We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks again for the esperience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Residence
Ranked #6 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Thanks again for the esperience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Again I review this hotel complex. We have been coming to our occupancy for 9 years. The Porto Mare, Eden Mare and Residence complex is a very beautiful location. The attention to detail makes the place. The gardens give a visual lift to the hotels and the pool areas. Receptionists, maids, managers, waiters porters - all are excellent. So another unforgettable experience. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bones O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for your kind words about your recent 9th stay at The Residence and happy to learn that overall you had a positive holiday experience. THANK you also for your support by staying with us so many times

We sincerely hope to see you around for many future visits to madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    102
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
209
454
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Having purchased one week time share at The Residence we were eagerly awaiting our holiday and we weren't disappointed. The apartment was large and spacious with all the facilities we had been promised. The apartment was very clean on our arrival and was cleaned every day.
The complex is extensive and as there are effectively 3 resorts in one complex, it took us a while to find our way round. The routes round the site are very similar and this to first timers was a bit confusing. Reception did give us a map when we asked for one but a clearer one would be more beneficial. However, after a couple of days we got the hang of all the corridors, paths and routes round the site.
There is plenty to do with numerous bars, restaurants, and swimming pools (including the best indoor pool I have seen in a holiday resort). There is also a gym if you feel the need of exercise, although with all the hills round about we didn't bother with it.
Can't wait for next year- it was so good we purchased an extra week so we will have two weeks for next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind review about your holiday experience at The Residence.
So rewarding to know that overall you are happy with your decision of being part of our regular visitors.
Regarding your note about the indications within the resort, yes sometimes it can be difficult but see it from a different point of view, during the next stays you can always find something new…. now a bit more serious we are working on a complimentary signage for the corridors of the three hotels as we have done it already in the garden. We hope it becomes easier to walk around.

We will be most pleased to welcome you in future visits to Madeira,

See you soon for a second visit to our property,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We are time-share owners at The Residence and have been staying there since 2010. Every year we look forward to our stay and we are never ever disappointed. Everything about the place is spot on - the rooms are well appointed, spacious and contemporary, the staff are always professional and friendly and the hotel itself has everything you need for a perfect stay. I would always highly recommend the spa, which has a good selection of treatments. The Med is our favourite restaurant but all the restaurants are lovely and provide something for all tastes. The recent addition of Wifi in the rooms is great, however the signal is a bit iffy at times. Hopefully this is something that will be improved in time. All in all this is a dream hotel! Thank you to all the staff for your hard work and exacting standards.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deeniebobeenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us again and again, and also for the feedback about it. Really happy to know that you had another enjoyable holiday experience with us.

Regarding the internet service is something that we have in our minds in order to look for solution to make it better. As you know the number of people using more than one device in each room sometimes creates picks of users that block the system. We are looking for solutions in order to improve it as we always been doing when we have a problem.

See you soon hopefully,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

First visited hotel in 2007 and were so impressed with facilities. Outdoor pool lovely and usually plenty of sunbeds. It is an 'aclimatisation pool' so quite cold. Always sunbeds in other locations in the gardens. Indoor pool vast and has a gap to take you through to a small outdoor pool which is warm. Hot tub there also. Gardens are beautiful. Even has a tropical orchid garden. We purchased our timeshare garden apartment that year and have now extended the years. Unfortunately I required medical treatment on this visit and was grateful for kindness and assistance given by owner's rep Clare and receptionist Jenny. Selection of restaurants in the complex but many others nearby. Currently road works going on in area but hotel not affected by noise. Funchal however has major ongoing work and roads even more congested. Promenade is also having overhaul and sea view blocked by boards. Hello courtesy bus useful to get into Funchal. Have to book outward with reception but not return. Can't wait for our return visit.
Flower festival dates are not constant so you are advised to do your home work and check.

Room Tip: Most rooms have good view. If you are not happy with what you given just say. The balcony on our fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waterbabe16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us again and again, and also for the feedback about it. Really happy to know that you had another enjoyable holiday experience with us. I will proudly share your thoughts with Claire and Jenny, I am sure they will be most pleased to receive it.

See you hopefully soon..

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We are currently staying at The Residence (28 May 14) and are here for the second time. This timeshare has superb standards in every area as does its sister hotel and apartments. Every single area is spotless. The accommodation serves all of our needs and we are a very well travelled and fussy couple. All of the pool areas are scrupulously clean (all four of them). The gardens are magnificent with multiple varieties of flowers and the wonderful waft of jasmine. This timeshare does not have any type of music blaring. Pure bliss and a quiet corner can be found on one of the many garden terraces. Credit due to the management for keeping the standards so high. All the staff are all very polite and go out of their way to be helpful. The housekeeping staff are all very pleasant and efficient. All in all a great place to spend a vacation with excellent care and attention to detail. Well done All. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the ““Exceptional” feedback about your recent stay at The Residence.
So rewarding to learn that you have enjoyed so much another holiday experience with us.

We will always be pleased to welcome you back.

Warm regards,


Muito obrigado


. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Got back today from our first year in our time share. While the complex and room are great. We were excited to go to our first residence meeting to find it was all about the people who had been going donkeys years,we even walked past the lady that sold us the time share only to be ignored so much for being part of the family. Also we were told the flower festival was on during our weeks stay which was a lie. Very disappointed with our first stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derbybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay with us and for your comments about it.
Regret to know that you did not have the best experience at our hotel and truly hope that in a future visit you will take a better impression of us.

Regarding the flower festival this is not a fixed event therefore one year it is possible that you get it other year you might not .

Sincerely hope to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira and I would personally be pleased to assist you on anything you might need.

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,


. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Just returned from 10 days R&R at this fantastic resort. Not normally ones for larger resorts, we very much enjoyed the friendliness and facilities at this beautifully presented resort, just far enough out of Funchal to be quieter, but still close to all amenities and an excellent choice of restaurants. Gardens are just beautiful, apartment very well equipped and comfortable, staff superb.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KerryOutlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Porto Mare Residence and for your feedback about it.
It is so rewarding to know that you took such a positive impression of our property.


It will always be a pleasure to welcome you back,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,


. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,718 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence

Property: The Residence
Address: Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-566, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Funchal
#4 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying the west wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort, The Residence enjoys the use of all its facilities and a real sense of community. A wide selection of carefully furnished and fully equipped apartments where comfort is our motto. The 99 units divided into studios, one and two bedroom apartments are decorated with a touch of exoticism. The Residence apartments combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelUp, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Residence Funchal
Porto Mare Residence Hotel Funchal
The Residence Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing