We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Luxury !”
Review of The Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Residence
Ranked #7 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Sittingbourne, Kent
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolute Luxury !”
Reviewed September 2, 2009

Well appointed rooms with everything you could want for your stay. The beds are huge! You can get 4 pillows across from one side to the other! All rooms have a sea view. Beautifully kept grounds with staff that want to help you. The Bar and restuarant are a little more expensive than avaerage but that reflects the type of guest (in other words they charge what the gurst can afford to pay). Pool facilities are terrific and we never had a problem getting a sunbed etc. If you want to eat outside of the hotel, there a a number of really good restuarants to choose from, such as the Restuarant Lido (overlooks the sea and great fish), the best Pizza and Salad I have ever tasted at a little place opposite the Pestana Palms Hotel (on the hill) and many more. We liked it so much, we have bought a time share there! Loads to see and do on the Island and a great golf course at Palheiro.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elteuk24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    106
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
219
476
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
the Nethlands
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2009

This resort is PERFECT for a relaxing family vacation and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone seeking a relaxing vacation in a beautiful setting.

The resort is beautiful - the swimming pools are surrounded by beautifully manicured gardens and stunning sea views. The service in the hotel - reception, groundsmen, housekeeping, and waiters are extremely attentive and friendly.

We knew that Madeira was not an ëxciting" island but we took a chance as both parents needed a relaxing vacation. Our 3 teenage boys were more than able to amuse themselves at the resort - there are 5 pools, (free) fitness rooms, pool tables, table tennis and tennis as well as a grassy play area where they could kick a football around. There were quite a few teenagers (British, Dutch, German, Belgian and Scandanavian). The resort did not have much planned for them as a group but there were many opportunities available to meet spontaneously.

The resort is made up of 3 hotels - the hotels were full but you never had an idea that it was crowded. There were always seats available at breakfast, dinner in the restaurants and at the pools.

Madeira is a pretty island but does not offer the usual tourist traps that my boys find exciting. We took a Catamaran trip to see dolphins and whales and rented a car to view the mountains on the island. You have a to a good driver with lots of experience to drive the mountain routes in Madeira! Some of the roads were 9 - 12%. If you don't usually drive a stick shift, this can be daunting. But it is definietely worth it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DvTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2009

After a long hesitation (between Porto Mare and The Resindence) we decided on favour of the Residence and spent 10 woderful and unforgettable days in this hotel in July. And this was a very good decision! Nevertheless I was a bit disappointed upon arrival because of our room position (room nr. 3001), unfortunately room change was not possible due to the fact that all studios were taken. The room/studio itself was excellent and spotless, however it had not full sea view. Anyway, it was really clean, spacy and comfortable, equipped with a huge double king size bed. (The standard double room is reffered sometimes as studio and sometimes as T0 Apartment, but they are the same.) We had half board option, but the small and fully equipped kitchenette in our studio made our life easier.

Services are on high level, hotel staff is friendly, very helpful ... probably not that professionally organized, but it works fine.

I can really recommend this hotel.

Zsolt

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IT88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow Cheshire England
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2009

Satyed here for one week Jun 22 to Jun 29th. We were upgraded from the Eden Mar Hotel to The Residence, which is actually a timeshare operation.

The three hotels on site are big, clean, well appointed, and you can make use of all the facilities. The hotels are at the west end of the town, overlooking the sea. Our room (3004) was huge, clean, great sea view, everything we could need for a week was there. There's a regular free coach into the town centre, loads of taxis. The pools are great, the gardens very well kept, the staff pleasant and helpful.

Evening entertainment was 'interesting', lots of drunk Germans doing the Hokey Cokey, Tie a Yellow Ribbon, to a bloke on a Bontempi singing in bad English.. A good laugh for 10 minutes, enough time to make your going out plans for the following night. Not much entertainment on offer for anyone over the age of 14 or under the age of 65.

The Residence is a bit bland, you could actually be anywhere. However, if you're after a quiet week and nothing much to worry about, it's fine. Our favourite day was an open-top drive around the island, which is stunningly beautiful in parts. Those expecting more (style,culture or excitement) probably shouldn't really be going to Madeira.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_&_Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2009

We stayed at the Porto Mare Residence for a week, we are already talking about going back for two.The hotel is massive like a ship grounded on the mountain. The corridors reminded me of ant holes, they seemed to stretch forever and it took us a few days to find our way around!
We were told that our room was double booked (sea view) so they upgraded us to a suite with a kitchenette. We were told we could move rooms on the wed if we wanted to, but in the end we decided to stay put. It was like having out own flat, the supermarket underneath Pingo's was fantastic, i wish they did some of the stuff they do there here. The cakes were out of this world and the buscuits lovely.

The breakfasts were the best I have had aborad, I could even get my Rice Krispies!
We dined in the portugise resturant, which was lovley, they have 3 classed of resturant, the lowest being the ususal "canteen" like thing you find abroad. The top one was very pricey so we did not try that.

The indoor pool was lovely and warm the outside ones cold. The gardens were lovely with plants from all over the world. Sun beds plentyful. guests maninly French. People not very friendly but staff lovely.

Do try the Itailian round the corner from our "Flat" it was always packed out, a good sign and good value for money

The shopping centre up the road is worth a visit (about a 10 min walk) the Taxi drivers said that not many people were taking trips this year and were mainly staying in their hotels. He reckoned he was loosing about £100 a year compared to last year. We stayed mostly within the hotel complex.

The entertainment was a bit weak, could do with imporvement, overall a great stay and we want to go back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fluffydogmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2009

We are not 'holiday complex' people at all and booked a week at the Eden Mar in some ambivalence, knowing we like Madeira , wanted to self cater and wanted to swim in February so needed an indoor pool. On arrival at the Eden Mar we were changed to the Residence which definitly suited us better - particularly as we were given a suite rather than the superior studio we booked. We could not fault the accomodation - apart from being slightly puzzled that as there were in effect 2 bathrooms there was only one loo but that is being very nit-picky ! It was also a bit annoying to look out over a garden which we could not access as our room did not have garden privilidges - there again we had not paid for them.
However the good things were numerous - the indoor pools are lovely. We adored being able to swim to outside and the outside part of the indoor/outdoor pool is a good size. We much preferred to swim at quiet times ie before 10 am and after 7 pm otherwise being half term the pools were full of kids.
The gardens are gorgeous - but get really busy when the sun comes out - leading to sun bed shortages.
The range of leisure pursuits is good you would need to book if you were keen to do something at a specific time. We took pot luck and usually got what we wanted .
We had a hire car and noted that parking became pretty short at times. A car is not essential as the hotel shuttle bus is very efficient, and taxis to town about 5 Euros. We did use the car and explored the island a good deal. . This is what we enjoy doing , there are trips and good local buses if you dont want to drive.
Hotel staff are very efficient and pleasant. Cleaning fantastic.
Would we go again - yes !

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grayfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2008

We stayed at Porto Mare hotel side 3 years ago, and came back to the Residence with our family of 2 small children. Our experience was like our previous one some years back -- first class.

1) Service. Just perfect. For example, we requested a baby cot for our little one upon our arrival to the room, and it was brought within minutes. Reception answered all our questions and requests without delay.

2) Room. The room itself was very spacious and nicely decorated. The bed may have been on the hard side, but nothing to truly whine about. The freezer compartment of our fridge was full of formed ice = not really working, so it needed a melt.

3) Location. Very well situated in Lido, next to the beachfront boulevard. Grocery store 150m away. We walked many times to Funchal (2,5km) although there is a courtesy bus as well (sometimes crowded as I understood).

4) Amenities. We used the restaurant(s) a couple of times for breakfast and dinner. Breakfast is excellent in terms of variety, quality, and service (like custom-made omelettes). Dinner was also surprisingly good and theme changed every night. We also used the spa for massages and found it excellent in terms of facilities and "very good" in terms of the massage itself.

5) To anyone with children. We had a huge two-seat stroller for our 2 kids and we were able to move about the hotel area with ease. There are not many children in this hotel, and we got some attention, although positive! Kiddie outdoor pool exists, although not heated.

All in all a perfect stay, and we will be back.

- TP

  • Liked — Service, location, breakfast
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quarterback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,859 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#8 of 86 in Funchal
2,043 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 86 in Funchal
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence

Property: The Residence
Address: Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-566, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Funchal
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying the west wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort, The Residence enjoys the use of all its facilities and a real sense of community. A wide selection of carefully furnished and fully equipped apartments where comfort is our motto. The 99 units divided into studios, one and two bedroom apartments are decorated with a touch of exoticism. The Residence apartments combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Residence Funchal
Porto Mare Residence Hotel Funchal
The Residence Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing