We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel but noisy location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Terrace Mar Suite Hotel
Ranked #62 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“nice hotel but noisy location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

The hotel was lovely has everything in it but the balcony is situated in the front of a busy main road with traffic noise at peak times, this is the only thing that spoilt it. I slept well at night though, it needs double glazing, the location is perfect all shops and supermarkers within walking distance The Pingo Doce is the best. supermarket but limited ciggarettes available, john player lambert and butler and rothmans all cheap. Very hilly. i loved this holiday but funchal is a busy centre with lots of traffic.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ninaEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    43
    38
    15
    3
See reviews for
29
56
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Póvoa de Santa Iria, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

The service
All personal is pleasant and available.

The room
The room is very clean w/ kittchenet. The bathroom is clean too.
The bed is soft but they are separate. The windows are not double glazing, soo you can hear a little bit of noise in the night, especially If you are in the first floor.

Location
The hotel is very well localizated. Near the beaches and the city center. If you need, there are lots of rent-a-car stores near the hotel, otherwise if you want there's taxi cabs just around the corner and also a bus stop if you want.

Best
The swimming pool in the roof top and the localization.
Least
They should improve the acoustical of the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carunxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

This apartment hotel was clean and spacious, however all apartments face an extremely busy and noisy road. This would be less of a problem if the air conditioning worked, but unfortunately it simply fans warm air around the room. This makes getting a good night's sleep virtually impossible.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TroTTer38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Funchal hotels

Essex
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2008

We have just returned from 10 days at this hotel. Our accommodation which consisted of a living area with basic kitchen facilities, a separate bedroom with balcony and a bathroom was all very clean and pleasant but some items needed a little attention in respect of repair. The breakfast was served in separate dining room and was up to standard. The noise was a big problem. Our balcony overlooked a busy road and it was impossible to enjoy the benefits of a balcony due to the traffic noise and the 3 very loud and noisy parrots. There was also building works opposite but in comparison to the traffic and the parrots this caused us little disturbance. The parrots were terrible, they belonged to the hotel restaurant and sat out all day and late into the night making the most aggravating, very loud squawking noises. The only good thing was that come midnight all went quiet so one was able to get some sleep! It would be difficult to recommend this hotel although the position is very convenient for access to the centre of Funchal and the Lido area and surrounded by lots of good restaurants.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EssexNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2008

The Terrace Suite Hotel was located on a very busy road, with all the apartments facing it. We were also given a studio apartment on the ground floor even though we had paid for a one bedroom on the upper floors. They tried to convince us that their one bedroom apartments were studios with no separate sleeping quarters to the living room. After complaining about this, we were told that the one bedroom had been allocated to another couple and we had to wait until the next day to be moved. The only compensation offered was a bottle of poor quality local wine.

The studio had a balcony facing the main link road to other parts of the island. It was impossible to enjoy the benefits of a balcony due to the traffice noise - we couldn't hear ourselves speak. It didn't help that there were two busy restaurants next door to the hotel, one of which had 3 very loud, very big parrots! Sleeping was impossible. After one night of absolutely no sleep we moved to the Savoy Hotel for some serenity. I would not recommend Terrace Suite hotel. It is probably the noisest area of the whole Island, very different from what their web site page actually states.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Disliked the location.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mycorreia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
350 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2008

Booked through booking.com. in May2007, requesting high floor as i dont like to stay groundfloor.

Funchal airport: amazing location, small and functional. Did book shared transfer through strawberryworld, which also provides tours of the island- recommendable.

Location is great- a walk to Monumental Lido approx. 500 mtrs, Aerobus 250 mtrs, Funchal sightseeingbus 250 mtrs. Pingo Doce supermarket 500 mtrs downhill to the swimmingpools or straingt ahead from monumental lido 1 km if you want to avoid steep hills..

I booked a studio with new furniture, aircondition etc.etc. I got a huge apartment in the back on the ground floor, old furniture, no aircondition (very very cold evenings and nights). Definately not what you see on pictures on the net or in brochures - the real studios might look like that. Big flats must be perfect for families, but this was not what I booked. Nothing "suite" about that. Small safe in bedroom- you have to pay for key to use it. Tv Channel selection quite good in many languages.

In same building they have a restaurant where you get 15% discount on meals- you can not miss it as they have 3 very noisy parrots chained up at the entrance.

Welcome gift (Madeira wine) and turndown service evenings- nice little gesture. I found staff to be very kind and helpful.

There is no breakfast restaurant- I had bb and every morning I had a bag hanged on my door with coffee, milk, cereals, fruit, butter, jam and slice of cheese- a good solution.

Note: Madeira is a beautiful island, Funchal a lovely city, Madeirans very friendly and helpful. If you are young and expect party all night, then Madeira is not your place. I am not sure if children would find the island interesting. Madeira is definately for couples- most agencies offers all included tours around the island- 2 pax at EUR30 (incl. coffee&cake, lunch etc.), if you are single (like me) the cost is EUR42-45 excl. above. Hmm.

  • Liked — location was good
  • Disliked — read my review
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aeronaut65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2007

The Terrace Mar is excellent value for money.Spacious accomodation - maid service brilliant. Microwave and two electric rings in self-catering appartments. Only complaint is that the roof-top pool was a bit on the small side but it didn't really bother me as I was usually the only one in it - don't know if I was just lucky.
The Terrace D'Ajuda ( Parrot bar) offers 15% discounts to residents and is fantastic value for money ( even without the discount). The food is excellent - particularly the fish and Stone Steak.The portions are enormous so I would advise getting one between two and asking for extra veg. The staff speak very good English - as do the staff of most restaurants. I'd tell them specifically what you require otherwise you're likely to get a bit of everything -eg chips,rice and saute potatoes. The stone steak is raw and served on a piping hot slate - you slice it and cook it to your own taste - it takes seconds. The tile will still sizzle butter when you've well finished eating. The only fault was that the wine was very expensive compared to other restaurants.
Khan's Indian restaurant in the road behind serves beautiful food with excellent service and inexpensive but good wine. On;y down side is that you have to eat indoors.
In the old town I recommend Estrela do Mar. Also ,if you stand outside facing the sea, there are two adjoining restaurants on your right - both very good.
Some of the food , in some restaurants,is a bit in the salty side so ask them not to add any extra. Very good value for money wherever we went with a meal and large beer averaging about 15 Euros. Most restaurants offer a 3 course meal fo between 10 and 15 Euros each but we never tried any of them as the main course was always more than enough.
We hired a taxi to go to the Nun's Valley and on a tour of the West. Joao, our driver was reliable, honest,informative,helpful and a real gentleman.I'm only sorry that I'm not allowed to give you his e-mail address or phone-number but if you contact me I can let you have it, I hope. If you get other taxi drivers be sure to check that they have their meter running as we got stung a few times which is a pity because Madeira is a very quiet, peaceful and seemingly crime-free place.
I was particularly pleased with Madeira as I love walking but arthritis in my hips restricts me to about an hours walk at home but on holiday I managed 3 and a half hours with no problem at at all. The mountain lavada walks are spectacular and the beauty of it is that the slope is very gentle - you only know you're going up-hill because the water is running towards you. I must warn that it sometimes gets a bit hairy when the path is narrow and there's no hand rail - but please don't be put off. I'm terrified of heights but there was nothing that really scared me - and you can always turn back. Another word of warning - it's possible to descend via steps - all 1400 of them on the walk we went on! Had we known we'd have just re-traced our steps. But - as I said -I managed it, arthritic hips and all and I wouldn't have missed it for the world. Buy a book or maps on Lavada walks, get a taxi driver to drop you off and then either pick one up or get a phone number of one so you can give them a call when you've finished.Please feel free to e-mail me and I'll any questions as best I can. We'll definitely be going back.

  • Liked — Good value for money, excellent maid service, helpful staff.
  • Disliked — Swimming pool too small, didn't bother me but it's up a bit of a steep hill for anyone with walking problems
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank gracemargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.6 mi away
Madeira Bright Star
Madeira Bright Star
#66 of 87 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.5 mi away
Madeira Regency Club
Madeira Regency Club
#44 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Imperatriz
Aparthotel Imperatriz
#57 of 87 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Funchal Design Hotel
Funchal Design Hotel
#54 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alto Lido Hotel
Alto Lido Hotel
#40 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.4 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#27 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Mar Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Mar Suite Hotel

Property: Terrace Mar Suite Hotel
Address: Travessa Valente 7, Funchal, Madeira 9000-092, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Terrace Mar Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totally renovated in December 2016. Concept Terrace Mar result of a thorough renovation, with a light, fresh and timeless concept. The project of decoration and design adds to the previous hotel a more appealing area of the solarium and Jacuzzi, giving the rooms and commons areas all the facilities and features to the current visitor. The generic blue sky of Madeira, together with elegant white wood furniture, are the predominant colours, giving our guests a sense of peace, well-being and harmony. Location Set in one of the best areas of Funchal, this small and friendly four stars aparthotel is located 500 meters away from the sea and the Lido promenade and bathing complex and about 20 minutes walk from the city centre. The Hotel is nearby supermarkets, bars, restaurants, shops, banks and bus stations. Accommodation With a modern, nice and functional decoration, the hotel has 43 spacious junior suites and suites, all with balcony and complete kitchenettes. All the rooms also have air conditioning, flat screen TV with cable TV connection, Wi-Fi, seating and dining area with sofa, table and chairs, private bathroom with hair dryer, walk-in shower as well as a furnished balcony with double glazed windows and doors. Facilities 24 hour reception, nice terrace with a heated outdoor pool with Jacuzzi and panoramic solarium, sauna, massage services and beauty treatments, pool bar during summer season, garage, laundry service, free Wi-Fi and meeting room with TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Terrace Mar Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrace Mar Hotel Funchal
Terrace Mar Suite Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing