We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,559)
Filter reviews
1,559 results
Traveler rating
1,403
137
16
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,403
137
16
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgalapagos tortoisepremier suiteresident tortoisebeautiful botanical gardensbeautiful hotelcourtesy buscourse menupool areafive courseshalf boardsub tropical gardensa la carte menucountry housesmall hotelextensive gardenssteep walknothing is too much trouble
Filter
Updating list...
972 - 977 of 1,559 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Jardins do Lago is a beautiful hotel set in extensive luscious botanic gardens - enhanced by a massive 5O year old tortoise called Colombo. The view from the hotel across the south facing bay is lovely. Food was excellent and we were very struck by the friendliness of the staff. We wanted to stay in a quiet and comfortable hotel together with our friends - and this was perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maggie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We travel nearly every year to Madeira in december, because of the nice temperatures and the pre-christmas ambiance we like. It was the first time we stayed in the jardins do lago, we usually stay in the cliff bay, but this was closed this year. So appologies for comparing to much in this review.
The quinta has a lot of history and is set in a nice location with a beautiful garden, but as you learn got a lots of issues to deal with. What we liked the most is the tranquillity of the place. It's got only 40 rooms and i guess was only 25 % full during our stay. So quiet at every location including the pool area, there were at any time only a handfull of people, mainly elderly, and no children (why they don't make this place adult only I don't know, there is nothing here for children unless anoying other guests who love the quiet areas)
The Beresford restaurant is very much to our taste. Each evening a different 5 course menu for a decent price and good quality served at the table, so no noisy buffet. Off course for those who are difficult eaters it's less convenient altough it seems the kitchen can make alterations if requiered. There is also an à la carte menu, so options enough. Only Portuguese wines, but of good quality and also reasonably priced (20-30 euros).
The rooms are spacious and with good beds and very quiet. The wooden floors concerned me a bit but we had no noise from other rooms and good sleep. Closing the window helps because there can be traffic noise, barking dogs or roosters in the early morning.
So over to my issues with this place :
- having 5 stars means to me immaculate service : this was not the case, f.e. : one morning there were no sunbeds out at the pool , one evening we returned to our room and no towels...
- the garden is a highlight of this venue but is not kept well, lots of dead leaves etc..
- there is one pool and it's partly covered, but this is only with a semi-open wooden roof. At less nicer weather days you can hardly use it, there is no room to lay down in the semi-covered part meaning that on those days you can not use the pool, there is no alternative. The sun loungers are not good quality, they gave me back and neckache.
- there is a small sauna and hamman, but it's only turned on on request and there is no relaxation area to enjoy this properly, also on bad weather days no option since it is in the pool area, away from the main building, so you have to walk outside through the rain to get there
- the bar in the hotel is only open at night and charges ridiculous prices, 16,5 euro for a glass of champagne f.e.
- the serving staff is good but there are not all that friendly, I would like to mention Ana Isabel Silva and Filipe as the best ones
- breakfast is served in the pink room or outside, which is nice. The choice at the buffet is limited. They do cook your eggs and toast as wished tough. I missed a glass of bubbles. I was not pleased to have to pay 2,25 Euro extra each morning for an espresso to replace the usual awfull coffee.
- if you wish to eat something at lunch you have again only one option : the pool bar, imagine again a bad weather day. The club sandwich they serve is very good !
- there is no pool service at all and the pool was only cleaned once during our weeks stay
- in the restaurant is a no childeren under 8 years old rule, so what those german kids where doing there our last night was a riddle to me : if you can't keep your own rules don't make them !
In general the surroundings of the hotel are hidious. There really is nothing around it, closest supermarket a ten minute climb/decent walk, no other restaurant and going down to Funchal center is not that far but steep and dangerous road with no footpad. Up you need a taxi, prox 8 euros There is a shuttle service bus from the hotel but it runs only 4 times a day, not always at convenient times.
The wifi connenction in hotel is very good and even works at the pool and free.
Paying extra for a seaview room is not worth the money. The sea is aprox 2 miles away, so what you see is not much.
Knowing that this is not cheap place to stay, I'd rather stay at cliff bay, where you have much more facilities for less money and where you sleep with only the sea to listen to.
We made the best of our stay, have no regrets to tried it out, but apart from the rest the quinta did not prove to be an option for future stays.

Room Tip: A superior room on the top floor is best value for money
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank WimLeuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

My son and his girlfriend stayed here in November. The room was classic and well presented. Staff could not be more pleasant and helpfull. Lovely gardens and stunning view. This is a class hotel for the discerning traveller but a little away from the town and the action. We had a car but took a taxi most nights into town. This cost around 18 Euros return. If you want a smaller hotel and a little peace and quiet away from the crowd this is the place to be.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the garden view and balcony
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AMEESBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Very happy with our choice of hotel and superior room. The breakfasts were excellent and most of the 5 dinners we ate there were delicious. The hotel and gardens are really beautiful, and the atmosphere is traditional but relaxed. All the staff were excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lucy186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

we recently spent a week in november 2012 at this hotel having seen the reviews on trip advisor. We had booked a superior room B&B but were upgraded to a junior suite on arrival which was an enormous room with palatial bathroom with a balcony overlooking the garden/sea.
It was in the original house and one definitely felt as if one was staying in a country house hotel with a beautiful library, entrance hall and furniture etc. It was also very quiet, the only thing about the room was that if you left your evening bath/shower too late there was not an over abundance of hot water to be enjoyed ! The gardens are absolutely fabulous as was the pool area, food at the pool was very good as was the food in the restaurant, we eat in 4 times and always had very good meals. The breakfasts are to die for, worth staying here for these alone and of course you can eat breakfast outside in the gardens too. Service was always very friendly and attentive. If you are reasonably fit you can walk into the centre and back which we did for dinner 3 times also using 3 recommendations from TA. Armazem do Sal was the best followed by Mozart who had a very entertaining and customer focussed Maitre'D. This was not the case at the Fort where the Maitre'D was not interested and the 'concept' idea of a meal receded in attractiveness. We hired a car for a week and saw the whole island and the hotel location makes it easy to access the dual carriageways. Really nice hotel, we thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PatrickW671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews