We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,441)
Filter reviews
1,441 results
Traveler rating
1,290
133
15
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,290
133
15
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgalapagos tortoisepremier suiteresident tortoisebeautiful botanical gardenscourtesy busbeautiful hotelpool areacourse menufive courseshalf boardsub tropical gardenscountry housea la carte menuextensive gardenssteep walksmall hotelspecial hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
878 - 883 of 1,441 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We loved this hotel as soon as we walked into our room with a view from the balcony of the tropical gardens and the sea in the distance. The staff were all very charming and kind during our weeks visit . The pool area was beautiful with a large interestingly shaped swimming area and you can have tasty lunch and snacks until 6pm right at the pool side . Loads of lovely thick swimming towels and towelling dressing gowns in the room We walked into town down quite steep roads but then Madeira is all rugged hillsides ! we took taxis back each time as a treat .
This hotel is a lovely spot and we can definately recommend this hotel and gardens .

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank helen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel. The gardens are spectacular, the pool area is lovely, the breakfast is delicious, the staff are wonderful, the hotel is very clean, all the rooms face south over the bay and the giant tortoise is very cute! The place is a real find. Not exactly cheap but worth the money. You can get down to the centre of the town by way of a steep 15 minute walk but the hotel also provides a courtesy bus service during the day, and a taxi down in the evening should only cost €5-6.
The staff are very helpful and started the breakfast service early on our last day so that we could have breakfast before going to the airport.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Darbhain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Since we discovered this fine hotel several years ago, we appreciate the kind and comfortable atmosphere although we did not use all facilities which are offered. It is a real anchor in life and we intend to come back as often as possible.

Room Tip: Since we travelled many times to the carribbean islands we prefer the junior suites in the country house.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dpf587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here in October 2012 and had a fantastic time, despite some poor weather. The hotel was spotless and the staff extremely helpful and polite. I have given the location a v.good rather than excellent, because it may not be to everyone's liking. We like to walk a lot and found the walk up the steep hill a good bit of exercise. It is not for the faint hearted. Have to admit to cheating with taxis a couple of times after a night out! Taxis are generally good and cheap, but one did try to rip us off by taking a circuitous route - fortunately we knew where we were going. The pool area is really nice, the gardens well maintained and the restaurant excellent. You will find better deals for dinner including wine at the top rated restaurants in Funchal, but the food and wine served at the hotel were top drawer. I would say the guests were mostly more mature, 40s upwards (including us), and it was a really peaceful place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank mjgdlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here in December and were very impressed. The hotel's staff struck just the right balance - helpful, friendly attentive but not intrusive. The hotel itself was spotlessly clean, elegant and spacious; the pool was attractive and not at all busy when we stayed (in December admittedly) and the gardens were beautiful.
Its relatively small size and location were important plus points for us as we prefer smaller hotels.
We selected half-board as it is a little way from the centre and were very pleased to have done so. The meals were excellent.

Thanks to all at the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank katehayes123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews