We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Residence
Nearby Hotels
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
$370
$337
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
$147
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pestana Palms(Funchal)
$182
$155
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$215
$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$335
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$244
$237
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$87
$76
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Suite Hotel Eden Mar(Funchal)
$172
$152
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$144
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (883)
Filter reviews
883 results
Traveler rating
744
113
17
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
744
113
17
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsporto maretime sharegarden apartmentone bedroom apartmentil basilicomed restaurantorchid gardensecond hometimeshare ownershotel complexporto bay grouplike coming homehome from homeanother wonderful holidayeden mar hoteldvd playerexcellent facilities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
475 - 480 of 883 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2013

My ninth visit and as usual everything was up to a high standard, including the efficiency of and friendliness of the staff, especially the maid service who, this year, were working to cover an unexpected staff shortage. The gardens are excellent and very well maintained at all levels and the visiting birds are a delight. Generally a very relaxing and peaceful venue.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2yorky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Really happy to know that you had another relaxing stay at the Residence. Thank you for choosing us, and for the review about our hotel and your holiday feelings.

Sincerely hope to meet you in a future stay with us,


Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Excellent Resort. Excellent Staff.This was our 6th visit, and we've yet to be disappointed. The Staff are very welcoming, make it all such a pleasurable experience. It's always clean (They do seem to work around the clock!), well equipped, and all within a great location.
We tend to use the local restaurants, not only because of the lower prices, but they're also a part of the atmosphere (I also like to think that we're helping the local economy). There is always plenty to do on the Island, and what scenery!
If you want a warm welcome, this Island, and this resort are the answer. Thank you everyone at the Porto Mare, you made us feel special once again.

Anne and Wayne

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank waysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

“Another wonderful week!”, another stay with us…Thank you for both! It is so god to know that we were able to provide another positive holiday experience within our resort.

We will be most pleased to welcome you on your 7th visit to our hotel.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We've just returned home from a week at the Residence, Porto Mare. A friend kindly lent us her large one bed timeshare as she couldn't use it this year. We had no idea how fantastic it was going to be!
We had (as advised) pre-booked our taxi from the airport to the Residence and enjoyed the twenty minute or so, ride to the hotel. The weather was perfect, even in October it was 21 -23C every day. The Reception area is very attractive, staff knowledgeable and professional as well as friendly. We could not believe our room.. on floor 0 which is one above Reception, our balcony overlooked an immaculate garden (actually everything about the Porto Mare is immaculate!) and the sea. To our delight we could even hear the waves in our room at night when we had the balcony door open.
It's a huge place and probably hundreds of guests but you wouldn't know it. There are so many restaurants and pools that there is always somewhere that's fairly quiet. We loved the garden tour with Cindy - so many exotic plants in this wonderful paradise and she is very knowledgeable.
We ate at a few of the restaurants on site - loved the Med. The service is unbeatable and the food and wine delicious and not expensive. Also really enjoyed a salad lunch at the Bar Varanda a couple of times. Again, really great service.
Off site do try the Scat. I'm picky about fish but really loved the famous Scabbard with passion fruit sauce. We did a few trips - a mini bus to the north part of the island was really interesting but the best trip was by catamaran to see whales and dolphins - we were so close it was wonderful. We went with Sea Born and the staff spent lots of time talking to us and telling us all about the island. After we'd spent some time with the whales we sailed along the coast and saw a tiny lift coming down from one of the mountains, taking farmers down to little scraps of land which they tended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Exploreasap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a comprehensive review of your holidays, hotel services and facilities and also about what to see and do in our island.

So good to know that you had time to do so much and do things that honestly some other visitors and even habitants do not know about.

We will be most pleased to see welcome you in a future visit to Madeira,
Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was our 2nd stay in The Residence and third within the complex (we stayed in the Porto Mare hotel on our first visit to Funchal). We took friends with us this year and really hoped they would enjoy it as much as us. Well we needn't have worried as they were just blown away with everything from the extensive facilities to the amazing service. All staff without exception go out of their way to make you feel welcome, from the minute you arrive and throughout your stay. The facilities, food and entertainment are more like 5 star than 4. It's spotlessly clean, no fighting for sun beds, peaceful yet not dull - whether it's a relaxing break or something a little more energetic you are looking for, this complex ticks all the boxes! Can't wait for next year!

Room Tip: Garden apartment are great as you have private access to a secluded area and own sunbeds.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Residence hotel and for spending some of your time sending us feedback through TripAdvisor.

It is really rewarding to know that you and your friends had such a fantastic time with us.

We will be most pleased to see you around soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was our third visit to the island, second year in the residence and first bringing guests with us. We were proud to share the whole Porto Mare experience with our guests. When we arrive we are always thrilled with the sight of the grounds which are immaculately maintained, the welcome of the staff and the presentation of the apartment. The facilities offered are consistently of the highest standards from the various restaurants, pool areas, activities, bars and gardens.The staff of both the hotel and the Residence Owners Relations team go out of their way to be friendly, welcoming and helpful at all times. The resort undertakes an early evening transformation contrasting the morning walk through the vibrant tropical flower borders to the various poolside and garden locations, with the addition of soft lighting making the same walk to the restaurant in the evening or to the terrace to watch the sunset somewhat magical. Our whole experience of this timeshare could not be further from the rather negative stereotype we envisaged when attending the initial presentation three years ago. Knowing we will be returning makes the ending of our stay more bearable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for another stay and for your feedback about it

We will be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to The residence.

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews