We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another excellent stay”
Review of The Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Residence
Ranked #6 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Another excellent stay”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Many thanks for yet another wonderful stay in our timeshare apartment. We were back for our 3rd year.........so many more still to come. Although our room faces the road, I can honestly say that once the door is closed we don't hear any noise. Not a problem as far as I'm concerned. The staff are all excellent and realy helpful. The weather was wonderful - altogether a brilliant holiday and we're already counting down the weeks until next November.
This year I travelled with a friend from USA. She liked The Residence and Madeira so much that she is planning to return with her husband and meet up with us there next year.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sdcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for “another excellent” review sharing your opinion about the Residence with so many holiday makers.
It is rewarding to know that you have enjoyed the facilities and services of Vila Porto Mare. Within our complex you can find four restaurants, different bars, pools and a lovely garden for the pleasure of our guests.

Really hope to welcome you in a near future,

With warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    103
    15
    2
    4
See reviews for
213
458
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
164 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Just returned from 7 night stay at The Residence - we'd booked the hotel but on arrival we were "up graded" to The Residence (still not sure of the reason for this but no worries). We had room 3008 and it was wonderful. Lounge area, small kitchen (some dishwasher tablets would have been nice), fab bathroom arrangment with bath & shower and a seperate shower! Impressive moves towards being more eco - towel changes etc. Huge Bed. Fab baloncy that faced south so sun most of the day.
Great view of the wonderful gardens that were a joy to walk thro to breakfast and the rest of the hotel complex.
We had not planned on staying in this bit of Funchal - we wanted the other hotel in the town but a mix up on our part caused us to book this instead - so the 30min walk into town had not been expected - however if you stick to the main road it's fine with lots of shade along the way.
The upgrade made up for the distance of walking!
Lots of off complex places to eat & drink so we only used the hotel for Breakfast and as we had kettle, fridge & coffee machine we were sorted the rest of the time too.
Some great local restaurants to go to - Maderia Grill over the road is well worth a visit - very good local food and very good prices.
The downsides to our stay - the large breakfast arrangment with all 3 hotels using 1 restaurant so it was a bit busy between 8 and 9, also the fact that it is a Time Share - yes they did send us an invite for a complementary drink which we avoided and managed to avoid the sales talk - although we saw quite a few folk being shown round. Also the chairs in the lounge area needed replacement and we noticed a sign on reception when we left indicating that some furniture was being upgraded the following week.
Great wifi reception in the reception areas - faster at The Residence.
Cleaning staff work very hard and do a wonderful job. Gardens and Bird Collection fab, Hotel cat very friendly. Never used the pools so cannot comment.

Room Tip: Ask for a Garden View
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about the Residence with so many holiday makers.
It is rewarding to know that you have enjoyed the facilities and services of Vila Porto Mare. Within our complex you can find four restaurants, different bars, pools and a lovely garden for the pleasure of our guests.

Really hope to welcome you in a near future,

With warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We have been staying here for 6 years now, twice a year for a fortnight each time, so obviously love the place. We always look forward to coming back. Porto Bay offer very good facilities and everything is maintained to a very high standard. All the staff are friendly and helpful and it is good to see the same faces each time we come. There is good evening entertainment, restaurants to suit most tastes and pockets, and immaculate kitchens, and the award-winning gardens are a plant-lovers delight.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms get the sun for nearly all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshireman464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
First off all THANK you for your loyalty to Porto Bay hotels,
I am very happy to know that you have had a another good stay in the residence.
Hope to welcome soon ,

With warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Arran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Did not disappoint - as ever, an excelllent hotel. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelacass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the Short but “excellent”, review posted on Tripadvisor.

Really hope to welcome you soon,

With warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Our apartment wasn't available to us until nearly 5pm on our day of arrival, which is unacceptable as we arrived at the resort at 11am and had to hang around for 6 hours. The maids work very fast and are very thorough but The Residence clearly needs to employ more of them on the apartment changeover days (usually Mondays). The old TVs had been replaced with modern flat screen models, which are good, but the reception on one of the three TVs in our apartment was was very poor. Also the door handle on the balcony door was nearly falling off. Otherwise the

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Thank you for the review posted on trip advisor. Please take god note that the nr of room maids is exactly the same as last year.Monday is the day with more arrivals and departures and the fact of a few aparts were not ready, sometimes as to be with the nr of people who leaves a bit later and delays the consequent jobs that needs to be done. I will take your comments in consideration and do everything possible to correct it.

Hope to see you in a near future,

With warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We bought a timeshare here (yes timeshare) in 2008 and have been back every year since. It deserves my 5* rating because everything about it is perfect. You have access to all of the facilities in the 2 adjoining hotels. Try to get a 3rd floor garden room for the best views and the most privacy

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jford53473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear Guest,

It is rewarding to know that you are still happy with your decision of being our guest for the next 7 years…also thank you for sharing that on TripAdvisor.

Really hope to welcome you in the future stays,

With warm regards,

Muito Obrigado,

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Our one bedroom apartment offered more than we expected & and an ideal place to relax. Very helpful staff, all the facilities on offer to meet the demands of most guests plus a courtesy bus 7 days a week into Funchal. Different restaurants offer good food freshly cooked in a nice atmosphere. Thoroughly enjoyed our 2 week stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank staplesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for your review about The Residence.

We are happy to learn that you had another positive holiday experience.

Hope to see you soon,

With best regards,

Muito Obrigado,

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,761 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence

Property: The Residence
Address: Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-566, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Funchal
#4 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying the west wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort, The Residence enjoys the use of all its facilities and a real sense of community. A wide selection of carefully furnished and fully equipped apartments where comfort is our motto. The 99 units divided into studios, one and two bedroom apartments are decorated with a touch of exoticism. The Residence apartments combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Residence Funchal
Porto Mare Residence Hotel Funchal
The Residence Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing