We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Nearby Hotels
$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$210
$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$234
$112
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa(Funchal)
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$201
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Porto Mare Hotel(Funchal)
$179
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $217/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$372
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,486)
Filter reviews
1,486 results
Traveler rating
1,334
134
15
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,334
134
15
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsresident tortoisegalapagos tortoisepremier suitebeautiful botanical gardenscourtesy busbeautiful hotelpool areacourse menufive coursesrooms are spacioushalf boardsub tropical gardenscountry housea la carte menuextensive gardenssteep walksmall hotel
Filter
Updating list...
909 - 914 of 1,486 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This was our first trip to Madeira and we picked a gem of a hotel. The welcome was warm from the reception at the airport and our arrival at the hotel. Our room had an excellent view, we swam each morning, ate wonderful food and relaxed in the bar each evening. Trips to the city were completed with an energetic walk back, occasionally fortified by alcohol (although taxis are available)! We spent most of our days away from the hotel, either in the town or further afield. We also chose to eat in town most nights, wider choice and not quite as expensive. Overall a very pleasant hotel, one we would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We paid a bit extra for a superior room and it was very pleasant.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1963SV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Extremely comfortable and spacious hotel set in beautiful gardens, creating a luxuriant oasis within Funchal. We had a huge bed in a Superior Room with balcony looking out to sea. First class service from courteous and helpful staff, who booked trips round the island and levada walks for us, and a taxi from and to the airport.
The walk uphill from Funchal centre is quite challenging and, as the last Quinta courtesy bus leaves town at 5.45, you'll probably need to use a taxi if you eat in town. We felt that the hotel could have provided a bus later in the evening, and perhaps didn't do so partly to 'encourage' residents to take meals in the hotel. The food was very good, but the A la Carte menu changes only every three months and we felt we'd exhausted its choices in the first week (we stayed for two). The Table d'Hote menu was quite expensive and seven courses was more than we could manage. Hot food cannot be ordered after 3.45 at the pool. We think the hotel needs to provide more flexibility in its menus (and more choice of teas and coffees in the bedrooms). The hotel doesn't provide a spa, and the sauna is switched off unless you book it.
But overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and strongly recommend the Quinta.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room with a sea view.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

As my husband was unable to get away for a break I had to decide on a hotel I'd be happy in on my own and we remembered a previous enjoyable stay at this hotel. I received a warm welcome and immediately felt at ease, and was delighted to find that the standards of this charming and little-known gem were as high as before. The rooms are large and beautifully furnished, and the restaurant is outstanding both in quality and choice. The gardens are delightful (and I was pleased to see that Colombo, the giant tortoise, is still in residence). Without exception the staff are attentive and friendly and, although set back from the front, I found walking down to the seafront (15 mins.) very pleasant and took advantage of the excellent courtesy bus to avoid the steep walk back! We/I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Howard30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We loved this hotel as soon as we walked into our room with a view from the balcony of the tropical gardens and the sea in the distance. The staff were all very charming and kind during our weeks visit . The pool area was beautiful with a large interestingly shaped swimming area and you can have tasty lunch and snacks until 6pm right at the pool side . Loads of lovely thick swimming towels and towelling dressing gowns in the room We walked into town down quite steep roads but then Madeira is all rugged hillsides ! we took taxis back each time as a treat .
This hotel is a lovely spot and we can definately recommend this hotel and gardens .

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank helen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel. The gardens are spectacular, the pool area is lovely, the breakfast is delicious, the staff are wonderful, the hotel is very clean, all the rooms face south over the bay and the giant tortoise is very cute! The place is a real find. Not exactly cheap but worth the money. You can get down to the centre of the town by way of a steep 15 minute walk but the hotel also provides a courtesy bus service during the day, and a taxi down in the evening should only cost €5-6.
The staff are very helpful and started the breakfast service early on our last day so that we could have breakfast before going to the airport.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Darbhain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews