We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madeira Panoramico Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Ranked #27 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel with great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I have not been to madeira for 20 years and I returned with my partner and my brother and his wife. It was my brother recommendation to stay at the panaramico. It was Great. The staff and the management could have not done enough to make our stay any more memorable. The facilities at the hotel were fantastic including the free transport into town. I loved the indoor and outdoor pool and the fado singer on Sunday night. I will return to Madeira and I will choose this great hotel. Thank you to you all.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pechoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    163
    52
    3
    3
See reviews for
49
252
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed here in November 2012. Hotel facilities good. Took a while to find our way around because its on different levels but once we got the hang of it no problem. The rooms are nicely finished with good views of Funchal. Don't know about the rear facing rooms. We found the staff to be very professional in their approach but not overly friendly. Maybe this was because it was end of season but not a great problem. The food is very good with a large selection for breakfast and evening meal. We didn't have lunch at the hotel as we were always out during the day. Quite a trek to Funchal itself but a pleasant walk down in the morning. Probably wise to book the hotel minibus back or get a taxi though. Overall a pleasant stay and we would recommend it as a good base to see the rest of Madeira.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taylea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The hotel is clean and well kept and we found all the staff friendly and extremely helpful. The view from our sea view room was well worth the extra charge. We were in the main reception area of the hotel which is further away from the road and therefore quiet. There was an excellent choice of food at the breakfast buffet, including freshly cooked eggs to order. There are two restaurants, one serving a buffet meal and a well appointed A La Carte which we found similar in value to local restaurants. There is a steep approach to the hotel which would be quite challenging for anyone with walking difficulties. There is a courtesy minibus into Funchal which must be pre-booked at reception. It takes about 45 minutes to walk into Funchal and about 20 minutes to walk to the Lido area where there is a variety of restaurants.

Room Tip: Room 120 on the 1st floor of the reception building has excellent views over Funchal and the harbour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joyce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The service and reception people were very helpful. The free wifi was very sparodic around the hotel and only really available in the reception area. Be wary in the al a carte restaurant, they place bread on table when you get seated, it is charged at 1.75euro each person. I asked before touching it and told it chargable. I had it taken away for no charge, but was told it was on the menu, which it was not (lying worse than trying to do you out of money).
The free shuttle bus into town is only an 8 seater so best to book it the day before. Last shuttle back is 1815hrs again return trips have to be booked in advance (taxi is about 6 euro from town), but if room available they are very helpful and lenient.

Room Tip: We got sea view for no extra cost (see photo for our view of Funchal)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is 4 Star and has all the attributes of what we expected from the accommodation. It is located up quite a steep drive which anything bigger than a minibus cannot access. The seaview rooms offer a stunning view across Funchal and the bay and it's worth paying the extra for a top floor room.
Breakfast is good quality with plenty of choice, hot food, continental and cereals and there is always lots left even at a later time. The a la carte restaurant is lovely if a little pricy compared to other restaurants in the area. There is also a pool bar serving tasty fast food.
The down side is the outdoor pool area is small and not overly inviting, the heated pool was not very warm and the gym area had 4 exercise bikes, 2 treadmills, one of which in my opinion was dangerous if you tried to run on it. There was a holistic treatment area as well.
The hotel itself is well kept, a little tricky to find your way around as its built on 3 levels with 3 different lift systems.
Free minibus service throughout the day to Funchal town centre was a bonus, but must be pre booked with reception. There is a steep cut through down to the Lido area with many local restaurants.
All in all a good quality hotel in a quiet location.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynneD1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Make sure you book a sea view room-the views are not to be missed. In one day the sky went from clear blue, cloudy, dark rain clouds, sun shining through the clouds, mist on the mountain tops and then a glorious sunset.!
The service is very good especially on the front desk, they always had time to answer queries, how to get the local bus, where to buy travel cards etc. one girl even drew me a map of the quickest way into town. The lady in the cocktail bar is especially nice.
The courtesy bus is a real bonus, and if you want to come back later (it stops at 6.15) get bus45 which drops you right outside the hotel. Buy a giro card, and use it for unlimited bus journeys(I paid 15 euros for 5 days) and it will take you anywhere in Funchal and beyond- you don't need to get taxis at all)
I ate at Parador a couple of times, nice food and not too pricy. I tried the hotel buffet one evening rather than go into town; I was so glad I didn't go half board- it was very mediocre.
I will definitely be back to the Panoramico-hopefully when the sun's out a bit more so I could make use of the outdoor pool, the indoor pool is a plus though.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room- views are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maggiecking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

In one word EXCELLENT. I have been coming to this hotel for over 7 years Being in the service industry I can't fault the friendly service, the food or the facilities. I would strongly recommend it if you are intending to stay in Funchal. I have visited the hotel with my elderly in laws in their 80 and they love it too. A big thank you to all the team

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank eastcoldale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#22 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
0.9 mi away
Golden Residence
Golden Residence
#26 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 735 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ocean Gardens
Ocean Gardens
#37 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#14 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 988 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#28 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
0.4 mi away
Enotel Quinta do Sol
Enotel Quinta do Sol
#32 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 stars 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Panoramico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Panoramico Hotel

Property: Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Address: Rua Estados Unidos da America 34, Funchal, Madeira 9000-090, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#26 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#29 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#31 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Panoramico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the west hillside of Funchal, with superb views of the sea, the bay and magnificent mountains. With a relaxed and friendly atmosphere, this is the ideal place for an unforgettable holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Otel and Travelocity so you can book your Madeira Panoramico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Madeira Panoramico
Madeira Panoramico Funchal
Madeira Panoramico Hotel Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing