We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, great service”
Review of Pestana Grand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Pestana Grand
Ranked #15 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, great service”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Great big rooms, clean and up to date. Beautiful grounds with lovely pools. Super service! Including room cleaning service that went out of their way to help us (with a very small baby). Front desk also great. This hotel is not very close to Funchal center but we had a car and that was sufficient. Nice walks around the hotel. Very good value / price. Highly recommend if you are looking for something outside of city center.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Natalia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for visiting us and for leaving your feedback about your recent stay with us.
We were happy to read that, the hotel, facilities and the service provided from the team were up to your expectations and beyond. We hope you have had a good and safe flight back home and look forward for a future visit with your family.

With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,250
    509
    115
    24
    9
See reviews for
412
1,181
38
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (686)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Pestana Grand. This was our second stay at the Grand and again we cannot wait to return. We have had a great time.The staff are very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are very comfortable and relaxing, whilst the pools are surrounded by well maintained gardens. Our stay was on a bed and breakfast arrangement, but we bought a three meal deal and enjoyed a lovely Italian, Moroccan and Steak on the Stone meals in the hotel. The hotel is well positioned to enjoy views over the sea, or to take a walk to surrounding restaurants, particularly the Doca do Cavacas, a traditional fish restaurant. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us again.
We were happy to learn that, the whole experience with us was again successful and you had a great time at the Pestana Grand. We shall share all you feedback with our team in order to express our gratitude of welcoming you back. We hope to see you again in the future.

With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We love visiting every May in our lovely time share suite. Lovely gardens and pools but outdoor pool very cold in fact too cold for me. Indoor pool lovely but who wants to swim indoors on a hot sunny day. Also bathroom towels not very luxurious but these are small gripes. Great location with lots of eating places. We love it!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms quieter. Lots of lovely suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NannieSue12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is such a pleasure to read such a lovely review from a returning guest, there is no greater compliment to the hotel.
Your compliments about the service we provided to you were highly appreciated! Your comment was the best award that we can get.
We are currently working our way through the linen renovation which I hope will be an improvement on your next stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future

Warm regards
Miguel Grosse
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Excellent hotel with great views from most rooms,the back rooms do not have full sea views but partial views You look upon the town and over to the hills with a nice church on top so all is not bad. The room are large and comfortable, balcony with two cane chair and two cane sun loungers and table all you need . If you have west side of hotel you will get the afternoon sun until sets in the evening. Each room has small kitchen with kettle toaster pot and pans glasses cups plate etc for four all you need. The maid is in once a day to clean room they do good job (THANKS)..The hotel is well looked after clean and tidy and situated on cliff above the sea in an excellent position . There is a promenade walk in to Funchal this can be very nice but a few steep hills if you want an easier way in to funchal you can walk up to the lido and straight along the road passing many shops and restaurants ,it will take a good 30 /40 minutes The hotel runs a free bus to funchal every 30 minutes or so which is very good only take 5/10 minutes and drops you on water front small walk along front and you go up to your left and into main town.Food in hotel is good breakfast well worth it.Evening meal is nice but for the same price you could go to one of the many restaurants that is close by and pay same amount for what your choice is and not the hotels. I had one or two small problems at the start of holiday but those were well sorted by Sabina and her staff Well done to Guest relations. A problem is only a problem if know one can fix it but mine was handled very well. Again with all reviews the Wi Fi is a hit or miss in reception. Overall a great hotel i will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank danny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. The Team are always delighted to read such kind feedback and I am very lucky to work with them. As a Pestana hotel we strive to make sure people feel at home here and so there is no greater compliment.
Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back in a the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Miguek Grosse
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow, scotland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Just returned home from a fabulous weeks holiday in Madeira. The hotel is first class, really couldn't fault it. Great location, very clean, beautiful gardens, felt very safe too. Would probably not recommend it though for families with young children as there really is nothing for them to do. It is definitely geared towards older people but that's wonderful obviously if you don't have children with you which we didn't. Very peaceful and relaxing. My one and only gripe which I feel bad for saying because I don't want to be negative, but the old man making the omelettes in the morning is the most miserable person I have ever met, it's not nice to see someone so glum and extremely rude like that. He clearly shouldn't be out the front but behind the scenes somewhere. Awful man. Anyway everything else was fab and we would definitely go back here.

Room Tip: Pick a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lindsay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your experience of The lti Pestana Grand Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read of what a wonderful experience you had during your stay with us. It is enormously rewarding to provide the service we offer, then to receive such complimentary feedback.

I only hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Grand on a future visit.

As per Silvino, I sincerely hope you'll find a big difference on his atitude on your next visit.

Warm regards,
Miguel Grosse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Excellent hotel for an wonderful holiday in Madeira: great location (on the Promenade and Madeira Forum so there were plenty of shopping and eating facilities, bus station almost in front of the hotel, airport bus: 200m), excellent competent and extremely attentive service in all departments (reception, room service, breakfast), almost every hour complimentary shuttle to the center of Funchal (at Marina), spacious room (we actually got a update to a corner suite and that was gorgeous: 64m2, one bedroom, one living room, two balconies, one big bathroom and one guest toilet, great view: we could see both the mountain coast and Funchal), free wifi in the lobby, delicious qualitative breakfast, very good coffee (not always a default even in 5 stars hotels). We will definitely come again.

Room Tip: A room with a front sea view is gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dm742014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us for your holidays.
Our aim is to provide the best holiday experience, were glad we accomplished that with you.
We were happy to read that, the suite provided from us was well appreciated by you, making your holiday a memorable one.

With our kindest regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Wonderful wonderful hotel, friendly staff, excellent rooms, bar food was good - however we were room only so generally ate out.
Ocean view that took my breath away every morning.
Loads of sunbeds and parasols,
I will never tire of visiting this hotel

Room Tip: Rooms on 3 sides see the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ailsa32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your loyalty for the Pestana Grand.
We hope to continue to provide the service you praise so much.
With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,887 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 86 in Funchal
2,279 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#20 of 86 in Funchal
239 reviews
0.8 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#7 of 86 in Funchal
1,378 reviews
1.0 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Grand

Property: Pestana Grand
Address: Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#12 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#12 Business Hotel in Funchal
#15 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Grand is one of the best and most prestigious 5-start hotels in Funchal, Madeira and sits upon the Ponta da Cruz cliff with a view of the oceans and Cabo Girão. It is only 30 minutes on foot from Formosa beach and has direct access to Promenade do Lido, the famous promenade in Madeira. Surrounded by magnificent gardens is the island's largest outdoor saltwater swimming pool with views of the sea. The hotel has a Spa, with a Jacuzzi, sauna, gym, Turkish bath and even a panoramic indoor swimming pool, in addition to massages and/or spa treatments. For dining, guests can enjoy four restaurants and two bars. If you bring your family, the little ones can play in the lounge or the garden with a game zone. There is a free private car park (subject to availability). All rooms are spacious and bright, include Wi-Fi and have private balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, PESTANA MANAGEMENT – Serviços de Gestão S.A., Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pestana Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Grand Funchal
Hotel Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand Hotel
Pestana Grand Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing