We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Jardins do Lago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

It was already our fourth time that we have stayed in jardins do lago. It was again excellent! The staff is very kind and attentive. We enjoyed the breakfast a lot and the diner was marvellous! A little bit more vegetables would be nice! Our room was spacious and very clean. We' ll certainly come back another time. This hotel is perfect for tourists who like a quiet holiday. The hotel is situated in a botanic garden and had a marvellous view on the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank guestroomsdeinze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    855
    100
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
116
752
20
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Bagborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We chose Jardins do Lago on the strength of TripAdvisor reviews, in particular because we wanted a quiet room and good facilities. The hotel staff were really friendly and informative - they all spoke good English and were willing to take time to explain things and assist us. We stayed in a superior panoramic room with balcony, with a glorious view which encompassed the lush gardens of the hotel, the rooftops of Funchal and the sea beyond. The room was clean, serviced daily, and very large, with a good amount of storage and a safe. I would have preferred stronger bedside lighting and a better WiFi signal but reception was fairly good on or near the balcony. I found the mattress a little hard but better hard than soft, as far as my back's concerned. The air conditioning wasn't really adequate for the size of the room, so it was warm at night. I mentioned this in my feedback form at the end of our stay, as it would be an issue in summer. There was no noise from neighbouring rooms.

Breakfast was lovely, a good buffet spread, hot bacon and mushrooms, eggs cooked to order (best scrambled, I found) and a wide selection of fresh fruit. The lunch menu, served by the pool, was good too - excellent club sandwich and vast servings of cake. We had dinner in the hotel twice during our week's stay (it was much cheaper to eat in Funchal itself) and the food was very good indeed. The traditional scabbard fish with banana was given a modern twist and I loved it.

The weather improved as the week went on, falling into a pattern of rain in the morning and warm, sunny afternoons. We swam in the pool, perhaps not the warmest I've been in but it was refreshing after sunbathing and we had it mostly to ourselves. No restrictions on sun loungers as in other Madeira hotels I've read about; in fact the hotel didn't have any petty, restrictive rules as far as I could see, it was a very easygoing place to stay. The gardens are more extensive than they first appear and we took a long ramble around them. There were flowers here and there, despite it being winter - I'd love to see the place when it's in full bloom, it must be quite a sight.

The hotel runs a courtesy people-carrier into Funchal 4 times a day (10.30, 12.30, 3.30 and 5.30) but having spent quite a bit on taxis (anything from 5 to 9 Euros a trip) during the 12.30 - 3.30 gap, we eventually asked the shuttle driver about the local bus timetable and found that one stopped just yards from the hotel door - the Number 15. I failed to mention this in my feedback form at the end of our stay but I think it would be very beneficial to guests to be given this information in the 'Hotel Services' booklet, especially as the hotel is out of town and the route on foot into Funchal is very steep and, at times, without a pavement. Any extra transport information would be gratefully received, I'm certain.

We had one of the best holidays we've had, staying at the Jardin do Lago, and we intend to go back again next year. I'm not easy to please and I'm usually rather disappointed by hotels which so often don't live up to their promises, but with the unfussy ambience, the friendly, intelligent staff and the peaceful surroundings it exceeded my expectations. We'll be taking our driving licenses next time and exploring the rest of the island of Madeira - can't wait!

Room Tip: As you might expect, higher rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank funnyjaybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Comfort,charm,beauty...that's what it says on the hotel brochure AND that is exactly what you get on the inside ! Its obvious why this fine hotel is so highly rated by TripAdvisor travellers. We have just returned from 4 nights Dinner,Bed & Breakfast in a Double garden view room which was upgraded on arrival to a superior room. With 40 rooms and buildings set in a beautiful botanic garden ( original property 1735 plus modern additions) with a fabulous pool area the hotel is a delight away from the huge properties down at the sea front. Take my tip - go for this above the hugely expensive Reids where you pay Euro 29 for chicken breast on their A La Carte.
Staff are extremely nice and helpful. The breakfasts on the terrace or in the garden are great with lots of variety and eggs done to order. We loved the evenings starting off with a great choice of cocktails ( happy hour 7-8pm with 25% discount) in the very nice lounge ( live entertainment Monday and Friday) and then a 5 course dinner which for Euro 38 was superb value. Very well presented courses - salad starter ( eg beef carpaccio), soup, fish dish, meat course and choice of 2 desserts. A la carte available but we were very happy with the quality and freshness of the set dinner. The waiter made very good wine suggestions each evening.
Most of the 5 days was spent relaxing around the hotel. A couple of times we wandered down into the pleasant city of Funchal ( 10 minute walk) for coffee/lunch and the entertaining cable car ride up to Monte where we went on the historic toboggans down the hillside. Well worth the Euro 30 price BUT watch out for the taxi scams at the end station. Instead of a Euro 5 metered fee back to town they try to sting you for a 'fixed Euro 20 fee". Not with me !! The hotel offers a complimentary transfer 4/5 times a day into Funchal and return. Its only Euro 5 metered taxi from the city.
You wont go wrong with the Jardins do Lago for a very relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings and pool/gardens with great food, cocktails and superb hotel staff.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to room 307 that looks out onto the garden. A large room with terrace. The web site...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WRB_Kawakuchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is a truly outstanding hotel. For travellers coming to Madeira for the first time it is worth understanding that the majority of Funchal hotels are strung out along the foreshore to the west of the city centre.Many of them were built in the last 10-15 years and resemble the tower blocks that litter the Spanish costas.If you want something truly different,this hotel up the hill behind Funchal centre may well be the place for you.It was originally a quinta,or estate,with a lovely manor house,set in beautiful gardens,and when it was turned into a hotel an extension was added,which was tastefully done. The standard room we had on a weeks holiday at the end of January was 42 sq metres,which is spacious,and we were on the ground floor overlooking the gardens.The bed was very comfortable. The hotel only has about 40 rooms and there is a feeling of space in the lounge and bar areas and in the dining room and,of course,in the gardens and very attractive pool area.There is a good shuttle bus service into the citywhich is necessary,given its location.The staff were uniformly pleasant and very helpful,including giving good advice on tours and walks around the island.Everything was well organised,in the way that you would hope a 5 star hotel would be.We can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Suites are a bit larger and may have a better view,but I think the standard rooms on the ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank derek y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last September. It has the most beautiful botanic garden which was the star of the hotel, the Hotel is very clean and extemely well decorated with beautiful antiques. Its very quiet and some evenings only two of us in the bar, we didn't mind. Its quite a walk from the hotel to the town downhill, but if you can manage it you see much more of Madeira. We had one problem but not with the hotel Easyjet delayed our cases for 3 days so we were walking around a 5 star hotel in the same clothes, it was awful we couldn't find anything in town to suit/fit us as most shops had summer sales and winter season was in the shops. We got our cases on Saturday night, the hotel staff were extremely helpful in every way, and chased up Easyjet but we just had to wait because their website di not update! The breakfast in the terrace area was really a good spread of continental and English food, they struggled a bit with the eggs though! I would recommend this hotel but it is very quiet, the weather was a little changeable and we lost 3 days of our holiday due to Easyjet which was a shame, I couldn't swim or sunbath only had a pair of jeans and t-shirt. We are going back to Madeira again this year but to a different area to try that, we loved Madeira it has everything a holiday maker would want. I also left my cardigan when we departed and received first class service they posted it back to me. Wish I could say that about Easyjet who offered us £38.00 which is what we spent on 3 awful T shirts!! I would say this hotel is not for young people though it has a charm of its own, highly recommended.

Room Tip: we had ground floor corner room bit dark, other guests said top floor better view and for sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teresasoper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This was our first trip to Madeira and we picked a gem of a hotel. The welcome was warm from the reception at the airport and our arrival at the hotel. Our room had an excellent view, we swam each morning, ate wonderful food and relaxed in the bar each evening. Trips to the city were completed with an energetic walk back, occasionally fortified by alcohol (although taxis are available)! We spent most of our days away from the hotel, either in the town or further afield. We also chose to eat in town most nights, wider choice and not quite as expensive. Overall a very pleasant hotel, one we would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We paid a bit extra for a superior room and it was very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1963SV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Extremely comfortable and spacious hotel set in beautiful gardens, creating a luxuriant oasis within Funchal. We had a huge bed in a Superior Room with balcony looking out to sea. First class service from courteous and helpful staff, who booked trips round the island and levada walks for us, and a taxi from and to the airport.
The walk uphill from Funchal centre is quite challenging and, as the last Quinta courtesy bus leaves town at 5.45, you'll probably need to use a taxi if you eat in town. We felt that the hotel could have provided a bus later in the evening, and perhaps didn't do so partly to 'encourage' residents to take meals in the hotel. The food was very good, but the A la Carte menu changes only every three months and we felt we'd exhausted its choices in the first week (we stayed for two). The Table d'Hote menu was quite expensive and seven courses was more than we could manage. Hot food cannot be ordered after 3.45 at the pool. We think the hotel needs to provide more flexibility in its menus (and more choice of teas and coffees in the bedrooms). The hotel doesn't provide a spa, and the sauna is switched off unless you book it.
But overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and strongly recommend the Quinta.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonyclaydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 2,294 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 695 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#7 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#13 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,555 reviews
1.5 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#8 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,630 reviews
1.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Jardins do Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Jardins do Lago

Property: Quinta Jardins do Lago
Address: Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-185, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#5 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Jardins do Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Botanical Garden with more them 500 different spices of plants and a variety of pleasant and relaxing areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Quinta Jardins do Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Funchal
Jardins Lago
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing