We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Ranked #1 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had a fabulous honeymoon at the Jardins do Lago just before Christmas. The hotel is amazing and set in fabulous grounds with lovely views. The staff were also amazing, and could not have been more attentive without being intrusive - well done! We selected half-board and the 5-course meals each evening were delicious and some of the nicest we have experienced.

We recommend this hotel for any special occasion, or simply for a relaxing and peaceful holiday.

Room Tip: The Presidential suite is fantastic, with a double balconey overlooking the gardens and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

778 - 784 of 1,315 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

The hotel is situated above Funchal in quite extensive gardens. It is an advantage being away from the main area of souless hotels along the coast but is a bit of a hike on foot. However the hotel offers transport into the town at intervals during the day and taxis are about 7€. The position for us was a great advantage. the hotel consists of an old mansion housing the restaurant and the library and a new part housing the rooms. It appears much more in keeping than the new blocks elsewhere.
The rooms are large and comfortable and the staff very helpful. The restaurant offers good food but the service can be a bit slow. The breakfast was good with a wide variety of possibilities.
There is a very small gym and a reasonable outdoor swimming pool which was used even over Christmas. WiFi is free and was available in our room although I gather from comments that it does not stretch everywhere. There is a free car park for those with a hire car but taxis are readily available. We visited some of the big hotels on the coast but this was far preferable in ambience and position

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor overlooking the gardens but a room higher up would give a better v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Adrian Ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Just back from an incredibly relaxing and beautiful stay at Jardins do Lago over Christmas. Everything was spot on and I'd say this is the best hotel I've stayed in because it scores highly in all areas. A stately home (though wonderfully maintained giving it a modern feel) in magnificent surroundings. Full of charm and character. The pool side views are gorgeous. Superb food and staff you can instantly trust to put your needs first. Little touches such as the chocolates at bed time and the amazing cocktail fruit decorations. Feeding Colombo the giant tortoise a banana for breakfast was hilarious! Swans gliding round the mini lake at sunset was beautiful. The hotel thoroughly deserves its no 1 rating. If you're a party animal or you want to be near the main drag in a large hotel complex with children's activities, it would not suit. If you want to get away from the rat race and enjoy some tranquility in a wonderful setting, I'd completely recommend it. Thanks again to all the staff for such an awesome, restful time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyTravelling08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We spent 4 nights here the week before Christmas. The hotel is beautiful and the grounds peaceful and relaxing. The staff were welcoming and courteous at all times ensuring we had everything we needed. We would highly recommend this hotel and plan to return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We had a lovely relaxing stay in this hotel in the most beautiful surroundings. We really couldn't fault it as the service was excellent...really friendly staff who could not have been more helpful.
The food was really good as well with everything you could possibly want for breakfast & also excellent food & wine in the restaurant.

If we come back to Madeira we would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KatySNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed in October 2012 and were so amazed by the gardens. They are so green, well-kept and various in their range of plants. Lovely giant tortoise strolling around there too - forgotten his name though. The pool area is excellent - and peaceful - as the hotel seems to be mainly for adults. We didn't see any kids during our stay. A sign at the pool area says 'No Screaming'. We presume by that they meant kids and not adults! The food by the pool and in the hotel restaurants was excellent and pretty good value. The staff are very friendly and the room we had was superb - although the free WiFi was only available if you sat on the balcony. There is a courtesy bus into Funchal. Get a taxi back as the climb is steep and the taxis are quite cheap. If you want peace and quiet and you're into gardens and plants, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkyMark58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Jardins do Lago is a beautiful hotel set in extensive luscious botanic gardens - enhanced by a massive 5O year old tortoise called Colombo. The view from the hotel across the south facing bay is lovely. Food was excellent and we were very struck by the friendliness of the staff. We wanted to stay in a quiet and comfortable hotel together with our friends - and this was perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maggie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
1.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
2,968 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
918 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.6 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#17 of 88 in Funchal
2,238 reviews
8.6 mi away
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Jardins do Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Jardins do Lago

Address: Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-185, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#4 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $228 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Jardins do Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Botanical Garden with more them 500 different spices of plants and a variety of pleasant and relaxing areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quinta Jardins do Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Funchal
Jardins Lago
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing