We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Ranked #2 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Nearly everything has already been said: it's a great little hotel. It's excellent for completely winding down. It's clean and well maintained, not 'tired' as stated by someone. I could also get wifi everywhere without any problems, but we had a room in the main building. The staff are what makes this hotel; they're nearly all genuinely friendly and smiling. We had half board; the food is very good, fine dining, but the portions are small. However, if you stuff your face with the bread, and the nuts you get with your drinks from the bar, this is not a bad thing...
The atmosphere in the hotel is quite sedate, lots of elderly couples, you get given the same table at dinner every day, stuff like that. Plenty of people are willing to chat, but if you don't fancy that you are left alone. In all, it's very civilised.
One gripe: the hairdryer is one of these antiquated tubes out of the wall, so bring your own!
We really liked it and want to return next year.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 448WCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,059
    123
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
139
936
25
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel is based around an 18th century manor house with a 3 storey extension at the side. It is about one km from Funchal centre, and is a steep walk down the hill to reach the city centre. The hotel provides a courtesy shuttle bus 4 times a day but the last return trip is 1745 so if you want to eat in Funchal it is better to catch the 15 bus which stops 50m past the hotel. We stayed in a superior room on the 3rd floor and had a magnificient view of the gardens and out to sea. The gardens are superb and the whole hotel is an oasis of quiet amongst the residential properties which surround it. Apart from one cafe there is not much going on in the vicinity of the hotel. Our room had a lovely balcony which caught the afternoon sun and the room itself was 5* standard with excellent cleanliness. We had a couple of problems with WiFi but the reception sorted them out. Excellent pool and sunbathing area, and it's a delight just to walk round the gardens and look at all the exotic trees , most of which are named with explanatory details. Breakfasts were excellent with a substantial choice of cereals, juices eggs(cooked to order) and bacon, cakes and local fruits which were unbelievably delicious. We stayed B & B and ate in Funchal most nights. We did have the table d'hote evening meal on one occasion and whilst it was beautifully presented and served, the food to our taste was too bland, and failed to take advantage of the wonderful fish and vegetables which are available on the island. Sadly the weather when we were there in March was not as good as we had hoped but that did not spoil what was a wonderful stay at the Jardins do Lago. If we return to Madeira we would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: The superior garden rooms have great views and are lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lanky01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here at the end of March 2013. The greeting upon arrival was not very welcoming. There was a bit of confusion with our bags when they wouldn't carry my bag to the room, even though it was only 15 kilos and was 5 kilos lighter than my other half's, which they did carry up.
The "old" part of the hotel is a nice building but it could do with some updating as it looks a bit tired.
Our room was nice, large and airy and it passed the decent shower test.
The decor in the room was functional but nothing special.
The hotel has a decent sized swimming pool, a jacuzzi and a sauna plus s very small gym.
The hotel is located in the hills above the old part of Funchal and has a great view over the town from its gardens.
The hotel provides a free shuttle bus down into the town but it finishes early (about 1745 return from town).
The service throughout our stay from the front desk was patchy. There were two members of staff who were excellent and very helpful. The rest is of the front desk seemed to be not bothered about service and quite stand offish.
Saying that, the rest of the staff in the hotel were helpful.
Overall, nice location, functional hotel that could do with a freshen but not the 5 star it is advertised to be.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JimmyMcFatboyfat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBLIN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have stayed at the Quinta do Lago hotel 7 nights - what a pity we couldnt stay longer.
The small hotel seems like a very fine, well decorated and perfectly maintained country-mansion. It is surrounded by most beautiful gardens ,we loved having the breakfasts there .The 2 dinners we had were on high standart and very nicely served.
We had a room on the 3th floor , very large, with a fine-big bed .The bathroom big and very comfortable.We enjoyed the small balcony overlooking the fantastic view of the gardens, the city and the blue sea.
The pools are clean and tempting.The sauna and the Turkish -bath as well. The only thing we missed is a spa.True- the staff was very helpful and arranged for us spa-treatments in another hotel , but would be perfect to have it on the spot.
The only other problem is the very poor WiFi connection .It should be improved.
What impressed us most of all - the staff (everybody speaks English) are very helpful and attentive.As it is a small hotel , they get to know you by name and do there best to give the most efficient service.
As we have hired a car , we drove every day all around this beautiful island with the high mountains and the kliffs falling into the sea, we enjoyed the forests, the gardends and the small villages on the way, and it was convinient to come back and have the parking area of the hotel.
We had the most relaxing and quiet vacation , we did enjoy every minute at the Quinta do Lago and we most certenly will be back to this excellent hotel if we ever return to Madeira !!!

Room Tip: Higher floor. Corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kassifo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichtaart, Antwerpen, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I have stayed already in a few hundred hotels. Quinta Jardins do Lago makes the absolute difference thanks to the superb, very friendly and top service minded staff. The breakfast is a dream. The beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have just returned from a very relaxing week's holiday here. Before writing this review, I read the more negative reviews to see if I'd missed something, as we both thoroughtly enoyed our stay. A few people appeared concened about the steep hill into town. It took no more than 15 minutes walk to the Old Town. Granted, the climb back is steep for about 500m, but is quite do-able if you are of average fitness, and there are numerous buses that stop very close by. The no 15 runs about every hour, and till quite late, and there are other buses too. We didn't use a taxi once. There isn't too much for children here, but those who were staying seemed perfectly happy. Didn't try the wi-fi....I'm on holiday, but if you were to need access, I suppose it might be an issue. I personally didn't care. I read some reviews that complained about lack of choice at breakfast. This bewildered me...I couldn't see what else would be needed? The gardens are beautiful, the staff are discretely attentive, the reception staff are very helpful and efficient. If you need entertainment, DVDs, spa etc, then there are many hotels in Funchal that can provide these, but for our tastes, this hotel was the best we have stayed in. We have stayed in the Cliff Bay, which was nice enough and had these extra features that some reviewers felt were missing, but a little impersonal. Here, we were greeted by our names.

Room Tip: Junior suite 201 has a surpise private balcony, accessed through the wardrobe, Narnia style. But the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed here last week and had a really good time. Excellent little hotel; quiet, clean, well-furnished and well maintained. Lovely gardens - despite probably not quite the right time of year to enjoy them. We had booked a superior room but were upgraded to a junior suite, which was excellent. Ours had access to a private roof terrace which got 360 degree sun, so was brilliant. We also had a small balcony which got the evening sun and was sheltered from the breeze. The room was well furnished and the bathroom big and again very clean.

The pool area is very good and the pool was exceptionally clean

We stayed B&B. the breakfasts were expansive - 6 - 7 fruit juices; masses of fruit; cereal; yoghurt; bread and pastries; cheese and meats and hot food. Coffee was OK but they can't make tea to save their lives! (But minor point). If I had an issue about breakfast it would be that the bain marie that kept the hot food warm was only heated by hot water and had no ongoing source to maintain the heat.

Staff were very helpful and friendly.

We ate a couple of time in the restaurant. Food was Ok but massively overpriced. You can eat for 1/2 to 2/3rds the price in the town - same sorts of dishes. Plus it is the first place that I have ever been openly charged for the bread on the table! Also the service was very slow. I'm all for not rushing meals but 2 hours to consume 2 courses is a bit too laid back!

They have entertainment 2 evenings a week which can be a bit loud, but I'm splitting hairs here.

The hotel is in a residential district and generally quietly located - if anywhere is quite in Funchal! There is a hotel minibus four times a day, but we purchased a Bus Giro and used the local buses. No 15 goes from around the corner and if you walk over the rise opposite the main entrance you can catch another 4 buses (17, 49, 12, etc.) into the centre. Do be a bit careful in the evening as they change the routes in the evening. We caught a bus back one evening that we'd used during the day and ended up goodness knows where! But the bus drivers are very helpful.

Overall we had an excellent time and really enjoyed our time here.

Room Tip: We had Junior Suite 201.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Gr0mitp0et
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
2,821 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
856 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
2,003 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#8 of 86 in Funchal
803 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quinta da Bela Vista
Quinta da Bela Vista
#21 of 86 in Funchal
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Jardins do Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Jardins do Lago

Property: Quinta Jardins do Lago
Address: Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-185, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#4 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Jardins do Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Botanical Garden with more them 500 different spices of plants and a variety of pleasant and relaxing areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Quinta Jardins do Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Funchal
Jardins Lago
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing