We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best place I have ever stayed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quinta Jardins do Lago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“best place I have ever stayed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

This Hotel is the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in anywhere in the world. Good value for money lovely rooms, fantastic service, good food and a great location. Our room was spacious and light and very clean - the hotel does great breakfasts and excellent dinner - esp desert!! All the staff were friendly helpful and very organised everything we wanted was done, quickly, easily and with a smile. Staff gave great advise about where to go and offered to make bookings and find directions and call cabs.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite overlooking the sea and garden and the breakfast room - had two balconies it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    998
    115
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
133
876
25
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

We have just returned from a third trip to this lovely hotel and enjoyed yet another delightful stay there. We were recognised and made so welcome by many of the staff from the last trip 3 years ago, and some still there from the previous time too - it is like a happy family home but with all the luxuries of 5* accommodation, professional and personal service and attention. And of course the food is first class to go with everything else. The superior rooms we have stayed in each time are large and comfortable and the views from the balcony above the delightful gardens is to the sea. We will return! Thank you ............

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BMW002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

This hotel fulfilled all our expectations. Previously we stayed in one of the large clifftop hotels which was also great, but decided to seek a quieter location this time. Jardins do Lago has only 40 rooms and suites, and feels intimate and classy. Its location is high above the harbour with wonderful sea views and a dramatic mountain backdrop. It maintains a high standard of service. We had help with arranging taxis and booking meals out. A restaurant was suggested when our first choice was fully booked, and we were very impressed with it. The grounds were lovely, with plenty of colour and beautiful plants and trees. We visited Columbo the giant tortoise every day, and found he welcomed a bit of fuss. Other inhabitants included 2 swans, and carp in the lake, and delightful finches in a small aviary. The pool area is very sunny and the water a good temperature. We also enjoyed the sauna,steam room and jacuzzi.There is a pleasant bar serving delicious snacks and drinks.
Our room was comfortable with a balcony overlooking the garden. We liked the dining areas, and ate breakfast in the garden or veranda if it was fine. We dined in the hotel twice, and thoroughly enjoyed the high quality food and wine. There were many attractive paintings and flowers in the main rooms. It would have been nice to hear the grand piano played.
Overall a lovely relaxing week, and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apothecattery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

We have been to Quinta Jardins do Lago in previous years as couple and this year we returned back as family. The Jardins do Lago is unique! The wonderful garden with the famous Colombo (a turtle), the pool and the rooms. What we never thought of were a children playground which is there as well as a wonderful play room under the roof - fully equipped for girls and boys! AND: there is a well functionning baby phone system so we could bring the kids to bed and enjoy our dinners at night! We will come back again, and again, and again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gibral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

Heaven?
Close enough!

Friendly and helpful service.
Food and wine is excellent.
This hotel is an exclusive gem amongst other hotells in Maderira, and holds its place against hotels anywhere.
I can recommend this too anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rimfaxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

The hotel is set in beautiful gardens overlooking Funchal yet within walking distance (15 minutes) of the town centre. The staff are friendly and helpful, advising on everything from bus timetables to walks. We were upgraded to a suite (room 201) with a wonderful balcony at the top of the hotel, overlooking not just the gardens but mountains and the sea. Internet access was easy through a laptop situated in the library. If we came back to Madeira, we would undoubtedly stay here again.

Room Tip: Suite 201 is well worth asking for because of its terrific balcony at the top of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnandMary_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

Have had a wonderful few days. Immaculate hotel, lovely gardens, first class staff food good no need to say any more

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sbaileyBromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,667 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#10 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
1.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Jardins do Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Jardins do Lago

Property: Quinta Jardins do Lago
Address: Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-185, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#4 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Jardins do Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Botanical Garden with more them 500 different spices of plants and a variety of pleasant and relaxing areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Quinta Jardins do Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Funchal
Jardins Lago
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing