We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel fantastic views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Ranked #25 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a room with the most fantastic views absolutely beautiful. Hotel facilities first class, indoor swimming pool, tennis, squash, gym could be better equipped as there was room for more variety of exercise machines. Excellent breakfast eating out on the terrace was lovely and plenty of tables to sit at. First night we arrived we just ate at the buffet restaurant cost us 40 euro didn't think it was value for money but that was just our opinion. Hotel is some what away from town and sits high up in maderia but you can get the free hotel mini bus to take you down town. Take note the bus stops at 6.30pm so you have to get the local buses back but they are easy to get and go on quite late. If you go to town every day the cost soon mounts up as we were 4 euros for two one way. We always tried to get the free bus at least one way. The staff were lovely, helpful, and attentive.
We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, its clean, modern, and facilities and breakfast excellent. What would make it better tea and coffee in rooms but maybe this is just us Brits needing our first thing in the morning cuppa. Would I go back to this hotel? Yes.
I think we would try to get a hotel nearer the town next time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jas57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 588 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

Just returned from Madeira 5/8, I travel as part of my job and stayed in many Hotels around the World this Hotel is not a 4 star but is a good 3 star. The views from the Panoramico are fantastic , very friendly staff especially on the reception. It is a bit hilly but I don't suppose you would get the spectacular views if you were on lower ground. Good breakfast, and good shuttle service into town. The hotel and rooms are very clean. On the Negative side we were in a room over the dining area, Monday nights is BBQ night rooms engulfed with BBQ smells, the Gym has seen better days poor quality equipment, but overall we had a pleasant stay.
Go to a pub called the Arsenal in Old Town they serve the best Mojito's I've ever had! Take a walk into Lido some great Fish restaurants, Visit the pub on called the Hole in the Wall live music every night.

Room Tip: Choose a room near the tennis courts quiet side of the hotel or over reception but higher than first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sonya046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here in July!
Rooms lovely, clean and well serviced.
Staff helpful polite and friendliness - special mention goes to Rita on reception.

Breakfast - AMAZING! Although the egg boy needs to have a little more training on multi tasking - it's ok to cook two omelettes at once, as a chef I had to hold back at not taking over! That said he made a great omelette.

The only downside is the location - that said we read enough about that before we booked it is helped by the free minibus service and good local bus service and reasonably priced cabs.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillyMollysixty6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

If you want a hotel based holiday with luxury pool, lively bars and entertainment then this is not the place for you. If you want a good quality hotel to use as a base, in a quiet area with friendly staff then this is the ideal place. All areas of the hotel are well maintained and very clean. The rooms are comfortable and spacious, even pool towels are supplied. We did take a travel kettle which was so useful. Our room overlooked a typical madeiran residential area of shabby houses and allotments, We thought it was quite authentic The breakfast and dining room was really good, nice selection, all fresh and well presented. We did use the free mini bus twice which is really handy. The pool is small but ok for a couple of hours if you need to re- charge your batteries. The hotel is about a 20 minute downhill walk to the new town where there are lots of restaurants and high hotels which is why we preferred the location of The Panoramic. If you come out of the hotel turn left and walk for about 8 minutes you will come to a local bar on the left hand side, the drink is so cheap and they will do whatever food you ask for, Half a chicken, chips and a huge salad 4.50 euros, 2 pieces of scabbard fish, chips and salad 5.50 euros, do give it a try,

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nickiTrowbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We are just back from Madeira and stayed in this hotel for 1 week.
Positives: very efficient and friendly staff, good and fresh food with enough variety every day, nice bay and city view, clean and comfortable rooms
Negatives: high up on the hill, bus not frequent and shuttle needs reservation, thus you have to trust your legs to go up and down. Outdoor swimming pool is small.
Overall I would stay in this hotel again if I ever go to Madeira again. Would I ever go to Madeira again? That is another question.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed in this place last year (family with two kids). How we loved this place! We got two connecting rooms, with a bit of a view. (all views are great anyway..) Breakfast: Brilliant. Staff: great. Minibus service: Easy. Two swimming pools (inside/outside): Nice. Restaurant... : We had dinner there every night, under the stars, fantastic food, fantastic service (What nice people), fantastic prices as well (Although they told me they had to think about raising the prices...). Supermarket is a 15 minute walk up the hill (so downhill with the shopping). Slow walk into town, if you don't want to take the minibus. I hope we get back one day.

Room Tip: We had connecting rooms, perfect for the family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Booked a last minute trip with Thomson. Decided on The Panoramico after reading some favourable reviews. Glad we did, fantastic views over Funchal, great room, friendly and helpful staff. Having left my wallet in the foyer on a chair, I was very pleased to have a call to our room from reception saying they had found it before I had even realised I had misplaced it!! The breakfast was expansive with different fresh fruit daily (must try the Anona fruit), fresh bread, eggs cooked to order, really set us up for a long day walking the Levadas. We did not try the buffet but did try the a la carte one evening which was excellent, we had two fabulous tuna dishes both cooked to perfection, both so good we couldn't decide which was best! Thomson rep Sharon was very helpful and being a local girl gave us great advice on what to see and do in our all too short week on Madeira. thanks Sha. The location of the hotel is a little out of the town centre and yes the hills are steep but we walked downtown and back up at least once a day as we are keen walkers. There is a courtesy bus available to book if you wish. We hired a car via Thomson and it was one of the cheapest available in Funchal after shopping around beforehand and it was delivered to the hotel with a free upgrade too. You really need to see this island to appreciate how beautiful it is, particularly the north and east coast and Nuns Valley. Rabacal levada walk was superb. We recommend the cable car to Monte and the wicker basket trip back down, expensive at 30 euro but worth every cent, laughing all the way down. All in all a great place to visit for a chilled, safe and scenic holiday. We can highly recommend Madeira Panoramico.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WelshNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.7 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
272 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#29 of 88 in Funchal
505 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ocean Gardens
Ocean Gardens
#28 of 88 in Funchal
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Golden Residence
Golden Residence
#24 of 88 in Funchal
1,005 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#7 of 88 in Funchal
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Panoramico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Panoramico Hotel

Address: Rua Estados Unidos da America 34, Funchal, Madeira 9000-090, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#25 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#28 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#30 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $79 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Panoramico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the west hillside of Funchal, with superb views of the sea, the bay and magnificent mountains. With a relaxed and friendly atmosphere, this is the ideal place for an unforgettable holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Madeira Panoramico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Madeira Panoramico
Madeira Panoramico Funchal
Madeira Panoramico Hotel Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing