We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Just came back from a holiday in Funchal to celebrate my parents anniversary. Just wow. So much to say and so few words to try and describe it in - the grounds are beautiful and so well maintained, a lot of love goes into their care. The pool area is an oasis as well! The staff were all so accommodating, so generous with their time and helpful in every manner. The food was just incredible, perhaps a little extortionate in pricing but when you look at how beautifully presented it is and how memorably it tastes you can get over that. We had cocktails in the evening and they were stunning, and always served with great humour and effort to make your service special. The hotel offered free courtesy bus to Funchal at frequent times which made going to and from Funchal easy and stress free, and it was brilliant to get away from the hustle and bustle after a long day - this hotel seems so far away from it all, and if you want some calm, some relaxation and definitely some luxury then you simply must stay here. You must.

Room Tip: Rooms which are not overlooking the breakfast terrace are quieter during peak time, and rooms in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryyftw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,016
    118
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
136
894
25
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this Hotel. The Staff were very friendly, efficient and very keen to help in all matters. Nothing was to much trouble.
The garden was quiet and an oasis of peace, with many areas where one can sit without interruption.
Our room on the ground floor was large and well appointed, the beds were roomy and comfortable with extra pillows if required. The bathroom was large, and supplied daily with the usual toiletries. The room was kept spotlessly clean on a daily basis.
The restaurant was is first class with impeccable service from the staff. The food is well cooked, although a piece of advice, as we like our steak etc well done we had to return on two separate occasions as it was cooked rare. Make sure the waiter is aware of preferences when ordering as they do not automatically ask!
The courtesy bus into Funchal is useful, however it does not run on weekends or public holidays. However, the walk into Funchal takes about fifteen minutes. The walk back a little longer, the hill is very steep and for the less agile a taxi is just a few Euros.
If you want a holiday with peace and quiet, no thumping music, this is the hotel to stay in. A pure gem! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms face the garden, so all are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It is without doubt one of the lovliest places we have stayed on our extensive travels. The rooms are spacious and cool; fruit, water and flowers, teas and coffee and a stocked fridge along with a large balcony and beautiful views of the gardens and hills surrounding Funchal. The gardens are beautiful and gave you lots of places to sit in the shade. Excellent pool area where you could get quite excellent snacks and lunch.
The restaurant and bar service was first class and the food delicious. We were half board and although you didnt get a choice on the menu we had no compaints whatsoever.
The handy complimentary mini bus to Funchal was very handy as it was quite a steep climb back to the hotel.
My only complaint is I found it very hot in the restaurant and feel they could have used the air conditioning a bit more, but then again it was very hot when were there.
I would absolutely recommend this hotel and if we ever return to Madeira we will stay at the Quinta Jardins do Lago.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor overlooking the gardens and have no complaints except as an old building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizziehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

If you like top quality, intimate and classy without the pretentious trappings, this is for you, the pool area deserves a mention as unlike most hotels in Funchal this is a garden and not a slab of concrete, beautiful surroundings, and very laid back. The hotel restaurant is top notch and the food round the pool area very good, cocktails and drinks are well priced and a lovely lounge area with comfy sofas and chairs not really the place for young children but if you are a certain age and appreciate the finer things in life, you will enjoy this hotel. Although about 1.5 k from the town centre there is a shuttle bus 4 times a day but it is all downhill and quite an adventure to walk, we always took a taxi back about 6 € . Housekeeping needs to be mentioned as the hotel is gleaming every area was spotless. Can't wait to return and would not consider anywhere else to stay in Funchal.

Room Tip: We were in 215 had a nice outlook over the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is a superb old style hotel with very comfortable ambiance throughout.We had a wonderful room on the top (3rd) floor with magnificent views of the gardens and Funchal. The rooms, gardens, pool and staff were all outstanding. My wife (67)and I (70) walked into Funchal most evenings and whilst if is a steep walk back - we managed it every time.

Room Tip: 311 is a corner room on top floor so the balcony extend round the corner to give additional views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Windsor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I think this was the most relaxing hotel I've ever stayed in. Old-fashioned in "step back in time" sort of way, but so impeccably kept, far from being run down, it was pristine. All polished wood and marble surroundings, the decor was splendid. Everything was top notch, the cleanliness, the ambiance, the staff were so friendly and attentive too. It was very quiet and although children are allowed there, there was none around whilst we were there. Outside the gardens were vast and amazing, every type of tropical tree and plant. The swimming pool area was so well set out, with its own toilets and shower area, completely tiled and spotlessly clean. We were only bed and breakfast, but there was every food you could want with eggs cooked to order anyway you wished. I would have to look hard to criticise, but I do like a soft bed and they were a little firm for me!
I would recommend this hotel to anyone with high standards who wanted to get away from hustle and bustle. Amazing!!

Room Tip: They all looked over the gardens but some had bigger balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UKloverEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We were so lucky to have found this hotel. It was total perfection. From the minute we arrived we were treated like royalty.
Such a beautiful tranquil place.
If you want a very quiet relaxed holiday, then this is the place for you. Our room was large bad very comfortable. Beautiful bathroom. The maids came in everyday and kept our room spotless.
The grounds of the hotel were beautiful. There is a large tortoise who is 54 years old and is very well cared for.
The pool is gorgeous. Lots of room for all guests. Lots of sun loungers for everyone.
At the pool there is a bar that serves drinks and light meals. So you don't have to move from the pool if you want to relax there all day. The food at the pool was amazing. We had fillet steak a couple of times which was to die for. There is a lounge bar too that you can get light meals from too if you don't want to go into the main restaurant. We did go in there and again the food was beautiful.

The staff were fabulous. Nothing was a problem. They were always smiley happy and very helpful. The owner should be very proud of his staff.

I don't know how I can praise this hotel anymore than to say, if I win the lottery I'm going to buy it!!!!
Thank you to everyone for making our stay so magical.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Keak123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,712 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#9 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
1.5 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Jardins do Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Jardins do Lago

Property: Quinta Jardins do Lago
Address: Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-185, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#4 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Jardins do Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Botanical Garden with more them 500 different spices of plants and a variety of pleasant and relaxing areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quinta Jardins do Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Funchal
Jardins Lago
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing