and seem so full of himself.
The alleged Burlesque Show started and turned out to be the in house dance troupe going through the motions. Not even a stocking top on show.
Had we know this was the entertainment, we would not have booked.
The down stairs Casino was loud and lively, but the lack of multi language instructions on the gaming machines, left you unsure of what button to press and when. The card/ roulette table were very daunting to novice mavericks and could have been more player friendly.
Not the best night we have had and would not go again, have been left short changed

1  Thank Andy0486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casino_madeira, Gerente at Casino da Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your review.

Casino da Madeira is happy with the good remarks you made on certain aspects. On the other hand, we are sorry you felt the entertainment did not live up to your expectations. However, if you give us the pleasure of coming to our casino again, you will certainly find that we have come a long way since your visit.

We do hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was recommended to us by our travel agency representative as an excellent night out but we wish we hadn't have bothered to be honest. We paid 80 euros for a three course meal with wine and a show. We were served a sparkling wine on arrival and taken to our seats, within minutes we were served dips and nibbles and wine, we were then given a menu although there is no choice unless you are vegetarian. I chose cheese tortellini which the waiter seemed to be trying to get me to chose something else instead, which I realised why when it was being served, it was revolting, I could not eat it. The waiter, however, was very good and offered me an alternative of spring rolls!! I have never had spring rolls as a main dish before, they were edible but served with what tasted like an 'uncle bens' jar of sweet n sour sauce. My husband enjoyed his beef main course but there wasn't much of it and his starter of smoked salmon was definitely not smoked salmon, he couldn't eat it. I had given up by dessert and didn't even attempt t eat it. White wine was ok. The show started with a cheesy singer and then the dancing began, which I have to be honest it was terrible, it reminded me of the free entertainment you have on an all inclusive holiday- which is fine as it if free. We promptly left as did other people as we were bored. We thought we would have more fun down on the first floor in the casino, we were mistaken, it is more of an amusement arcade. We decided to end the night there. As we only had a week in Madeira we wish we hadn't of wasted a night of it at the casino. Would not recommend this as a night out.

Thank Hayleys77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casino_madeira, Gerente at Casino da Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2016

Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are truly sorry you did not enjoy your visit to our casino. However, Casino da Madeira has coma a long way and we strongly believe all our services and products have been improved.

We do hope you give us the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casino da Madeira also viewed

 

Been to Casino da Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing