We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Terrace Mar Suite Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$203
$197
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$477
$353
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
$286
$237
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
$134
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$263
$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$142
$121
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa(Funchal)
$151
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$198
$140
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveler rating
34
63
42
15
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
63
42
15
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestaurant downstairsnoisy streetnice hotelroom was cleanself catering facilitieshonesty barswimming poolstay there againnice balconyhot tubclose to the hotelhigh floorold townlocation is greatmicrowavesaunamadeira
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 157 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2008

We have just returned from 10 days at this hotel. Our accommodation which consisted of a living area with basic kitchen facilities, a separate bedroom with balcony and a bathroom was all very clean and pleasant but some items needed a little attention in respect of repair. The breakfast was served in separate dining room and was up to standard. The noise was a big problem. Our balcony overlooked a busy road and it was impossible to enjoy the benefits of a balcony due to the traffic noise and the 3 very loud and noisy parrots. There was also building works opposite but in comparison to the traffic and the parrots this caused us little disturbance. The parrots were terrible, they belonged to the hotel restaurant and sat out all day and late into the night making the most aggravating, very loud squawking noises. The only good thing was that come midnight all went quiet so one was able to get some sleep! It would be difficult to recommend this hotel although the position is very convenient for access to the centre of Funchal and the Lido area and surrounded by lots of good restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EssexNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2008

The Terrace Suite Hotel was located on a very busy road, with all the apartments facing it. We were also given a studio apartment on the ground floor even though we had paid for a one bedroom on the upper floors. They tried to convince us that their one bedroom apartments were studios with no separate sleeping quarters to the living room. After complaining about this, we were told that the one bedroom had been allocated to another couple and we had to wait until the next day to be moved. The only compensation offered was a bottle of poor quality local wine.

The studio had a balcony facing the main link road to other parts of the island. It was impossible to enjoy the benefits of a balcony due to the traffice noise - we couldn't hear ourselves speak. It didn't help that there were two busy restaurants next door to the hotel, one of which had 3 very loud, very big parrots! Sleeping was impossible. After one night of absolutely no sleep we moved to the Savoy Hotel for some serenity. I would not recommend Terrace Suite hotel. It is probably the noisest area of the whole Island, very different from what their web site page actually states.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mycorreia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2008

Booked through booking.com. in May2007, requesting high floor as i dont like to stay groundfloor.

Funchal airport: amazing location, small and functional. Did book shared transfer through strawberryworld, which also provides tours of the island- recommendable.

Location is great- a walk to Monumental Lido approx. 500 mtrs, Aerobus 250 mtrs, Funchal sightseeingbus 250 mtrs. Pingo Doce supermarket 500 mtrs downhill to the swimmingpools or straingt ahead from monumental lido 1 km if you want to avoid steep hills..

I booked a studio with new furniture, aircondition etc.etc. I got a huge apartment in the back on the ground floor, old furniture, no aircondition (very very cold evenings and nights). Definately not what you see on pictures on the net or in brochures - the real studios might look like that. Big flats must be perfect for families, but this was not what I booked. Nothing "suite" about that. Small safe in bedroom- you have to pay for key to use it. Tv Channel selection quite good in many languages.

In same building they have a restaurant where you get 15% discount on meals- you can not miss it as they have 3 very noisy parrots chained up at the entrance.

Welcome gift (Madeira wine) and turndown service evenings- nice little gesture. I found staff to be very kind and helpful.

There is no breakfast restaurant- I had bb and every morning I had a bag hanged on my door with coffee, milk, cereals, fruit, butter, jam and slice of cheese- a good solution.

Note: Madeira is a beautiful island, Funchal a lovely city, Madeirans very friendly and helpful. If you are young and expect party all night, then Madeira is not your place. I am not sure if children would find the island interesting. Madeira is definately for couples- most agencies offers all included tours around the island- 2 pax at EUR30 (incl. coffee&cake, lunch etc.), if you are single (like me) the cost is EUR42-45 excl. above. Hmm.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aeronaut65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2007

The Terrace Mar is excellent value for money.Spacious accomodation - maid service brilliant. Microwave and two electric rings in self-catering appartments. Only complaint is that the roof-top pool was a bit on the small side but it didn't really bother me as I was usually the only one in it - don't know if I was just lucky.
The Terrace D'Ajuda ( Parrot bar) offers 15% discounts to residents and is fantastic value for money ( even without the discount). The food is excellent - particularly the fish and Stone Steak.The portions are enormous so I would advise getting one between two and asking for extra veg. The staff speak very good English - as do the staff of most restaurants. I'd tell them specifically what you require otherwise you're likely to get a bit of everything -eg chips,rice and saute potatoes. The stone steak is raw and served on a piping hot slate - you slice it and cook it to your own taste - it takes seconds. The tile will still sizzle butter when you've well finished eating. The only fault was that the wine was very expensive compared to other restaurants.
Khan's Indian restaurant in the road behind serves beautiful food with excellent service and inexpensive but good wine. On;y down side is that you have to eat indoors.
In the old town I recommend Estrela do Mar. Also ,if you stand outside facing the sea, there are two adjoining restaurants on your right - both very good.
Some of the food , in some restaurants,is a bit in the salty side so ask them not to add any extra. Very good value for money wherever we went with a meal and large beer averaging about 15 Euros. Most restaurants offer a 3 course meal fo between 10 and 15 Euros each but we never tried any of them as the main course was always more than enough.
We hired a taxi to go to the Nun's Valley and on a tour of the West. Joao, our driver was reliable, honest,informative,helpful and a real gentleman.I'm only sorry that I'm not allowed to give you his e-mail address or phone-number but if you contact me I can let you have it, I hope. If you get other taxi drivers be sure to check that they have their meter running as we got stung a few times which is a pity because Madeira is a very quiet, peaceful and seemingly crime-free place.
I was particularly pleased with Madeira as I love walking but arthritis in my hips restricts me to about an hours walk at home but on holiday I managed 3 and a half hours with no problem at at all. The mountain lavada walks are spectacular and the beauty of it is that the slope is very gentle - you only know you're going up-hill because the water is running towards you. I must warn that it sometimes gets a bit hairy when the path is narrow and there's no hand rail - but please don't be put off. I'm terrified of heights but there was nothing that really scared me - and you can always turn back. Another word of warning - it's possible to descend via steps - all 1400 of them on the walk we went on! Had we known we'd have just re-traced our steps. But - as I said -I managed it, arthritic hips and all and I wouldn't have missed it for the world. Buy a book or maps on Lavada walks, get a taxi driver to drop you off and then either pick one up or get a phone number of one so you can give them a call when you've finished.Please feel free to e-mail me and I'll any questions as best I can. We'll definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank gracemargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastanheiroBH, Diretor de Vendas at Terrace Mar Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews