We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“An exceptional hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Jardins do Lago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Colwyn Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An exceptional hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

On our arrival the receptionist made us very welcome and immediately showed us to our lovely ground floor bedroom with terrace overlooking the garden. Breakfasts outside were a real highlight with a superb range of different fruits, cold and hot buffet and eggs freshly cooked anyway you liked.Evening meals in the more formal dining room were also excellent, if a little expensive.
The hotel is very traditional in style, light and airy and I imagine nice and cool in very hot weather.
The gardens are really beautiful and the pool area well designed for sunbathing or swimming.
This is a hotel to which we would definitely consider returning, the only downside being that it is about 30mins walk up a steep hill from tthe centre of Funchal, some of the way without pavements, so it is not for the faint-hearted or infirm.However the hotel provides a courtesy vehicle several times a day (except weekends) which can be booked in advance provided you know when you wish to return. All the staff were extremely courteous and helpful, and we felt that nothing was really too much trouble.

Room Tip: We had a garden facing room on the ground floor, which was lovely. We cannot really comment on the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    103
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
122
775
20
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from our third visit to the Quinta Jardins do Lago and once again we felt privileged to stay in such comfortable, peaceful and beautiful surroundings. The staff were warm, friendly and helpful and could not have done more to make us feel welcome. The food was superb, the gardens and swimming pool were heavenly and we felt totally relaxed at all times.

Room Tip: We chose a superior room with balcony overlooking the gardens and found this situation perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nebamun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We very much enjoy the variety of activities that are possible on Madeira and also the number of excellent restaurants in Funchal (including the Beresford). That is what keeps us coming back. We have visited 5 times and have always stayed at Jardins do Lago because it is such a peaceful place with beautiful gardens. In addition, the staff are very helpful and friendly and many have been there since our first visit, which I believe is a good sign.
We have just returned and are already looking forward to our visit next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was our first time in Madeira and we picked Jardins do Lago because it looked so beautiful. We were not disappointed as this is one of the nicest and friendliest hotels we have ever stayed in. Our room had every facility and extremely clean. We would recommend the rooms with a balcony. The food is first rate and the gardens magnificent. We felt we were in somebody's home (which of course it was once)not a hotel so the personal touch was there and the staff bent over backwards to make us feel welcome. The icing on the cake was Columbo the tortoise who had lived there for over 50 years - loved him. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Choose a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Last year we made our third visit to Jardins Do Lago and I wrote what I said was a biased review as we both love this hotel. Once again this year when choosing the location of our Spring holiday we decided on Jardins Do Lago and we were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived we were very well looked after - the staff in this hotel really are something special and are so warm and friendly without being over zealous - it was very gratifying to be recognized by more than one member of staff despite it being a year since our last visit. The hotel has maintained the standards which it very obviously sets for itself and the cleanliness of the rooms and all public areas are excellent. We ate lunch at the hotel a couple of times and also ate dinner at the hotel on three occasions - once again the quality of the food was very good and the ambiance and whole experience of eating here is a joy. I will not go into great detail as other contributors have ably described the rooms and facilities. Needless to say this is another biased review and we are already planning our fifth visit next year when hopefully the weather will be a little kinder although it did not detract from a very special place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Molliedog17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
192 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and really wish it was 7! Really lovely hotel - Room 201 has a staircase leading from what appeared to be a wardrobe to a private roof area where you can sunbathe/eat whilst looking out over the magnificent gardens at this hotel. Ate in the restaurant last night and the food was very good indeed. It might not be cheap but you get what you pay for and I would certainly stay here and eat here again. All of the staff are excellent and the standard of cleanliness everywhere is superb. Most impressive. The only thing that could be criticised is the bacon & sausage.....not good...stick with the continental breakfast/eggs cooked to your liking and you will be fine! don't want such a minor issue to take anything away from the whole experience which was most enjoyable.

Room Tip: Room 201 - spacious and 'secret' roof access!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We gave this hotel a 5 star review on our first visit last June. We have just returned from a return visit and enjoyed it even more.From the moment we arrived outside, we were greeted warmly and our cases quickly taken inside for us. From then on the stay was a delight and made us both feel so relaxed and looked after really well.Last year we had a wonderful view from the room balcony and were worried the room might not match it, but we were in the old part of the hotel this time and had fantastic views from our roof terrace.The gardens were a delight to walk around and full credit must go to those who maintain them. The swimming pool area is ideal for spending a lazy day and never seems to be crowded. The bar is a great place to chill out with a cocktail and the food and service at breakfast and evening meal cannot be faulted. We had a fantastic stay and are already thinking about a third visit!

Room Tip: Choose a superior garden view room,it is worth it for the balcony views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 2,347 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 710 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#8 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#14 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,587 reviews
1.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Jardins do Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Jardins do Lago

Property: Quinta Jardins do Lago
Address: Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-185, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#5 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Jardins do Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Botanical Garden with more them 500 different spices of plants and a variety of pleasant and relaxing areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Quinta Jardins do Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Funchal
Jardins Lago
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing