We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with staff to match”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago
Ranked #42 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2011

The QBS is an all round excellent hotel with first class staff to match. Everywhere is maintained to a very high standard with exceptional cleanliness. We had room 227 which has a great uninterrupted view across the pool to the church and the sea beyond. Your view extends to the harbour and the mountains to the west of Funchal. We did not dine in the restaurant but had breakfast every day on the terrace - if no-one is out there just take a seat and your table will quickly be set up for you and within five minutes the rest will follow!! Little freebies, unlike a lot of hotels - free Wi-Fi, free car park and free use of a kettle and cups for your room (ask at reception) - take your own tea and coffee !! Don't miss the parrots at the bottom of the garden.
Nearby restaurants are all good but our favourite like many other reviewers was Do Forte. We opted for the €35 menu which was superb - if you can't manage three courses then the a la carte menu is comparable pricewise to other restaurants in the old town. We walked down three days before to book and picked our table on the walls with a seaview - I think it was table R2.

Room Tip: Seaview, the higher the better - ours was 227. Bathroom a little gloomy but excellent views from bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank padstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 420 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2011

We got everything we asked for at this hotel. It is conveniently situated, the view is wonderful (if you ask for a room on the upper floors - some of the lower floors simply have a view of the pool and palm trees). The staff are friendly and efficient and the breakfast as good as any buffet style breakfast can be. The rooms are a decent size and comfortable. You do need to ask for a kettle and cups etc if you want to make tea in your room - and you have to supply your own tea and coffee (although they will give you fresh milk if you ask nicely!) We will go again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors with a sea view. Worth paying for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tim Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Took a small group here in October 2011. The service was outstanding. The staff in the restaurant and poolside bar went above and beyond the call, to the point of helping us with our own Madeira wine tasting with bottles we brought. The dinners were some of the best we had in two weeks traveling through Spain and Portugal.

Location is great, close to the older part of town, and restaurants on the waterfront. Rooms were spacious. I cannot say enough great things about this place. I hope to get back to Madeira sometime. Three days wasn't nearly enough time.

Room Tip: Better rooms are facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bjcilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We had a south-facing sea-view room which from the balcony had good views overlooking the harbour of Funchal, the surrounding hills tapering off into the distance, the pool and grounds including their small bannana plantation, all very nice and clean. All of the hotel was very clean with staff very helpful and friendly. We were able to eat breakfast every day overlooking all of these views and had a good choice of various buffet hot and cold food. We ate our evening meals at the hotel for the first two nights and then the remaining nights at the restaurants in the Old Town where there is plenty of choice and it's only five minutes walk away. Classic Collection Holidays booked everything for us and were most competitive on price and very helpful both in UK and Funchal. We had a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nickWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

It was our first time in Madeira and we booked this hotel on the recommendation of our travel operator Classic Collections as we were not quite sure where to stay. We were really delighted with the hotel as it is in the old part of Funchal and just a few minutes walk away from many bars and restaurants. We just had b$b as we like going out in the evening and we were spoiled for choice. Good pool where we sat most afternoons, and the position of the hotel gives you a lovely view to the sea and over the harbour so you can watch the boats going in and out. Very relaxing. You do need to book an ocean view room, but the garden rooms are also good if you don't want the view. Breakfast was excellent and a lovely terrace to eat it on. The town, and the whole island, is very hilly, so be prepared for a lot of hill climbing. There are good buses and taxis as well. Very good value overall. The photos on the hotel website are very good and accurate.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gillyflower_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

The hotel is at the top of a hill therefore views from the restaurant balcony and rooms with a balcony are beautiful. You can see for miles across the ocean and while many an hour away watching the cruise liners come and go. The hotels service is first class with all staff more than willing to assist and everyone so polite. Breakfasts are excellent with a good choice of food and continual refilling of tea and coffee cups. The bar service is excellent, prices a little dearer than the bars but not overly so...however the views and comfort of the hotels balcony are worth that little extra. Rooms are cleaned daily with fresh towels every day. Our room had a balcony with a sea view and was clean and tidy. The bathroom was the same and the shower was very efficient.
As I said at the beginning the hotel is at the top of a hill so be aware that on your return from sightseeing or whatever you will do a little cardio exercise each time. Not a bad thing and sets you up for that evenings apertif!
Highly recommend this excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stoatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

nice, smallish hotel that is worth its 4 stars.
nice rooms although the one we had had a too soft a bed.
nice terraces that arnt overlooked by nearby properties.
staff attentive and courtious.
fly in the ointment was when we arrived at 7ish on a saturday night we were told they were double booked and we had to spend a night at the nearby (and it has to be said) slightly better hotel porto santa maria. this despite booking direct with hotel DECEMBER 2010. was this because this is ultimatly a german owned hotel and the English dont kick up as much fuss?, we did get a free dinner when we came back sunday.
tip for those who stay here: the road down to town is busy and doesnt have a footpath, turn right out of hotel and go into town on the road that runs behind the hotel as this has a lot less traffic.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gmanfst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#11 of 88 in Funchal
1,994 reviews
0.7 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
Four Views Baia
Four Views Baia
#27 of 88 in Funchal
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residencial Mariazinha
Residencial Mariazinha
#57 of 88 in Funchal
111 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens
1.5 mi away
Ocean Gardens
Ocean Gardens
#31 of 88 in Funchal
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago

Address: Rua Bela S Tiago 70, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#42 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $118 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming 4-star hotel Quinta Bela São Tiago was originally a traditional Madeiran Manor House built in 1834. The manor house and its extensive gardens have been carefully restored to create a paradise right in the heart of this lovely old district.The Quinta Bela São Tiago offers a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere in a unique location in Madeira! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Bela Sao Tiago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Bela Sao Tiago Funchal
Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing