We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So restful”
Review of The Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Residence
Ranked #6 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So restful”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is my second year at the Residence. The apartments are very high quality with a full kitchen, DVD included (no additional rental cost there as in some places), safe and possibly the most comfortable beds and pillows I've ever slept on! We had a garden apartment which are an absolute joy as you can choose to sunbath in relative privacy (only so many of the apartments open out on to each garden) and be surrounded by the sight and smell of gorgeous flowers whilst listening to the ocean. The Spa is of superb quality with very highly trained staff and not overly priced. John in Owner Relations is excellent and nothing is too much trouble, as is the German gentleman on Reception (sorry didn't catch his name). The public areas, bars and restaurants are also of equally high standard. The only niggles are pretty minor ones; no little welcome pack of salt, pepper, dishwasher tablets and washing up sponge all of which would have been useful. If you want an ocean view you have to forego the garden and move upwards to a balcony and only one toilet which with two jack and jill bathrooms would have been easy to put in a second one. Minor things though - overall a great place to stay and will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent second stay at the Residence and for let us know that overall you had a positive holiday experience.
Regarding the issues raised and on the things we can change we promise good attention and solutions…

Sincerely hope to welcome you on a future third visit to Madeira.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    103
    15
    2
    4
See reviews for
213
458
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at the Residence for the second year running and were yet again blown away by the whole place. The hotel, rooms and reception areas are decorated beautifully and always spotlessly clean. The staff, from Reception right through to cleaning staff are all happy, helpful and seem genuinely bothered about each and every guests happiness.

We travelled with my mother and father in law and my two year old little girl and although the hotel is aimed at an adult guest, the facilities to keep my daughter entertained were fantastic. There is a small indoor play room which was clean and tidy and had some lovely toys in. There was also an outdoor climbing frame and swing set which again was clean and tidy and very safe.

The restaurants served fantastic food, for breakfast and evening meal, all foods were fresh and tasty with a good variety.

There aren't enough positive things I can say about this hotel, and all of its staff. I cannot wait to return. Even the grey clouds couldn't ruin our week away! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent second stay at the Residence. It is rewarding to know that you had such a positive holiday experience.

It will be for sure a great pleasure to have around on a future third visit to Madeira.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My friend and I have just returned from a week's stay at The Residence. We were in room 3908, on the ground floor, set in a lovely private garden area.

The apartment was excellent. Everything you needed was in the kitchenette. We were only expecting a couple of rings on a hob. However we had a four ring hob, plus an oven/grill and a microwave. The china and cutlery were all of a good quality and the rooms were spotless. We had a twin bedded room and the beds were very comfortable. We did find the air conditioning a bit inadequate and noisy but not bad enough to complain about.

The staff, particularly the housekeepers and waiting staff, were very nice natured and friendly.

We didn't realize, until we booked in at reception, that we had breakfast included. This was a nice bonus and there was a great selection of everything. Again the waiting staff were very efficient and friendly despite having to relay tables when it was very busy.

My friend and I hired a car this time. We were last in Madeira ten years ago. We did find that there was an overkill of tunnels! I accept they are useful in getting from A to B much quicker but we both felt that we missed a lot of the beauty of the island being inside one tunnel after another. We made a mistake, when visiting Santana, and inadvertently found ourselves paying 10 euros each to go in to a theme park! This was really more suited to children and we left, feeling conned, and finally found our way to the 'real' Santana houses. When you reach Santana go past the multi storey car park, on your right. Take the road to the left, up the hill, and you will then see the real original Santana houses. It was not difficult to find a parking space and walk back.

Another place I would recommend is the Tropical Gardens at Monte. We spent a few hours here amongst beautiful, interesting gardens, but don't forget it is quite a steep walk back up again! I think there were buggies to drive you back up but we couldn't see where they stopped! We went up on the cable car and planned to go down on a sledge. However it was Sunday and we found the sledges do not run on Sunday! So, if you plan to go up and want to come down again, by cable car, please buy a return ticket which is 15 euros, as opposed to 10 euros each way!

The Pingo Doce supermarket, just along the seafront from the Residence, is within easy walking distance so ideal if you plan to self cater.

On the whole this was a lovely, much needed break and very enjoyable. Thank you to all at The Residence.

Room Tip: We found 3908 to be a very good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrisDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the “ excellent relaxing stay at The Residence” review shared on tripadvisor about your recent stay with us.

We are happy to know that you have enjoyed it so much and for sure we will be most pleased to see you around soon,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The second year in our time-share apartment at the Residence. From the pick up from the airport to check-out on the last day, and return to the airport, our care was faultless. No wonder people have been holidaying here for 10 years! We are looking forward to completing our 10.

Room Tip: Room was chosen when we bought our week so not applicable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ptbullock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for the “Brilliant again” review posted on tripadvisor about your recent stay at The Residence.

Sincerely hope to welcome you soon,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado

..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have just returned from our second two weeks at The Residence this year, which we have really appreciated after the awful winter in the UK it is such a friendly and beautiful place to be. We own weeks 15 & 16 because sometimes we are lucky enough to see the wonderful Flower Festival - we knew we wouldn't see it this year, but are very disappointed that it has been moved to May - is this change permanent? We always find something different to see and throughly enjoyed our visit to Santa de Serra Golf Hotel and the cheese factory and bakery many thanks to Valentina.

Julie Ash Vale Surrey

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 4823julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review shared on tripadvisor about your recent stay with us.
We are pleased to know that you had a positive holiday experience and even more that you enjoyed the B2Basicks trip to Santo da Serra. By doing this “genuine” trip as I call it we are promoting Santo da Serra and the local economy and if on top of it people do it having fun that’s great.
Valentina will be most pleased to receive your thoughts…thank you.

Sincerely hope to welcome you soon,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado

..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

There's nothing I can add to the other excellent reviews. This is our fifth time in the Porto Bay complex, now as an owner in the Residence. Two weeks this time and I could have stayed longer. It really is as nice as the reviews say and you get the feeling that the staff really care about what they do. They make you feel special and you just want to keep going back. Can't wait until next year!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capelbond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the nice review shared on tripadvisor and happy to learn that you had another pleasant t stay with us.

Sincerely hope to welcome you soon,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado

..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We have just returned from our annual two week stay at the Residence. This was our tenth year of ownership at the Residence although we have been holidaying in Madeira for the last twelve years. Having started with a one bedroom apartment in the Residence we upgraded to a two bedroom one on the top floor which allows other family members the opportunity to join us. Once again we had a superb time there. The gardens are an absolute delight, especially the Orchid garden. When visiting at other times of the year, with the exception of one occasion , we have always stayed at one of the Porto Bay hotels on the Island. Their staff are excellent and the management team are always on the ball and very responsive to the needs of their clientele. Antonio Pais the General Manager at the Porto Mare complex is one of the most hands on managers I have come across and his enthusiasm radiates downwards to his staff. It is our 40th wedding anniversary this coming September and when faced with deciding where we might celebrate this the choice was obvious , at a Porto Bay hotel. The Suite Hotel Eden Mar here we come.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the Lido offer the best views. Rooms on the western side of the complex offer l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sherbornedorset_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for 10th stay at our hotel. Thank you for the feedback about your recent visit and really happy to learn that you had another enjoyable stay. It is really rewarding to see that the majority of our guests appreciate the facilities and services we provide. At the end your positive thoughts are a great contribute to keep up our motivation. Muito obrigado.

Warm regards,

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,765 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence

Property: The Residence
Address: Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-566, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Funchal
#4 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying the west wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort, The Residence enjoys the use of all its facilities and a real sense of community. A wide selection of carefully furnished and fully equipped apartments where comfort is our motto. The 99 units divided into studios, one and two bedroom apartments are decorated with a touch of exoticism. The Residence apartments combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Residence Funchal
Porto Mare Residence Hotel Funchal
The Residence Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing