We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise found!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Ranked #1 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2009

Chose this hotel mainly because of other favourable reviews and we were not disappointed. The hotel is away from the bustle of Funchal and is an oasis of calm, with the peace of the gardens being especially attractive.

Our room was very spacious and the evening "turn down" with complimentary chocolates was a treat. Although we were told that the hotel was full, it was never busy and the staff always had time to chat and were extremely helpful.

The food was excellant with a wide choice but very fresh. Breakfast on the open terrace was a great way to start the day.

We could not find fault in any aspect of the hotel and this made it a holiday to remember. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GeeKay55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,002 - 1,008 of 1,315 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2009

Loved the setting, surroundings and size of this hotel. The grounds are beautifully laid out, full of mature trees and a wonderful variety of flowering shrubs - great to wander round at any time of day and an oasis of peace to relax in after a busy day sightseeing or walking the levadas! We had a delicious breakfast out in the garden every morning - particularly enjoying the variety of fresh fruit and the smoked salmon on offer! We ate in the hotel restaurant on most evenings with good service and excellent quality food. The apple cake from the snack bar by the pool was scrummy!
It does takes a good 15 minutes to walk into the town centre but it is worth it to have the peace and quiet of this hotel. If you miss the scheduled courtesy bus service then a taxi only costs around 5 euros.
This was our first trip to Madeira and we wished we had stayed longer - we'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jalisong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2009

We spent 7 days at this hotel in our first visit to Madeira as part of a package. It is 5 star, so pricey. Very clean and well appointed with lots of space inside and out, including generally excellent pool area with jacuzzi, sauna/Turkish bath and bistro/bar so you can have excellent good value lunches by the pool. Pool needs a little varnish and a few tiles here and there, but it still looks very "desert island". The water isn't heated. Delightful gardens with good views of Funchal. Barking dogs in residential area is a problem at night, so best close the balcony doors unless you can sleep through it.

Very helpful professional staff,

Rooms large and well appointed but we found the (enormous) bed and pillows very hard and didn't get good sleep. We only found out on the day we left that they will provide softer mattresses and pillows on request, so if this is an issue for you, ask on the first day. We had a premier suite, which was huge by any hotel standards - if it had a kitchen it would be a flat! TVs ( yes, one in the lounge and one in the bedroom) are rather old CRT editions and should be replaced with Plasma screens in a hotel of this quality. Although you can have tea for two in your room in the morning, it will cost you an extra €7.50 each for them to bring it there - an expensive cuppa. OK if money is no object, but we would like to have had the facilty to brew our own, which the rooms do not have. Like most hotels outside UK and Ireland, they make coffee well but tea badly.

Breakfast is excellent. Bacon is fine, just different from in the UK - more like cooked palma ham. Pasties are delicious. Evening restaurant is unexciting - food good but not outstanding and expensive because of that. Lounge pleasant and there is music twice a week - two guys doing romantic songs - a keyboard player and a crooner - good voice - rather like Enrique Inglesias ( he was flattered by this remark!)

This is a much more relaxed place than Reids and much more intimate than Cliff Bay, which is why we like privately owned smaller hotels.Would we stay again - yes definitely now that we know how to get a softer bed!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Cherrybee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

This was our first trip to Madeira, reason being our wedding anniversay and birthdays. Hotel gave us flowers, fruit, champagne and Madeira wine. Staff very friendly. Nice to be away from the busy harbour side and hotels on the front of Funchal. Close enough to walk to town - but need a taxi back, unless feeling energetic - taxis reasonable. Hotel and gardens superb, food superb, whole place superb!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mari0nrichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2009

This is a very beautiful and calm hotel close to central Funchal. We were celebrating our silver wedding day and we couldn’t find a better hotel on Madeira. Clean, extremely good service and lovely views. We are coming back!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sailorforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

The hotel is set in fantastic gardens on a hill above funchal. Had a look at the hotel zone which is where most hotels in funchal are, but it seemed like a concrete jungle in comparision to this hotel's location. It is in a residential area but the gardens are big enough to spread out in and find a quiet corner. We loved colombo and the birds in the aviary and spotting the different species of birds and frogs in the ponds. Get to breakfast by 7:45 and you'll be lucky enough to see egrets fishing in the coy carp pond.

The staff were really helpful and service was excellent. There was a good selection of food at breakfast, most of it excellent but I have to say that the sausage and bacon was awful (not that we missed it as we tended to eat fruit and pastries instead). The lunchtime food was quite expensive but then it is a 5 star hotel and the food was very good. The restaurant was also excellent and while pricy, it is actually cheaper than some of the other's we tried (such as the cliff bay).

We stayed in a premier suite which consisted of two very large rooms ( a bedroom with a sitting area plus a seperate lounge, dressing area and large bathroom). It was nice to have the space to stretch out in. Having said that we did peek into one of the regular rooms and even they seemed to be much bigger than your average hotel room.

We loved the pool area during the day but can't understand why the hotel does not serve drinks there at night. The palm trees have been wrapped in fairy lights and the pool is lit so it's quite a charming spot to have a drink on a hot night. The hotel only serves drinks inside the lounge at night, which we thought was a waste (although the waiters will take the drinks down to the pool for you if you ask them).

We have been to this hotel 3 times now and will no doubt be returning in the near future. My one small criticism of the hotel would be the swimming pool. Quite a few of the small tiles lining it have fallen off, plus some of the grouting is missing or discolored. The pool itself is amazing but I think the amount of tiles that are now missing gives it a slightly shabby look that is not in keeping with the standard of the rest of the hotel. Given that this hotel aims to be one of the best on the island then I feel the pool needs to be shut for a few days during the winter, drained and overhauled.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank twiggyrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2009

My wife and I stayed for four days for our silver wedding anniversary and booked direct with the hotel who were most helpful and accommodating. The staff were excellent and friendly, the room pleasant and spotlessly clean. The food was good. The gardens and the pool area were superb and the whole atmosphere and setting extremely relaxing. If I had any criticism and I struggled to find one it would be that the hotel is extremely quiet during the evening period and perhaps would benefit from a pianist or similar during the weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charles008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
1.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
2,968 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
918 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.6 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#17 of 88 in Funchal
2,238 reviews
8.6 mi away
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Jardins do Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Jardins do Lago

Address: Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-185, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#4 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $228 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Jardins do Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Botanical Garden with more them 500 different spices of plants and a variety of pleasant and relaxing areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quinta Jardins do Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Funchal
Jardins Lago
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing