We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madeira Panoramico Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Ranked #27 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
London UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We just came back from Madeira after staying at this hotel for one week. Can't recommend it enough. Very friendly staff and a clean and tidy place. The hotel is built on three levels, but a quick look around and you'll soon get to know it. Unfortunate no upgrades were available as the hotel was full. Buffet breakfasts were fine served between 0730 and 1000. Their jacuzzi near the road was lovely and is open daily until 2100. Sunday night they have live fado performance in the cocktail bar starting at 2115 until 2200. We would not hesitate staying here again. Thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the highest level to avoid the traffic noise from the road below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paulborger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    161
    52
    3
    3
See reviews for
48
249
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We recently spent a week at the Panoramico and I would recommend it to anyone. Very friendly staff, clean rooms and the views over Funchal shall live long in the memory. They even have a free courtesy bus down into town to take the strain off your legs.
Don't hesitate with this place, just book it.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aningeniousname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We have just returned from a winter break at this hotel and this was our first time in Madeira. The staff were all friendly, helpful, cheerful and professional from the first friendly welcome to the final goodbye. The room with a fabulous sea view and a balcony was ideal; the view from the hotel is fabulous overlooking both the harbour, the sea and the town. There is a courtesy 'bus' organised by the hotel to provide residents with a free shuttle to and from the town centre/harbour and the hotel that we used most days.The food was good, both the breakfast and evening buffet were ideal.My one and only comment under the 'could do better' heading would be that kettles/tea/coffee should be provided for the rooms. Its very rare these days to need to pack the travel kettle! Most hotels provide this as standard but unfortunately this facility is not available here.

Room Tip: Remember to ask for the sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kd592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Had a great time in this hotel. Sea view room with balcony overlooking the harbour and cruise ship port. Xmas lights in Funchal were spectacular and provided us with a breathtaking view from our balcony at night. The xmas gala meal served on xmas eve was amazing. There were about 6 courses and neither of us could quite manage all the food - there was so much. Service was very good during this meal and there were no long waits between courses, although we did need time for each course to digest ! Staff were efficient and friendly.
Room was kept very clean and it was a quiet location despite being above the pool area. Bed was comfortable (2 twins pushed together to make a 6ft bed). Good shower in the bathroom and plenty of hot water at all times in the day. There is a mini bar in the room with a variety of snacks and drinks should you want them.
Didn't try the outdoor pool but went in the indoor pool and the jacuzzi which were both very nice and not at all crowded.
The grounds are very tidy and well maintained and there were lots of plants in bloom, including poinsettias, bougainvilleas and bird of paradise flowers.
Food was available in 2 restaurants, 1 a la carte and the other where a buffet was served nightly. We were half board and after the xmas meals (which were served in the a la carte) we were transferred to the main buffet restaurant for the rest of the week. There was a plentiful choice of food for breakfast and dinner, with a chef cooking fresh food to order. Also you could buy sandwiches, snacks and fries at the outdoor pool bar and also the cocktail bar.
The weather was good for practically all of the week with sunshine and temps of around 20-21, perfect for a xmas break
As stated in other reviews the hotel is high up a hill, thus the fab views ! We walked into town on one occasion, which was a pleasant 25-30 mins stroll. We came back by taxi as we had spent hours walking round town looking at the xmas lights and didn't fancy the uphill trek back ! There is a free courtesy bus run by the hotel but it has to be booked in advance and operates mon-sat.
We had a very pleasant stay and would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: choose a seaview room with balcony, the views are stunning !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moosiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Now, I'll admit up front that this review will be influenced by the free upgrade to a sea-view room, along with bubbly on ice that we received because we were there to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday (of course, that is hard to believe, as she looks so young !)
Nevertheless, we feel that the Madeira Panoramico is almost without flaw. (The only drawbacks revolve around the slightly out-of-the-way location, but more of that later.)
All staff, without exception, are friendly, cheerful, professional and helpful.
We went bed and breakfast. Breakfast was very good, in the airy buffet restaurant room, with great views over the terrace to the sea and the mountain. Wide selection of good quality hot and cold food laid out, buffet style and chef cooking eggs to order. No fuss, no waiting. Help yourself to everything.
Our room was lovely, with a balcony big enough to hold a table and two chairs. We found it an ideal spot to guzzle the hotel bubbly while gazing at the cruise ships in the harbour.
TV has English-language news channels and a couple of Portuguese channels which show a lot of English-language films with Portuguese subtitles.
Beds were comfortable. Extra blankets were provided, and the room has heating and air conditioning with electronic controls, so you can have exactly the temperature you need.
Minibar well stocked, but enough room for us toi squeeze in a few tins of beer and some milk. (We brought our own travel kettle and tea bags.)
Everything spotlessly clean.
Shower pressure can flay the skin from your back if you like that sort of thing: just turn it up to full!
We visited the hotel bar a couple of times, once when they had a Fado night on. The Fado singer was incredible! Her voice could easily fill a 500-seat theatre, at least, without amplification. Bar prices more expensive than in town, but not not too bad, and you get table service. Bar food is decent and plentiful.
Location: bit of a trek from centre of town; about 30 mins to town and 40 mins back. It takes longer coming back because it is uphill all the way. However, you can book places on the hotel's free minibus shuttle. There is not always space available on this, unfortunately, and it does stop at 6pm. However, public transport is very cheap and reliable and there are bus stops imediately outside the hotel on both sides of the road. Get a 3,5 or 7-day bus ticket from a kiosk in town and ride all you want within Funchal. This also includes going up to Monte, from where the famous tobbogan rides down the mountain begin.
We recomend going on a catamaran whale/dolphin-spotting excursion.
In fact, we went on a few excursions and had a great time. Book direct, in town, not via holiday rep. Avoid the ones which are significantly cheaper than the rest, though, as they include a trip to a timeshare resort, with a high-pressure sales talk.
Go to local hole-in-the-wall bars, if you speak just a little Portuguese: the locals
thought we were a great curiosity and were very keen to talk to us and practice their English. We had great fun ordering beer and toasted sandwiches in Portuguese! These bars are significantly cheaper than the flashy tourist bars. Guzzle the local Coral beer.

Room Tip: Sea-view rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Filosofo1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

First visit to Madeira and by dint of good fortune we found ourselves staying in this excellent hotel. The staff were friendly and efficient. They were kind enough to present us with surprise champagne on ice to celebrate our joint birthday ...still dont know how they knew about this! Also they were very helpful when I contracted the dreaded winter vomiting illness (I hasten to add not their fault in any way). The hotel is situated high in the town giving a superb view, however this does mean transport is needed however the free hotel minibus is readily available during the daytime (except Sunday). Also the Official Sightseeing Tour Yellow Bus stops on the road immediately outside hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PETER J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I have not been to madeira for 20 years and I returned with my partner and my brother and his wife. It was my brother recommendation to stay at the panaramico. It was Great. The staff and the management could have not done enough to make our stay any more memorable. The facilities at the hotel were fantastic including the free transport into town. I loved the indoor and outdoor pool and the fado singer on Sunday night. I will return to Madeira and I will choose this great hotel. Thank you to you all.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pechoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#22 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
0.9 mi away
Golden Residence
Golden Residence
#26 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 733 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ocean Gardens
Ocean Gardens
#37 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#14 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 984 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#28 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
0.4 mi away
Enotel Quinta do Sol
Enotel Quinta do Sol
#32 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 stars 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Panoramico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Panoramico Hotel

Property: Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Address: Rua Estados Unidos da America 34, Funchal, Madeira 9000-090, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#26 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#29 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#31 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Panoramico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the west hillside of Funchal, with superb views of the sea, the bay and magnificent mountains. With a relaxed and friendly atmosphere, this is the ideal place for an unforgettable holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Otel, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Madeira Panoramico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Madeira Panoramico
Madeira Panoramico Funchal
Madeira Panoramico Hotel Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing