We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So relaxing and comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lti Pestana Grand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lti Pestana Grand
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So relaxing and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

A great place for a relaxing holiday. Bedrooms are spacious and well laid out with excellent bathrooms. The public areas are plentiful and well furnished. Pools are lovely with plenty of sunbeds available. The restaurant did get crowded at times, but the food (particularly breakfast) was very good. Would recommend the Moroccan restaurant for a treat one evening. We also used the spa for a couple of treatments - all excellent. The service delivered was first class in all areas. We would hope to return one day and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MSimpson2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Once again, we would like to express our satisfaction in welcoming you and specially, to read that our facilities and services did meet your expectations. In my opinion, Au Tagine, our morrocan restaurant, is one of the most romantic restaurant in Funchal with excellent food provide from our morrocan Chef Mohammed Al Aagad. We hope to see you again one day, until there we remain with our kindest regards.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,166
    473
    105
    21
    9
See reviews for
368
1,110
35
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Bedrooms very spacious and well furnished. Good choice at breakfast and restaurant area was never crowded. Very nice pool area. Usually visited pool area in the afternoon and although busy, we were always able to get sunbeds; pool attendant was especially helpful. Staff very nice, although staff on pool bar/restaurant did not appear as friendly as the other staff. The only restaurant we ate in in the hotel was the Italian restaurant, which we felt was only average and over priced. The hotel is very quietly situated out of the main Funchal area, but it was walkable into the centre. Overall a nice stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for visiting us.
We were happy to know that overall, you did have a relaxed holiday with us.
We regret to hear your comment about our pool bar attitude and send you our sincere apologies, please be sure that these comments are shared with our departments.
We also regret that the experience at Trattoria de la Fontana, our italian restaurant was not to your expectations and will take good note of your comment.
Saying this, we hope you had a safe flight back home and hope that you revisit this beautiful Madeira Island.

With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Pestana hotel chain appears to place a very high priority around customer service and delivery. The hotel staff could not be faulted, any request which we made was dealt with swiftly. The hotel is in a great location overlooking the sea, with both indoor and outdoor swimming pool facilities. Unlike some hotels I have stayed in over the years, this one has an extensive selection of sun beds which renders the traditional rush "reservation process" at breakfast unnecessary!

Restaurants in the hotel (Arabic and Italian) offer delicious food, and there are also buffet events on every night provided on an "all you can eat" basis.

The best moment occurred on my birthday - after a long drive around the north of the island, we came back to our room to find a bottle of champagne awaiting us - a really nice touch.
Someone had obviously noted the details on my passport at check-in, and had made sure that this lovely surprise was waiting for us on return. Typical of the attention to detail that had marked this out as a very enjoyable holiday. I highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing and stress-free time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us for your holidays.
You are correct, we do our best to stand out in customer service, once again we were well suceed and are happy to provide you that.
Our morrocan and italian restaurant offers the best of cuisine of these countries.
Our highlight was also your comment about your birthday, well appreciated from us and we do like to provide detail service to our guests. We use a sentence between us well known and reminded once in a while from our Front Office Manager "Little things means a lot".
We look forward to welcome you back one day.

With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

What a superb holiday we had in September 2013. Can't wait to return. Cannot fault our holiday: all staff were excellent and so attentive without fail. Everyone made sure we had individual attention and were so helpful. A holiday to remember.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank petersholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us.
We are certainly very happy to read your comments, specially towards our staff and service provided. We do look forward to see you again.

With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evesham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have just returned from 11 days at this hotel and found it to be a lovely hotel. the location was good for us as we could take the courtesy bus if we wanted to go into Funchal. so the quieter location was perfect with pleasant strolls along the coastal path. We had wanted a sea view and that we certainly had as the views were amazing. We were greeted with a glass of Madeira wine and our cases were taken to our room immediately. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff were really lovely. we were invited to pick our favourite employee for their employee of the month but felt unable to do this as the staff were a great team and all so good that it seems unfair to pick just one. all in all a memorable experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank evesham5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for joining us.
We were glad to read that you past 11 relaxed days experienced a quiet location with stunning views to the city and ocean. We greet our guests with a glass of Madeira Wine and do our best to show them the way to the room. We would like to thank your compliments towards our staff and understand your point of view. We were happier to be considered all employees of the month, this means everyone was commited.

With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We've just had a wonderful couple of weeks at the Pestana Grand. As the only people checking in (and out) at the time, we were given a one-to-one service which took all of 10 minutes. We'd booked a sea-view room and were not disappointed! The view across the bay to Funchal was fantastic, everything we could have wished for. Sleeping with the balcony door open with the sound of the waves on the rocks was wonderful. The room was spotlessly clean when we arrived and its was cleaned every day by a very professional team of maids. When we asked for something for our room, it was there within minutes (even though on one occasion we said it wasn't important and could wait until the morning rounds). Yes, the water and the mini-bar were expensive, but we just went for a walk to the supermarket and saved a lot of money. The food was lovely (we were half-board). You could have almost anything you wanted for breakfast (I already miss my croissants and honey). My only gripe here was that I didn't like the vegetables served with the evening meal main course, but hey, I just had salad with my meat and fish instead. I certainly didn't go hungry! The waiting staff were very attentive and our table was cleaned immediately we stood up to get the next course. We didn't eat lunch in the hotel so can't make any comment on that. We also used the free bus into Funchal a couple of times. The pool area was not busy during our stay and was kept very clean. Regarding Wi-Fi - we didn't want it at all. We were there on holiday. Even though I run a business in the UK, I didn't want to be disturbed while I was away. If anyone needed me, they texted me and I answered every couple of days. So no, please don't put Wi-Fi everywhere.

Yes - we would definitely come back to the Grand and would recommend it to our friends.
No - I really wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone travelling with children.

Room Tip: Pay extra to guarantee a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, February 11, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us.
We're glad to know that, you had a nice experience with us and hope you take home memorable moments to last for life.
With kind regards to you and your family and wishes of welcoming you back.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We visited The Grand recently as Vacation Club members, arriving about 12.30pm. We were greeted with a glass of Madeira wine from the very pleasant desk staff. Our room was ready for occupation which was a bonus, as we were expecting to have to wait for a couple of hours. We were in a Studio apartment on the second floor with amazing sea views. The hotel in its entirety was kept incredibly clean by unobtrusive staff. Wifi was free but you had to be in or near reception to connect. Marion and her colleague in guest relations were incredibly helpful, presenting us with a bottle of Madeira wine and our discount card giving us ten per cent of all food and beverages and preferential rates off participating restaurants etc. We took advantage of this when she booked us into the Sabor da India for a curry. The restaurant owner picked us up in his own car, brought us back and 10% off to boot. Hows that for value. We also took a trip into town to celebrate my wife's birthday at Mozarts restaurant, and on returning found a bottle of champagne in our room from Guest Relations. There is a free shuttle bus into town and back on the hour, finishing about 7.30 in the evening. There are loads of places to eat nearby and in town. The food in the hotel looked very good but was on the expensive side. We prefer to eat what we want, where we want and when we want. We will certainly be returning, and would recommend the Grand to anyone.

Room Tip: Second floor or above and ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maurice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, February 18, 2015
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for choosing us.
With was a personal pleasure of ours to be part and provide a memorable holiday for you.
We hope you have taken good memories back home and hope to see you again in the future.

With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,667 reviews
0.6 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#11 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.7 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,921 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lti Pestana Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lti Pestana Grand

Property: Lti Pestana Grand
Address: Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#11 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#12 Business Hotel in Funchal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lti Pestana Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LTI Pestana Grand, one of the best and most prestigious hotels in Madeira, is also undoubtedly one of the best located. Sitting at the top of the Ponta da Cruz seacliff, it provides a superb view of the Atlantic Ocean and Cabo Girão. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Lti Pestana Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Grand Funchal
Hotel Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand Hotel
Pestana Grand Madeira
Lti Pestana Grand Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing