We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finest relaxing residence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Ranked #1 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We spend wonderful days at Quinta Jardins do Lago. The fantastic garden, the pool and surroundings are excellent and it is beautiful to spend hours to study all kinds of plants. Our room was quiet and luxury and the restaurant is really a nice place to stay. The stuff is very attentive and friendly und the food was excelent. This is the perfect place to spend a wonderfull time.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

920 - 926 of 1,356 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed at Quinta Jardins do Lago for a week at the end of January, booked to cheer ourselves up after a 'flu ridden Christmas and New Year. We now feel totally rested and invigorated at the same time.
The rooms, views, ambience, food and service all make this a special hotel. How lovely to walk in the beautiful gardens. Anyone with the slightest interest in plants or gardening would be amazed at the extraordinary variety of exotic and unusual species of trees and shrubs. However the friendly and attentive sevice from the management and staff was what made this such a wonderful break. My wife Linda is so unhappy if the environment is noisy, and everything was done to ensure that our wishes were accommodated.
I think this is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in, and we hope to return. It is well worth saving up for!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We had the most wonderful week here in September. The suite was lovely & the staff were very attentive & helpful. The food was excellent & the waiters in the restaurant were just fantastic - very professional, but friendly too. The pool, surroundings & Columbo (the resident tortoise) just made it all such a pleasure to stay in this beautiful place. If you want a relaxing holiday, in a quiet & peaceful hotel then book it NOW!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PETERandJEAN1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We chose Quinta Jardins do Lago because of its rating at TripAdvisor. Our room was large with a big balcony overlooking the gardens and the hills of the city. The gardens are really one of the highlights of the hotel. They are extremely well kept and offer a big variety of plants and flowers. The service staff was always friendly and helpful, however the breakfast guys (not the lady) sometimes chatted a bit too much with each other. Internet access was a problem during the first days but reception staff never got tired to try and after the third day it worked properly.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank GTraveler1791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

For anyone seeking peace and tranquillity with a friendly but very proffesional service with food which bears comparison to the highest standards, this hotel will rise to your expectations.It is a hotel I would have no hesition in recommending to the most discerning of clientele.

Room Tip: Select a room with a garden view on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We chose Madeira and Quinta Jardins do Lago on a whim in the hope of a bit of respite before the Christmas frenzy. We couldn't have done better. The island is a real discovery: unpretentious, dramatic (the volcanic landscape is extraordinary - much more to return to); but our best hit was this hotel. It was a real pleasure to return to Jardins do Lago after each brief foray further afield. The gardens are beautiful. The view of the city from the balcony was stunning: it spills down the hillside; at night-time, lit up with strings of lights criss-crossing the hillside which slants down into the sea. Our kids (2 & 4) loved the children's supper (served in style), feeding the fish, Columbo the tortoise, Ruby (who looked after them for an afternoon in the children's wonderfully equipped Den), the gardens and the pool. The food in the hotel was the best on the island; the staff went out of their way to be friendly without ever being invasive. You are really well looked after. Simply being there is relaxing. Would recommend looking at the video link on hotel website to take a look around: it's really like that!

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms have great views. They put a protective but unobtrusive netting round the balcony if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Abi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

I couldn't fault this hotel at any level. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and would not hesitate to return.
The service is top class in fact everything about the place is top class. A very friendly atmosphere with staff that could not do enough for you to enjoy your stay.
Thanks very much for a wonderful hoilday.

Room Tip: Our room narrowed a bit due to being in a corner. Still a good room and quite large but would have p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
1.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
3,035 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
944 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
8.6 mi away
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
1.6 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Jardins do Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Jardins do Lago

Address: Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-185, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $219 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Jardins do Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Botanical Garden with more them 500 different spices of plants and a variety of pleasant and relaxing areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quinta Jardins do Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Funchal
Jardins Lago
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing