We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice January break”
Review of Lti Pestana Grand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lti Pestana Grand
Ranked #16 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Okehampton
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice January break”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We chose this hotel due to a special offer from Qwerty travel & spent a week there on bed & breakfast basis. The hotel is quiet, well run and we had a nice sea view room on the 3rd floor. We found the local supermarkets very convenient as was the hotel shuttle bus into Funchal. Later we hired a car from the nearby Sixt office & were allowed to park it for free at the hotel. We didn't use many of the hotel facilities, as we spent most of our time out. The breakfast spread gives a good choice although we didn't like their coffee. The staff were very helpful & I would be happy to recommend the Pestana Grand for an out of season stay.

Room Tip: A sea viewroom is definately a bonus. Ours came as part of the special offer, so no supplement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretOkehampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Gerente de relações públicas at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us.
We were glad to read that, all facilities and services provided from us were up to your expectations. We wIll be more than happy to welcome you back
if you decided to return to our beautiful Madeira Island.

With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,210
    487
    111
    22
    9
See reviews for
390
1,141
37
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carsphairn
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We have always stayed 5* and this hotel was oneof the best we have stayed in. Location is great and the hotel is comfortable, clean and the facilities excellent. The spa is wonderful and the treatments excellent. Food superb and the staff always very helpful and cheerful - even the young 'apprentice' who had obviously just started but seemed so happy to be there. We will be returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathrynCarsphairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback.
We are very proud of the compliments you made towards our hotel as structure and specially about the service provided from our team.
We look forward to welcome you back, until there, we send our kind regards.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I realy loved this hotel. The location is superb, the hotel is spotless, the breakfast is outstanding but, above all, the staff is there to please you and NEVER have they shown anything but pleasure in complying with my requests. To top it all, I have requested a late check-out and they have complied with a smile. They make you feel welcome, and that is something... They have the perfect, though difficult to acheive, blend of class with a personal touch! I will certainly go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josemra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind words and for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at the lti Pestana Grand Hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and your comments have been shared amongst the team because it's these kind of comments that bring us forward to come to work everyday and deliver our outermost.
Looking forward yo host you in a not too distant future at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, we remain with
Kind regards
Miguel Grosse
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We have just had a great week at the Pestana Grand. very comfortable with really good facilities even if it was slightly too breezy to swim in the outside pool..the inside one (part outside) was lovely. We were so well looked after. Lovely room, breakfast was excellent, kind thoughtful staff - definitely going back. My very small moan is the useless wifi and having to log on every time but on holiday it was OK. Lovely walks and restaurants nearby and the free bus into Funchal much appreciated. Being a little out of Funchal meant the hotel was not over crowded in January.
Thank you Pestana Grand for a really good, relaxing week.

Room Tip: Side sea view on west side - lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crommers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your very positive comments on the Tripadvisor. The fact you have enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to give us your feedback is the best award we can get and that’s what makes work even harder to meet all our guests’ expectations! Thank you!

Miguel Grosse
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Il Pestana Grand is a big hotel, well situated on the southernmost point of Madeira and far enough from the main town of Funchal as to be away from the hustle and bustle. However the town is easily accessible by foot, regular service bus or the hotel's own bus service.
We arrived by aerobus from the airport, perhaps not the quickest but certainly the cheapest. However you do need to walk a short distance from the stop and you arrive at the hotel garden area first which can only be accessed by your room key card. Walk a little further to come direct to the hotel reception.
Reception staff are very efficient, speaking excellent English, whilst checking in you are offered a glass of Madeira wine, whilst your luggage is taken from you.
In a very short while you are in your large bedroom and your luggage arrives. The man takes the time to explain the mini bar and the safe to you.
Our room faced the sea and overlooked the well tended gardens, incidentally the gardeners were two ladies. Bed was a super king size being two singles. However there was a problem with them sliding apart, perhaps they could be strapped together ? Bathroom had bath, seperate shower, vanity basin, wc and bidet. Bathrobes and good size towels which were replaced frequently. Plenty of wardrobe space, a settee, table, desk and TV mini bar unit. Good size Balcony had two chairs. and a table. There was a kettle and tea/coffee. Strangely the large TV was a cathode ray type but there was BBC1 and ITV 1 amongst the channels on offer.

The hotel has three restaurants, although only one was open on each night whilst we were there, presumably because it wasn't busy enough to keep them all going. We did eat on our first night and the meal was excellent, stone grilled steak which you cook to your liking at the table. It was a little pricy however.
Breakfasts were probally the best I have eaten in Western Europe. Lovely fresh fruit including some unusual varieties. A good hot buffet and omelettes made to order. There was even a choice of 4 minute or 10 minute boiled eggs. Special mention must be made of the hotel maître di, he must have been born to the role but a lovely fellow.
As mentioned earlier there are beautiful gardens where you can eat breakfast if you wish and they have direct access through a locked gate to the cliff top promenade. Huge swimming pool although it was too cold in January. There is a reasonable heated indoor pool and small gym.
The hotel bar has two happy hours each night. Sports TV unobtrusively placed, they will turn it over to English football if you ask. Nighttime entertainment is also in the bar area. WI Fi is available in the bar and reception, ask for password in reception, connection can be a bit hit and miss depending on how many are logged on.

There is a small elephant in the room. Pestana chain like guests to sign up to regular stays in one of their many hotels, so they will encourage you to attend a presentation. However they are not at all pushy if say you are not interested.
The other slightly annoying thing was that there is a charge of €2.50 to replace you room's tea and coffee.

That apart the hotel is recommended, great position, excellent staff and very clean.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a sea view but there appears to only be one bank of lifts so a room close to the lif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BFGWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for your kind contribution and comments as well for your confidence in our services and staff at the lti Pestana Grand Hotel.
It was a pleasure looking after you whilst you stayed with us.
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and all went well.
Looking much forward to welcoming you again on any future visits to Madeira
Many thanks for your fantastic review about our beautiful hotel.
With kind regards
Miguel Grosse
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We booked this hotel for a week in January, and what a lovely week it was. Our flight arrived early and our transfer driver was at the airport holding up our names. Within half an hour we had checked in and were in our lovely sea view room. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. There is free WIFI in all the public areas. A shuttle bus into Funchal runs frequently there and back. The public bus stops just around the corner and costs 1.95€ each way nos. 1 or 2. We were on a bed and breakfast basis. The breakfast was excellent a very varied fruit table, excellent hot buffet, cold meats and cheeses, great variety of breads, spreads and juices and even wine. The service was good and efficient
The weather was so lovely we spent a lot of time around the pool although only a few people were brave enough to swim we did swim in the heated indoor pool where you can swim from inside to out. Our room was a delight with very comfortable beds, seating area and nice sized balcony facing the sea. We were pleasantly surprised to find a kettle etc. which was much appreciated early mornings. Our room was always cleaned by the time we returned from breakfast and a supervisor asked regularly if we were happy with the service.
We had quite a few lunches at the hotel which were fine and we ate one night at the hotel which was an excellent buffet. We mostly chose to eat just around the corner at My Way which was a lovely small restaurant run by John and Sara who were delightful hosts. There is another restaurant close by and others nearby. The Forum shopping centre is close by with a supermarket, various shops and fast food eateries.

Room Tip: We had room 1352 which faced the sea and had the sun from early until 4pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cruising18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your review on TA from your recent stay with us.
It’s always a nice feeling when we read reviews like yours. It makes the whole team feel very proud and we have succeeded in another mission.
We are so glad that you've enjoyed your stay and all went well.
We do hope we can welcome you back in a not too distant future, until then may we remian with every good wish,

Miguel Grosse
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The hotel has self-contained apartments within the hotel. We moved here after a week at the Pestana Carlton and rented for a week which was sufficient even though the kitchen was the smallest I have ever used but managed as long as you only wanted to make a cup of tea etc. Beautiful gardens and breathtaking views. No problems with sunbeds as we had our own sunlounger chairs on our balcony so did not have to try and get a sunbed.

Location is not near the Town Centre, but the hotel puts on a shuttle bus to the harbour and return which is very appreciated. Staffing was very good and we were always helped if unsure of anything. The gym was basic as well as swimming pool (indoor). Did not use any of their restaurants so cannot comment. Free use of computer in reception area if needed. Opposite the Forum Mall which has the usual shops etc. Local buses around the corner. The only negative was it was hilly this side of Funchal, so if your legs are not good be careful, as it could cause discomfort.

Room Tip: All the rentals get a fabulous sea view, the hotel I cannot speak for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cambridgetravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review.
I am so pleased to hear you've enjoyed your stay with us.
There is no greater compliment than to hear you would like to return and experience another great time for a couple of days.
We are all very great full for the good compliments you left and I remain with
Best regards
Miguel Grosse
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,765 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
2.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lti Pestana Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lti Pestana Grand

Property: Lti Pestana Grand
Address: Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#11 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#12 Business Hotel in Funchal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Lti Pestana Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LTI Pestana Grand, one of the best and most prestigious hotels in Madeira, is also undoubtedly one of the best located. Sitting at the top of the Ponta da Cruz seacliff, it provides a superb view of the Atlantic Ocean and Cabo Girão. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Lti Pestana Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Grand Funchal
Hotel Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand Hotel
Pestana Grand Madeira
Lti Pestana Grand Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing