We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Residence Porto Mare”
Review of The Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Residence
Ranked #6 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Have been coming here for 8 years and have never been disappointed. The standard of accommodation is better than some 5 star hotels and the staff are efficient,welcoming and so happy in their work and the way they go about it. The facilities are superb and the weather,we go in October,is usually good but we understand that this year they had some rain in November although it may have been needed as there was a plague of mosquitos. RCI continue to offer us swops ro other locations but we doubt that the Residence could be bettered. The staff make an effort to know you and make your stay a good one. I have never heard of anyone having a serious complaint about a holiday there.

Room Tip: Some people prefer low rooms to have access to the beautiful gardens but we prefer higher rooms for...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marty3079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are happy to learn that overall you had a positive holiday experience at the Residence and thank you for your feedback about it.

Sincerely hope to meet you on a future visit to Madeira,

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and all the best for the forthcoming year.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (839)
There are newer reviews for The Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 839 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

Having spent 2 weeks in The Residence in January/February this year and liked it so much, we had the opportunity to return end October/beginning November for a further two weeks. The first week was a timeshare exchange and we were in a 2-bedroom apartment looking out onto one of the garden levels. The second week was booked through the Porto Bay Hotel Group as a one-bedroom apartment which included breakfast. Once again we were in a 2-bedroom apartment overlooking gardens, which was a lovely surprise. The luxury was wonderful and the size of the apartment was larger than our own house in the UK! We would have preferred not to have had breakfast included in the price of the second week but this is hotel policy, as trying to justify a full breakfast every morning wasn’t easy! Breakfast was taken in the Atlantida restaurant and unfortunately although the choice of food was excellent, the temperature of the cooked food could have been hotter. This also applied to the coffee which was served up in thermos jugs which I suspect had been made much earlier. The only day we had hot coffee was on the last day when we had breakfast earlier than usual as we had the airport bus to catch. This is only a slight niggle and didn’t ruin the holiday at all. As before everyone was so friendly and helpful. We went on a very interesting excursion to a small cheese factory making cottage cheese which we sampled followed by a visit to a very small bakery. Here we were served up fresh bread and wine, finished off with roast chestnuts. We then went on to the Santo da Serra Golf Club for a sneak view of the facilities and then to the Santa da Serra Hotel (part of the Porto Bay Group) for a delicious three course lunch washed down with wine and coffee. Very good value. Thoroughly recommend this trip but book early as spaces are limited. Roll on our next visit hopefully in Spring 2014!

Room Tip: Try for an apartment leading out onto gardens as more privacy than some others.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haeremai18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent visit to the Residence. I will pass your comments to our Food & beverage operation so we can improve the points raised.

Glad that you took advantage of some of the activities we organize for our guests. We are already working on a few more events for the near future.

It will always be a pleasure to have you around therefore we will be waiting for you on your future visit

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and all the best for the forthcoming year.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We've just got home from our trip to the Residence, which as usual provided the excellent accommodation, catering and service we have grown accustomed to. We have been coming her for 6 years, and are always sad to leave. This year the weather was very poor, more rain than we've ever experienced before, but it stayed warm, and I'm not one to sunbathe so was happy to sit on the covered terrace outside our suite rather than on the sun-loungers on our lawn. I'm sure one of the things that makes the visit so enjoyable is the quality of the staff. Each year we see the same faces and receive a warm welcome. There is plenty to see and do, they provide opportunities to visit the kitchens, and presentations to explain Madeira and Portuguese wines. A guided tour of the extensive gardens shows the incredible range of plants that thrive here.

Room Tip: There are three "Hotels" in one the facilities are shared, it is the accommodation that di...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madfan48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

“Always happy to welcome you” is the answer to your rewarding review “always sad to leave”.

It will always be a pleasure to have you around therefore don't take too long to revisit us again.

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and all the best for the forthcoming year.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have just returned from Madeira after some of the worst weather we have ever experienced on a holiday but have nothing but praise for The Residence. The facilities were so good that there was no need to sit and be miserable because of the rain. The staff always had a smile and a friendly greeting. The ladies who cleaned our rooms were always cheerful even though we regularly put the 'Do not disturb' sign on our door and they had to come back later. The instant service we had when ants decided to join us, the bottle of wine in ice which arrived in our room on my birthday, the waitresses in the Restaurant, the banter with the reception staff....... I could go on. I would recommend this hotel whatever the weather. We have been there when it was extremely hot and extremely wet. Thank you all for a good holiday

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolynR1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for “a good review” shared on tripadvisor about recent holiday at the Residence.
I am really pleased to know that you had a positive experience on the services we provide and I will proudly share your thoughts with all my team.

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and all the best for the forthcoming year.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We recently spent a week in The Residence, on an RCI exchange. It was the best place we've had so far: the 'studio' was more like a 4*hotel, the room enormous, the bed gigantic. Swim towels and robes were provided. The weather was unusually stormy so preferred to make use of the indoor spa pool. Be prepared for miles of corridors - and it's not always clear where the shortcuts are. A full plan of the resort would have been useful. It's not within walking distance of Funchal but the courtesy buses take you there free of charge (they stop running after 5 pm). Evening entertainment in the Oceana bar in the Eden Mar hotel was very good.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 1st or 2nd floor have the view over the ocean. The lower numbers are at the end of...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dutchie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review posted on tripadvisor about your stay at the Residence.
Really happy to learn that you had a positive holiday experience and we will take good attention on the internal indications

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and all the best for the forthcoming year.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We couln't fault this hotel in any way. We booked our room by banking our UK timeshare. Checking in was easy, every member of staff we spoke to was friendly and helpful, and all the facilties we used were first class. We booked in as a self-catering couple, and the suite we had was roomy and well-maintained, with access to a good sized lawn area. The bars and restaurants we used served quality dishes and a large selection of drinks. The hotel itself is about 30 minutes walk from Funchal centre with good transport links, and there are several decent bars, cafes and restaurants close by. Although there are pools and games facilities at the hotel, I'm not sure if there is enough on site to keep children occupied for a full week. Madeira itself is well worth a visit, my own favourite part being a trek into the mountains.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review shared with so many other holiday makers.
Really happy to learn that you had a positive holiday experience and It will be a great pleasure to see you around soon.

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and all the best for the forthcoming year.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed for a week in the Residence in September. A lovely apartment with all the facilities you could want. The Residence is part of a hotel complex that includes two Hotels - Porto Mar and Eden Mar, all owned by the same company. All of the facilities in this complex are available to Residence guests, providing four lovely pools, and a number of bars and restaurants. The setting is truly beautiful, with extensive gardens that are lovingly maintained.
We can strongly recommend this hotel without any reservations. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, and everything is done to ensure you have a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: The highest rooms on the west side give good views over the sea. If you prefer seclusion, ask for a...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pastyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for the nice review about your holiday experience at the Residence.

It is rewarding to know that you took a positive impression of our services and facilities.

Looking forward to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
2,933 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 88 in Funchal
2,107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 88 in Funchal
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
906 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence

Address: Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-566, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Funchal
#4 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $153 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying the west wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort, The Residence enjoys the use of all its facilities and a real sense of community. A wide selection of carefully furnished and fully equipped apartments where comfort is our motto. The 99 units divided into studios, one and two bedroom apartments are decorated with a touch of exoticism. The Residence apartments combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Residence Funchal
Porto Mare Residence Hotel Funchal
The Residence Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing