We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Ranked #1 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Beautiful hotel, botanical gardens surrounding it, apparently was the British Ambassadors residence, before it became a hotel.
We stayed half board, the evening menu was five courses, perfectly cooked and presented.
All the staff were very friendly and considerate, we felt truly pampered.
On our last day I accidentally left my jewellery roll on the bed, after packing and vacating the room.
Within minutes the chambermaid came to reception to return it to me, a credit to the hotel.
Madiera is beautiful,

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a junior suite, which was in the original part of the house. Overlooking the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LincolnLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

666 - 672 of 1,404 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014

Once again a great stay at a great Hotel.

Lots of colonial / old world charm while still offering modern facilities.

Friendly and helpful staff, relaxing and aromatic gardens and plenty of room by the swimming pool.

The breakfasts are very good and offer choices for everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TheTravellerLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Visited this hotel before, after reading reviews thought I should add one.Visited this Hotel which I picked for the grounds etc Madeira lovely, relaxing Hotel.
Not up to the the same standard as other 5* hotels, if you used the towels in the evening they were not changed until the next day.
Our first night we did dine at Hotel,not impressed with the food Infact
did not stay in for evening meal after that.However breakfast you could not complain catered for everyone.
Hotel bus at various times into Madeira, taxis are cheap but they drive like they are on a racing track ,which is not good on the bendy hilly roads.
Madeira itself make sure you have comfy shoes, as with cobble stones it is not easy for ladies
walking hills and cobble stones.
They say the best time to appreciate the island is April/May for the flowers..
There are many lovely places to eat once you go exploring,

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Littllittlebeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

A really relaxing and high quality experience.
The hotel is beautiful set in fantastic gardens. It is not a large hotel so you quickly get to know the individual staff who are all very friendly.
We had half board which was a good idea as there are not really any nearby restaurants and the food was first class. The 5 course dinner was amazing and was served with real style making every dinner an event.
Colombo the giant tortoise was great.

Room Tip: All rooms have a garden view and there are some rooms part of the original house which looked good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Our third visit. Perfect and relaxing break as expected.Views, food, staff, setting, room etc.cannot be beaten. Why go anywhere else in Madeira? Thank you all for making us feel at home.We hope to return again soon .Robert and Pat.

Room Tip: No bad ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3,574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

The help from the staff when we asked directions to different places we wanted to visit!They even gave us map with directions about those places!Magnificent hotel!Our room was spacious and extra clean!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Jardins is a very special place to spend your holiday. My wife and I just spent four delightful days there. It is located in the middle of a middle class residential area. Twenty minute walk to old town makes it quite convenient depending on your walking. The hotel reminds you of the old French country side. The outside gardens are not to be missed. Two of the largest swans decorate the pond and are most protective of their newborn. The pool area is probably the finest in Funchal or Portugal for that matter. It only lacks being on a cliff. The hotel takes cleanliness to a new level. Inside as well as outside are meticulously maintained. Each staff member greets you with a warm hello and offers whatever they can to make your stay more pleasant. Rooms are nice size and well appointed. The hotel offers a fine breakfast buffet as well as a fine dining experience. Our only reservation and we understand why it was done was the choice of real hardwood floors for the rooms. Unfortunately they do make the typical hardwood noises and can sometimes be heard from above as well as in your room. That being said a place to relax or to be used to venture and see the beauty of Madeira, Jardins is the right choice over any in the hotel district.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Cozysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,106 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
966 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
870 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#16 of 88 in Funchal
2,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Jardins do Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Jardins do Lago

Address: Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-185, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $235 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Jardins do Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Botanical Garden with more them 500 different spices of plants and a variety of pleasant and relaxing areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quinta Jardins do Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Funchal
Jardins Lago
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing