We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,559)
Filter reviews
1,559 results
Traveler rating
1,403
137
16
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,403
137
16
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgalapagos tortoisepremier suiteresident tortoisebeautiful botanical gardensbeautiful hotelcourtesy buscourse menupool areafive courseshalf boardsub tropical gardensa la carte menucountry housesmall hotelextensive gardenssteep walknothing is too much trouble
Filter
Updating list...
967 - 972 of 1,559 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The hotel is situated above Funchal in quite extensive gardens. It is an advantage being away from the main area of souless hotels along the coast but is a bit of a hike on foot. However the hotel offers transport into the town at intervals during the day and taxis are about 7€. The position for us was a great advantage. the hotel consists of an old mansion housing the restaurant and the library and a new part housing the rooms. It appears much more in keeping than the new blocks elsewhere.
The rooms are large and comfortable and the staff very helpful. The restaurant offers good food but the service can be a bit slow. The breakfast was good with a wide variety of possibilities.
There is a very small gym and a reasonable outdoor swimming pool which was used even over Christmas. WiFi is free and was available in our room although I gather from comments that it does not stretch everywhere. There is a free car park for those with a hire car but taxis are readily available. We visited some of the big hotels on the coast but this was far preferable in ambience and position

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor overlooking the gardens but a room higher up would give a better view if you want one.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AdrianRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Just back from an incredibly relaxing and beautiful stay at Jardins do Lago over Christmas. Everything was spot on and I'd say this is the best hotel I've stayed in because it scores highly in all areas. A stately home (though wonderfully maintained giving it a modern feel) in magnificent surroundings. Full of charm and character. The pool side views are gorgeous. Superb food and staff you can instantly trust to put your needs first. Little touches such as the chocolates at bed time and the amazing cocktail fruit decorations. Feeding Colombo the giant tortoise a banana for breakfast was hilarious! Swans gliding round the mini lake at sunset was beautiful. The hotel thoroughly deserves its no 1 rating. If you're a party animal or you want to be near the main drag in a large hotel complex with children's activities, it would not suit. If you want to get away from the rat race and enjoy some tranquility in a wonderful setting, I'd completely recommend it. Thanks again to all the staff for such an awesome, restful time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyTravelling08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We spent 4 nights here the week before Christmas. The hotel is beautiful and the grounds peaceful and relaxing. The staff were welcoming and courteous at all times ensuring we had everything we needed. We would highly recommend this hotel and plan to return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We had a lovely relaxing stay in this hotel in the most beautiful surroundings. We really couldn't fault it as the service was excellent...really friendly staff who could not have been more helpful.
The food was really good as well with everything you could possibly want for breakfast & also excellent food & wine in the restaurant.

If we come back to Madeira we would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KatySNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed in October 2012 and were so amazed by the gardens. They are so green, well-kept and various in their range of plants. Lovely giant tortoise strolling around there too - forgotten his name though. The pool area is excellent - and peaceful - as the hotel seems to be mainly for adults. We didn't see any kids during our stay. A sign at the pool area says 'No Screaming'. We presume by that they meant kids and not adults! The food by the pool and in the hotel restaurants was excellent and pretty good value. The staff are very friendly and the room we had was superb - although the free WiFi was only available if you sat on the balcony. There is a courtesy bus into Funchal. Get a taxi back as the climb is steep and the taxis are quite cheap. If you want peace and quiet and you're into gardens and plants, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkyMark58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews