We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh so good!”
Review of The Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Residence
Ranked #6 of 85 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Oh so good!”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The Residence is part of the luxurious Porto Mare complex. I cannot think of anything bad to say! Yes, you pay for quality but that is what you get. The complex never appears really busy due to the expansive and well planned grounds. Choose this destination and I guarantee you won't regret it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 19LincsTraveller40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the “Oh so good!” feedback shared on TripAdvisor. Good to know that you had another positive holiday experience with us..

See you son,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    103
    15
    2
    4
See reviews for
213
458
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea,UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Just had our Annual 2 weeks in our Time Share at The Residence.Perfectly Wonderful. Batteries fully re-charged.An impressive Suntan for continuing Winter back in U.K.
We've been with this Company right from the start of Building and they are superb.Endlessly obliging and the Welcome each year is overwhelming.Just like coming home.
Mr & Mrs McMullen

Room Tip: They're all good but those further back from the Public Access Park on the South side are quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

First off all thank you for being our guest for so many years and for the kind review shared on TripAdvisor about it

We will be most pleased to welcome you soon,

Warm regards,


MUITO OBRIGADO

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I have been visiting Madeira for the past 14 years & bought timeshare at The Residence 7 years ago. I have never written a review for this hotel before but greatly enjoy reading comments left by other guests. When I looked at the site today I pressed the link on the right of the page leading to 2014 Trip Advisors Awards. This informed me that 5 Porto Bay Hotels are in the top 12 hotels throughout the whole of Portugal. I discovered that The Residence is No 1 in Portugal & No11 in Europe. Congratulations to all staff at The Residence & grateful thanks for treating us as family in this Garden of Eden.
I really would like to this opportunity to single out the wonderful Time Share team who have played such a major part in these awards & are always there for me. Buying Timeshare from them (without any pressure) has been one of the best decisions I have ever made. They have created a unique package so different from any other on the Island.

Room Tip: Demand exceeds supply so choose any apartment in The Residence
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PamCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

First off all thank you for being our guest for so many years.
Secondly thank you for your kind review shared on TripAdvisor about The Residence and the awards received through TripAdvisor based on customer feedback.

Of course that it was a with a great pride that we received the good news but this was only possible because we do have so many guests who take some of their precious time writing and sharing with so many other holiday makers their holiday experience at our property.
It is a generous way from you of recon the team service, the facilities and the effort of our company.

I will certainly share your message with all my team and I am sure they will also be very proud of their achievement through your comments.

Warm regards,

THANK YOU

MUITO OBRIGADO
. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sipoo, Finland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

All the good things that has been said about this hotel are true. But when a hotel loses your luggage twise, causing a hour and half nervrecking waiting in the airport, one can´t give a good overall rating. When we arrived only one of our luggage arrived in the room. When I said to the person delivering luggages that one is missing he said this is all there is - with a lot of shoulderlifting. He suggested I take one other look. I said ours is pink and all that I see are basic black ones. He said take one more look because there are no more luggages. I said I see none that is pink. The man didn´t take any action to solve the problem. So I said we are now going to the reception and see what can be done. I also contacted our tour operator. We arrived in the reception lobby - and by the main doors were few big luggages left, incuding our pink one. I asked the man why he insisted that all the luggage was in his trolley. A lot of shoulderlifting was the answer.
Fastforward to our departure day. As instructed I took our pink ones down to the lobby early to be picked up by separate delivery van. Both were marked properly.
When we arrived in the airport I could see allready from our bus window that our pink ones had not made it there. The tour operator started solving the mystery: first thing was of course to call the hotel if the pinks ones had left behind. The answer was that the lobby is empty and all luggage has been taken away. Delivery guys phoned to vans and tried to trace our luggage: Other tour operators were phoned. Another phone call to the hotel - please look around: no action but the same answer. The clock was ticking - our departure closing. Finally tour operator called The residence once more (the fourth call in my counting) and asked to see if the luggage could be in some other room. This time someone finally lifted himself behind the reception desk - voila´two pink ones found. We don´t know were the luggage were but they were driven to the airport by taxi. And we made the plane just in time. Not a pleasant way to end the holiday. So if you ever happen to stay in The residence look after your luggage.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spectator2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay with us and for your comments about it.
Regret to know that you did not have the best experience at our hotel and truly hope that in a future visit we you give us the opportunity to do better. I do apologize for what happened with your luggage. I have checked with my team and honestly I could not understand the reason why it happened.. we do have bad days…

Sincerely hope to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira and I would personally be pleased to assist you on anything you might need.

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,


. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

In-laws have a timeshare at this resort. Its not a sun worshippers sort of place its quite cool, but its beautiful.
Buffets impressive - restaurants attached to it (but outside) are lovely.
Well maintained - nice pool. Good holiday!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VLFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for your stay at The Residence and for your feedback about it shared on TripAdvisor,

we would be most pleased to welcome you in another future opportunity,

Warm regards,

Muto obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Our first visit to Madeira and we had a lot of expectation both on the hotel and on the island.
The breakfast buffé was perfect for our family. Everyone could find what they want and the quality was very good. There was a good variety of restaurants both at the hotel and close by. The hotels own "Il Basilico" was a very good experience and also there was only a 10 minute walk to the Michelin starred restaurant I´ll Gallo dÒro.
The combined Indoor/outdoor pool was a positive experience and the temperature was 27 degrees, which was perfect during january. Also there was a wide variety of activities like minigolf, pool, tabletennis, tennis etc. at a small cost.
Our familyroom was very nice and with a small garden outside. The Hotel also had a very nice botanical garden that actually was a better expericene that the big botanical garden on the mountaintop above Funchal. There was a lack of organized kids activities and also the Spa treatments was fair/average to a rather high cost.
Anyway I can recommend both Madeira and this hotel to future guests.

Room Tip: The 4 bed family room are perfect and everyone had their own bed instead of other hotels where they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Residence and for your feedback shared on TripAdvisor about it.
Glad to know that overall you had a positive holiday experience in spite of the “minor issues” mentioned which we will try to improve

Sincerely hope to see you around soon,

Warm regards and a great 2014

Muito obrigado,



. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

This was my second stay previous stay was a room in the Porto Mare which was bed and breakfast. The complex is immaculate the gardens are amazing pools are great both indoor and outdoor, staff are very welcoming and remember previous guests and are are pleased to see you again. Breakfast is brilliant plenty of choice and you can sit outside next to the pool. I travelled alone this time and can honestly say I felt very very at ease, my room was immaculate very good size, self catering facilities were excellent. Hotel caters for disabled guests too. You can eat in the hotel restaurants or you can walk outside and there are various good restaurants too. Hotel provides courtesy bus into Funchal or you can walk there if you are fairly fit, lights were lovely I went there second week in December and very family orientated atmosphere along with traditional stalls and good indoor market. They are building a new sea defence wall but this needs to be done sure will be fab when completed. As an ex travel agent I can thoroughly recommend the hotel and will be back again in December, thank you to the staff and the hotel and your continuous updating and maintaining standards. Xxxxxxx. My mum and dad will be back too they are gold prestige card holders. Xxxxxxx

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Cooksagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your support by staying with once again and also for sharing your thoughts about you recent holiday experience at Porto Mare Residence.

We really hope to welcome you for many times in the future,

Warm regards,


Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,771 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence

Property: The Residence
Address: Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-566, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Funchal
#4 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying the west wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort, The Residence enjoys the use of all its facilities and a real sense of community. A wide selection of carefully furnished and fully equipped apartments where comfort is our motto. The 99 units divided into studios, one and two bedroom apartments are decorated with a touch of exoticism. The Residence apartments combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Residence Funchal
Porto Mare Residence Hotel Funchal
The Residence Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing