We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel, beautiful views and fantastic food!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Ranked #16 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed in this hotel at the beginning of July and it was a fantastic, relaxing stay. The Hotel itself is beautiful and decorated to a high standard. The gardens are well kept and the hotel was very clean with very friendly staff. We paid extra for sea views and we were not disappointed - well worth the money especially considering the other side of the hotel looks onto apartments and doesn't get the sun. Our rooms were beautiful, clean and very comfy beds. We were full board and again well worth the money, the food every morning was great! Breakfast had a great variety to suit all needs. Dinner was also great with lots of choice and different themes every night so it was never repetitive. We also ate in the steak restaurant which is definitely a must. the food was out of this world!

The only negatives I can think of was the dress code for dinner times. This was very inconsistent which is very annoying. We were turned away one night as my partner was wearing dress shorts instead of long trousers so he changed however when we came back down from our room and went back to dinner there were quite a few other men wearing shorts who weren't asked to change which was confusing. Also we had to pay 5 euros to borrow and iron and ironing board which I think in a five star hotel should be free of charge. I have never had to pay for this in any other hotel I have ever stayed in (even Premier Inns).

Overall this hotel was definitely a five star hotel and worth every penny but I would recommend paying the little extra for the sea view room.

Room Tip: Sea views is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, General Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review and for taking the time to share your experience.
The Team are always delighted to read such kind feedback and I am very lucky to work with them. As a Pestana hotel we strive to make sure people feel at home here and so there is no greater compliment.
It is always lovely when our guests enjoy eating in the restaurant and we very much hope to be able to tempt you back in the near future.
As per the dress code please note that we do ask, but sometimes we need to be flexible, since often guests don't bring trousers along with them.

Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back,

With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,950)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,139 - 1,145 of 1,950 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We've just returned from a two week stay and found the hotel perfectly located for nearby Funchal, the hotel offers a regular free courtesy bus which takes only a few moments. There are loads of nearby restaurants that are really fab, we must give special mention to The Real Canoa, situation just outside the hotel; the owner, Bruno, is fantastic as is the food.

Now to the hotel itself, fantastic well kept gardens, very clean throughout (although, sometimes the rooms weren't always cleaned as well as we'd like), very friendly staff; who amazed us by being very fluent in several languages, fantastic pool and spa area (treatments are a must). Overall a fab hotel but be aware of the so called mountain view rooms, we found ours to be a view of the opposite hotel and the main road with lots of noisy traffic. The 'mountain' was behind the opposite hotel and we saw only the very tip of it. Not pleased so made a complaint and I have to say the manager was great and moved us to a garden view, very nice :)

There are a few compromises though that are worth mentioning. Namely, the service at the pool bar at lunch time is terrible. It is meant to be table service but we, and many others, didn't find this consistent. Order at the bar to avoid waiting 30 minutes just to get a drink and for many guests, the frustration was only enhanced by a further 45 minute wait for food. This is especially the case on Mondays (change over day - avoid the hotel on this day, manic). We decided not to eat lunch at the hotel after three disappointing lunches and instead ate at the cafe just outside the back gates on the promendade. Similarly, we dined for dinner in the hotel once and found the food very average but very expensive. Thankfully, we were bed and breakfast because I didn't want to eat there again, the atmosphere isn't great either. Much preferred out many trips to local restaurants.

I have to mention the evening entertainment, very cheesy - typical 80s rubbish I've experienced on other holidays , live singer with songs like comacamelion (sorry is that's spelt incorrectly), wake me up before you go go. We gave this a very wide berth but were unfortunate to be located on the ground floor so were subjected to it until midnight. Avoid ground floor rooms if this isn't your thing.

Sorry, I've gone on a bit, the hotel really is good but thought the niggles needed mention. Madeira itself is wonderfully,very green and clean, they certainly are proud of their island and its great to witness. Jeep safari is a great way to see the island and have some fun at the same time. Would definitely visit Madiera again but may try another hotel next time.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, General Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us your review. We apologise for the things that you considered least good, but we were glad to know that despite your 'improvement list', you left us with a good impression and described the Grand as 'fantastic'!
We really wish that you give us the pleasure of welcoming you back soon so you can enjoy another great stay and testify all the improvements done.

With Every Good Wish
Maria da Paz Garcia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

the room is dirty,,, I did on my own manage easilly to wipe of the toothpaste from the former guest of the bathroom tiles... the rest of the bathroom realy needs a good clean...we did pay extra for a room with a see view and ended up on one of the ends vewing some see and mostly a neigbour hotel...and, for us the internet vere werry important... be aweare,,, they ddi charge you 9 euro a day extra for close to 0 internet in the room... I would for sure have picked any other hotel, just for the lack of internett,,, no wifi in the rooms,,, and 9 euros a day for some phony look a like conection,,, and the realy filthy romm as well... NOOT 5 star hotel in my mind!! Go for a cheaper moere in the money wort class... thats my 10 cents

Room Tip: finn noe bedre for det halve av prisen... her blir du snytt
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank HHL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My family and I went to this beautiful hotel in October 2011 (I can remember it like it was yesterday) We walked in and we were amazed by the grandness of it all, it was beautiful! The staff were extremely friendly, polite and made sure that all our needs were met. The rooms were spacious, clean, comfortable and we were able to get an upgraded room with a sea view - which was stunning! The food in the hotel was first class and very delicious. You could have whatever you wanted on the menu and we were never disappointed. The hotel has excellent spa and leisure facilities with an indoor/outdoor pool and 2 outdoor pools - which were very cold.

This is a 5* luxury accommodation, and mark my word 'luxury' is what it is!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, General Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind words and for taking the time to share your experience about your stay at the lti Pestana Grand Hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and your comments have been shared amongst the team because this kind of comments bring us forward to come to work everyday and deliver our outermost.

Maria da Paz Garcia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We (couple with children 1 and 5) were there in the first two weeks in July 2013 and had really nice, relaxed and enjoyable vacations. Everything worked out perfectly as we were booked to the presidential suite with a beautiful view and a very nice equipped suite and every possible amenities.

The hotel in general was very nice, not quite 5* in international comparison, but it was all made up by the 6* service we enjoyed. From the lobby to the room cleaners, the restaurants and the pool guys everybody was extraordinarily nice.
For Children there is a small pool and a play room, which is equiped with basic toys. Also the indoor pool is quite awesome for children.

We can recommend the Moroccan restaurant with its typical and authentic food. For us it was a really nice experience. Beside that there are some really nice fish restaurants in the closer area as well the bus and if necessary the taxis are very convenient to drive around.

As a last point I'd like to point out the SPA. I got the best ever massage since a very long time... A must if you have the time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C0sm0Kramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you had a memorable stay with us and have taken the time to give us your feedback.
It is always nice to read good comments about the team as they work tirelessly to make sure that each and every guest receives exceptional service so I am delighted that you felt that the hotel was great. I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and anything from the Island, please do not hesitate; I’ll be delighted to be of assistance.

With every good wish,
Maria da Paz Garcia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Pestana Grand could be your perfect destination depending on what you want out of your holiday. It was certainly perfect for us.

We wanted a quiet holiday to empty our head from work with nice surroundings and good weather and that's what we got. We stayed half board as it was the same price as B&B with Thompson and upgraded to a sea view room, a must.

I always hate the food in hotels with the exception of the Pestana Grand it was really very good. I think their evening buffet was good because they were catering for smaller numbers of people so the quality didn't suffer. The breakfast is very good and the prices in the bar are very reasonable, especially in happy hour.

The location is very quiet, about a 50 minute walk to Funchal which was a good way of walking off breakfast. We didn't use the free shuttle bus. It's also about an hour to Camara Da Lobos which is a lovely walk along the sea front. Tip: if you turn right at the yacht bar and walk along the road behind it and then take the first left, it saves you walking along the rocky beach.

We weren't impressed with the local restaurants near the hotel, the food is ok but nothing to write home about. The best restaurant we visited was the Taberna Da Esquina, the beef skewers were to die for, I also had the goat stew which was lovely.

All in all, if you want a lively hotel with lots of atmosphere, this is not the place for you. If, like us, you want a relaxing time in lovely surroundings with great views and wonderful staff the this is the place to go.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view, it really doesn't cost much extra and is worth it. Also we asked for a double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, General Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for your glowing review for the Pestana Grand Hotel on the TripAdvisor!
We are absolutely delighted that you chose our hotel for your trip to Madeira and even more so to hear that we met your expectations and that your holiday was such a success.
Thank you very much for your very positive comments. The fact you have enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to give us your feedback is the best award we can get and that’s what makes work even harder to meet all our guests’ expectations! Thank you!
I look forward to your next visit, where you may rest assured no efforts will be spared to make your next stay a most enjoyable and memorable one.

With every good wish
Maria da Paz Garcia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Fantastic hotel. Really good location. There are some fab restaurants very close by and the free shuttle bus is very regular into Funchal so you can dine further afield.

Breakfast buffet is varied and really good.... The omelette station especially!

We paid for an upgrade to a double room with a sea view which was well worth the extra money! The double bed was 2 large singles pushed together and made up singly... Which was ok but not perfect.

The pools were fantastic (the salt water pool was a particular favourite of ours) and the pool side bar was spot on for a bite for lunch.

Hotel staff were pleasant and friendly and the Thompson reps were very helpful (i definitely recommend the resort ramble!)

We loved this hotel so much we have booked to go back next June for our honeymoon!

A beautiful quiet, well placed hotel... Counting the days until we head back!

Room Tip: Spend a bit more and go for a sea view double room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, General Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for writing such a glowing and fantastic review.
I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
There is no greater compliment than to hear you would like to return and experience another great time with us for a couple of days.
We are all very great full for the good compliments you left and I look very much forward to welcome you on your honeymoon next June 2014,

Best Wishes
Maria da Paz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
2,972 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 88 in Funchal
2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#33 of 88 in Funchal
2,909 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
273 reviews
1.0 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort

Address: Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23 | São Martinho, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal (Formerly Pestana Grand)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#12 Business Hotel in Funchal
#13 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $97 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Grand is one of the best and most prestigious 5-start hotels in Funchal, Madeira and sits upon the Ponta da Cruz cliff with a view of the oceans and Cabo Girao. It is only 30 minutes on foot from Formosa beach and has direct access to Promenade do Lido, the famous promenade in Madeira. Surrounded by magnificent gardens is the island's largest outdoor saltwater swimming pool with views of the sea. The hotel has a spa, with a Jacuzzi, sauna, gym, Turkish bath and even a panoramic indoor swimming pool, in addition to massages and/or spa treatments. For dining, guests can enjoy four restaurants and two bars. If you bring your family, the little ones can play in the lounge or the garden with a game zone. There is a free private car park (subject to availability). All rooms are spacious and bright, include Wi-Fi and have private balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., TravelUp, Expedia, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Grand Funchal
Hotel Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand Hotel
Pestana Grand Madeira
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing