We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mansion with ocean view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago
Ranked #38 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Mansion with ocean view”
Reviewed December 15, 2010

Very nice hotel located in an old mansion, close to the sea. The center of Funchal can be easily reached on foot.
In December it is no high season, and we enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere of the place.
Breakfast is good, personnel was very helpful and friendly

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGiuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    139
    35
    15
    11
See reviews for
29
265
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

We stayed here on an overnight trip from Lisbon. Although only there for a night, really enjoyed the stay. Beautiful facility, very friendly and helpful staff, and extremely large rooms, even by American hotel standards. Location is a just short walk from town. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcnallyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Booked a last minute deal here but we were not disappointed. You need to book a high room for the view over the port and town which is very pretty. I am doing the review on the free wi-fi which works! Breakfast is very good the staff are friendly and helpful. We have not eaten in the restaurant as there as so many to choose from within a 5 min walk. The pool is nice but the steam room did not work and the fitness centre in general needed a bit of an overhaul. Room was nice and clean contrary to one review that I have seen on here. A great experience and a relaxing holiday we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trappy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

We had 4 nights here before moving to Porto Santa Maria for 5 nights.

We liked this quinta-style hotel very much, although the pool is somewhat smaller than it appears on the hotel website. It wouldn't matter if the clientele had been 100% good-mannered but sadly a couple of english people let the side down, shouting into their mobiles and unable to keep their voice levels under control. Nevertheless one could escape into the pretty gardens for complete peace.

Very attractive public areas, excellent breakfast, attentive but not too-friendly staff and some of the best views of the bay. You have to ask for the complimentary tea/coffee making facilities, but they do exist.
Housekeeping very thorough - high standards of cleanliness.

Rooms old fashioned but with good quality furnishings and lovely wooden floors. Beds a tad hard but that's not unusual. The hotel location is slightly problematic. On the one hand it provides for the lovely sea views, is a 2 or 3 minute walk - downhill - to the Fort area, and 8-10 minutes walk - downhill - to the city centre. On the other hand, if you want to dine in the Fort area the up-hill walk back to the hotel is STEEP!

We didn't think much of the local restaurants and walked or took a taxi over to the hotel zone where the restaurants in our opinion are excellent.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PetuniaKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

So far unfortunately more shabby than chic. Not a great first impression when you arrive at a Hotel and the first thing you feel you have to do is clean the room. Dirty floor, surfaces of dressing table, mirrors etc. Even graffiti on the dressing table!!! Old fashioned bathroom with dirty shower screen and mouldy window. As for the website advertising 'free tea making facilities in all the rooms' ... FACILITIES being the operative word as we have just discovered. There were no 'facilities' to be found and we have just been told they are available 'upon request only'. Long story short my husband has just been left bemused to receive a tray with
two teacups and a small kettle but no tea, coffee, sugar etc?! I never expect anything for nothing and am more than accustomed to either calling room service in a hotel and paying or bringing my own travel kettle, but what annoys me is misleading information. Well I kind of expect a free bloody kettle or no kettle at all so what is the point of advertising 'free facilities'! This is only evening one and to be honest I am dreading the rest of the stay now. To be fair I really believe you get what you pay for and we did get a reasonable last minute deal - I would have been extremely upset if we had paid anymore, so it serves me right on this occasion for being a bargain hunter.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LadyGrayChorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

This hotel is well worth a visit. Central location to old Town, fantastic views over harbour to cruise ships - 10 minutes walk into funchal. The hotel staff are friendly, efficient, and rooms spacious and nicely maintained. breakfast fantastic, hot buffet , cold meats and fruits. - dinner meals a bit disapointing, but great omelettes!
If you want an elegant, quiet and restful hotel, in a beautiful location- this is it.
Nothing too much effort - staff all superb, hotel spotless.+ air con. Get a room with a seaview -it's worth it. Nice pool for swimming -but water a bit cold for my blood at times!
can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

We stayed for a week in August 2010. Nice place. Make sure you specify or pay extra for the sea view, and then get on floor 1 or 2 for the best views. Floor 0 and -1 the view is interrupted by foliage. Rooms without the sea view overlook the road out the front of the hotel and this is quite busy. There are maybe 4 rooms right by reception and the restaurant which should be avoided for noise reasons.
Level of service was very high. Free internet access. Staff very helpful. Restaurant food very good, we ate there 4 nights out of 7. There is a snack and an a la carte menu, and there is no problem mixing orders between the two.
Nice gardens, average size pool. Take some binoculars to do some whale/dolphin spotting from the balcony.
To walk to town, turn right out of the hotel, and drop down the side road into the quieter area. The hotel is only 100m from the lido. It only takes about 7 minutes to walk to the market, and 15 minutes to reach the marina. All in all a nice place, we'd stay there again.
Having explored Funchal, the east end of town is much, much nicer than the central and west end of town where the larger hotels are situated. Free parking here as well.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 17clarence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#11 of 86 in Funchal
1,829 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens
0.7 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#9 of 86 in Funchal
1,130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#33 of 86 in Funchal
439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residencial Mariazinha
Residencial Mariazinha
#56 of 86 in Funchal
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago

Property: Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago
Address: Rua Bela S Tiago 70, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#42 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming 4-star hotel Quinta Bela São Tiago was originally a traditional Madeiran Manor House built in 1834. The manor house and its extensive gardens have been carefully restored to create a paradise right in the heart of this lovely old district.The Quinta Bela São Tiago offers a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere in a unique location in Madeira! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Bela Sao Tiago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Bela Sao Tiago Funchal
Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing