We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vila Vicencia”
Review of Vila Vicencia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vila Vicencia
Ranked #4 of 35 Funchal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Tucked away behind a small gate in a back street, this really is a hidden gem. The garden and pool are great to lounge in. Breakfast outside is a real treat, with a different sort of cake on offer each morning. The apple cake was my favourite. There's so many good restaurants within easy distance, it really doesn't matter that the hotel doesn't offer any meal other than breakfast. Everyone, staff and fellow guests, felt like friends by the end of our stay. Definitely a place to come back to.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 297 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

This was a warm and friendly hotel. It was a little gem amongst much bigger complexes which really suited us. Breakfast was continental as expected and was varied throughout the week. Other meals were not available and there were no facilities at all in the room to be able to prepare even a sandwich. There was a fridge. There were however plenty of quality places to eat out within easy walking distance and supermarkets selling freshly prepared goods. Although the rooms were listed as recently having had air conditioning fitted ours didn't, and at the time of our visit they were experiencing the same heat wave as the rest of Europe which made it a little uncomfortable. There were three of us travelling and our 15 year old, 6ft 3in son slept on a sofa bed all week which was far from comfortable. If there had just been just the two of us I would have rated it a lot more highly. The pool was clean and quiet with ample loungers for sitting around.
The local taxi drivers were exceptional guides who will take you to whatever sites you would like to see at a fraction of the cost of organised tours. I would however recommend a boat trip to the Desertas Islands but not if you have young children as it is an all day excursion with little shelter from the sun and nothing to do apart from whale and dolphin spotting.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolRuby1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Great little hotel in lido area. Spacious rooms friendly staff. Good breakfast. Close to buses for easy access into town. Would definitely co m e back. 2weeks of warmth before our return to a cold Uk.

Room Tip: Great little hotel in lido area. Spacious rooms friendly staff. Good breakfast. Close to buses for e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

If you want to avoid the huge chain hotels in Madeira then this is a great alternative. This is the third consecutive year we have stayed here and its better than ever. There are 3 separate properties all located in a private setting, a beautiful walled garden with a small pool and new sunbeds and pool furniture. Breakfast is in the conservatory and tea/coffee are available with light snacks during the day. There is an honesty bar for guest's use and all rooms have a kettle & mugs.There has been major refurbishment this year, all new bathrooms and flat screen tv.s in room. No need to take hairdriers and there is a decent selection of books to exchange. Family are very helpful and friendly. Thank you Carlos, Susana and Cecelia.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at this lovely little family run hotel with my parents in September. We stayed a week, while my parents stayed 2 weeks, and they advised we had probably done the right thing.

One week's stay was lovely, although the cockroaches we encountered on a couple of nights weren't welcome, but during the second week, my parents found more and more little niggles. On reflection we felt that, with a bit of maintenance, this could be a super little place.

The gardens at the entrance were a delight, and the staff very friendly, and the location is superb - about a half hour walk to the town (mostly down hill on the way there, quite steep coming back) with plenty of shops and restaurants around and about.

The Lido mentioned in almost all Funchal related reviews is being renovated, and it looks like it's going to take some time! Also, it seems the constant rain we had at the end of our week is typical - apparently it always rains in the last week of September!

Room Tip: Room one was very private, but we got cockroaches, rooms 2, 3 and 4 are ground floor front (so get s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eleanor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Tucked away behind an iron gate - but a little oasis inside. Lovely gardens, good sized rooms and friendly staff. Breakfast was a good selection of cold foods and a hot option daily. Whilst we had a hire car (great prices) buses were very accessible at the bottom of the hill - a short walk away.

Room Tip: We overlooked the breakfast room and found it a little noisy when we had the windows open from early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was our first trip to Madeira, which we did as a package trip. The hotel is a small, friendly one. It has a small, well looked after swimming pool, which we used. Thje hotel does not, as far as we are aware, offer any other resort facilities (gym, spa, massage, etc.) but we have no interest in such things so we did not miss them. It's set in a small tropical garden area. We had bed and breakfast, the latter being small but quite adequate, taken outdoors every day. Our ground floor room was spacious, comfortable, clean, and quiet. the staff were friendly, polite, and very helpful.

We would not hesitate to stay there again, and certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AntonM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
2,972 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
921 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.2 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
847 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#7 of 88 in Funchal
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Vicencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Vicencia

Address: Rua Casa Branca 45, Funchal, Madeira 9000-113, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Funchal
Price Range: $78 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vila Vicencia 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vila Vicencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Vicencia Hotel Funchal
Vila Vicencia Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing