We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Our Ideal Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lti Pestana Grand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lti Pestana Grand
Ranked #16 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Medway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Our Ideal Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

A Peaceful location, helpful staff. The rooms were clean and well appointed although we had a number of plumbing problems which required a change of room. Excellent local walks and local restuarants. Breakfast was excellent with a wide range. We did not have dinner in the hotel as the menus were uninspiring to us and over priced and having been told by another couple that the food at the dinner buffet was not particularly good or very warm. We would certainly recommend this hotel but would suggest only book bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your opinion about your recent stay with us.
We were happy to know that you found at the Grand a relaxed place, with friendly staff.
We regret to hear that you did not give a shot to our buffet dinners based on someone else opinion, as well as not shared with us your dissatisfaction. However we value your comments and shall share with the department involved in order to improve our standards.
We hope you have had a safe flight back home and look forward to see you soon.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,116
    447
    94
    20
    8
See reviews for
352
1,046
34
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hatfield Heath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

If you want a peaceful location, with sea-views, luxurious apartments and excellent Indoor Health Club and Swimming Pool, then this is the ideal choice, especially in the Winter.
We go self-catering so appreciate both the Continental Supermarket and the Pinco Doci Supermarket being within walking distance.
Add to this the Hotel Courtesy Bus to and from Funchal sea-front together with the frequent no.2 bus-service and you have a perfect holiday.
We have our own mini-kitchen when we go so breakfast and lunch are no problem, with lots of excellent restaurants for evening meals
We never eat in at Hotels as we find the dedicated restaurants give better service and value.
Peter & Sheila

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your holiday experience with us.
The Grand has a particular location wich is appreciated by most of our guests as, biggest shopping centre is at walking distance, together with it's shops and supermarket. We are happy to hear that you enjoy staying here and you consider us, the best hotel in Funchal, which honestly make us very proud.
With wishes of a good year we present our kind regards.
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The pools are terrific. No charging to go in the indoor pool either. They run aqua classes on alternate days.
The in house restaurants are a good variation. The staff are all friendly, efficient and keen to please.
We have been back several times, its great

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joolzLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your loyalty to our hotel and group.
We are proud to know that we are still your choice for holidays and your comments towards our staff will be shared and appreciated.
We hope to see you soon.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very nice hotel,we did B&B and the breakfasts were very good,a big variety of cooked and continental style.
Ocean views from our balcony were fantastic and the room was spotless.
The hotel has a spa but we didn't use it.
The hotel provides a shuttle bus into Funchal,last one back is around 18:00,the journey is about 10 mins and its free.
Highly recommend this hotel,it's not a place for rowdy parties just a nice pleasant restful break.
On the doorstep you have promenade which runs for miles do take some walking shoes and expect some small hilly bits.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Izatequilafan!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
We were very happy to read that the views displayed and the room were up to your expectations. Our aim is mainly to provide, a quiet atmosphere away from day by day stress.
We hope you have had a nice and safe flight back home and we look forward to see you in our beautiful island.
Yours sincerely
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretona de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel was rated as five stars, but I suspect that's only in comparison to other Madeira hotels, as I would give it a maximum of three stars. There's nothing special about it and the service wasn't that helpful or friendly (shuttle drivers could be rude, restaurant staff were imperious, the cleaners did a half-hearted job in the room, the cleaning people on our last day repeatedly rang the bell as though to hurry us to leave, and no one thanked us for coming or asked if we had enjoyed the stay). There were no vegetarian options (bean dishes at dinner had meat in them, for example) and the restaurant expected you to use the same utensils at the buffet for meat and vegetable dishes (and they also used the same pan and utensils at breakfast to make meat and veg omelettes). I also didn't like that the shuttle stopped so early in the day and that the shuttle could be crowded with guests from other hotels. Sure, the room was fairly large and it had a kettle, and the hotel had indoor and outdoor pools, but I didn't think it was distinguished in any way, and I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank veggiedyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear guest,
It was with deep concearn that we read the comments and faults pointed out and we deeply regret that, we did not manage to correspond to your expectations as building and service.
Great surprise to us was also your comment about our staff behaviour, which is not the feedback we usual receive from our customers.
We shall share your opinion with them and reflect in how can we improve.
We will improve and prepare with our chef, a wieder variety of diets to be available to our guests, specially in busy Seasons as was the Christmas and New Year.
Regarding the cleanliness of your room, once again we apologise and regret not to be informed and, in this way could have also changed for a different time.
I regret we did not have the chance to be informed by you when while staying with us, to deal and improve all these points you mention.
Saying this, we send our sincere apologies for not corresponding to your expectations in such a special season as it is Christmas and hope to have the pleasure of welcome you back in the future.
With kind regards and wishes of a Happy New Year
Yours sincerely
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Room with a view facing west over the Arlantic providing a relaxing sunset each evening enjoying wine and snacks on our balcony. The staff, especially Owner's Relations was great in helping us create an itinerary for the week on island tours and meal options. Our first evening was the only night we had dinner on sight; there are plenty of other options nearby and in town either direction. You can begin or end your evening in the lounge downstairs with entertainment every night.
The promenade allowed a convenient walk in either direction to downtown Funchal or Camara de lobos. Convenient transportation to downtown Funchal as well (walk one way, ride the other?).
All common areas were clean and had nice decor. Our unit had everything we needed during the week, however for such a nice place, some of the finishes were lacking (older non flat screen TVs, no wi-fi access in unit). There was a minor insect problem that staff responded to quickly - I'm guessing this is a common occurrence since insects/ants is listed on a drop down box in the online survey from the resort.
It was off-peak season and our first visit to Madeira...most of our time during the day was off site. We didn't use nearly all the amenity the resort has to offer (pool, fitness center, spa, etc.). Hopefully the opportunity will allow itself in the future.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ktkadish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing lti Pestana Grand Hotel.
We were glad to learn that you enjoyed the room and views to the Atlantic Sea.
Our hotel was built in a year that the flat Tv's were being built, however the future is for a change for flat's. Regarding the internet in the whole hotel, we've been experienced some tecnical problems and it is our aim to have wifi fully operating at the Pestana Grand soon.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is a good quality hotel, with efficient, discreet, attentive staff and good facilities. Both our room and the public areas were smart and very clean. We enjoyed the indoor swimming pool and the gym, but did not try any spa treatments. We were slightly disappointed with the gardens, which were very neat, and pleasant enough, but not as 'tropical and lush' as those at the Miramar where we also stay. We had 2 young teenagers with us, and made good use of the Madeira Forum shopping centre which is close by. The kids were able to visit on their own to 'hang out' (visit McDonalds, buy coffees, do clothes shopping), and we were able to see the newly released Skyfall movie at the Cinema there. Also recommend the walks along the seafront, into Funchal or to Camara dos Lobos. We have been visiting Madeira for 12 years and always feel safe, and the climate is good. Don't understand why more families don't go.

Room Tip: We had a 2-bedroom apartment that wrapped around the end of the building with lovely views on all si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing the lti Pestana Grand Hotel for visiting Madeira.
The compliments you made towards both our facilities and staff make us feel proud, our aim is certainly to provide all our guests a good holiday in a friendly atmosphere.
The gardens in the Grand and all the layout of the hotel is different, having also a different target on the type of hotel that guests choose to stay. Besides, due to proximity of the Ocean, the salt would not let the type of threes and flowers existing in Miramar to survive at our hotel.
We hope you have an excelent New Years together with your family and we certainly look forward to welcome you back soon.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.6 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,519 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#11 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
0.7 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#8 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lti Pestana Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lti Pestana Grand

Property: Lti Pestana Grand
Address: Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#11 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#12 Business Hotel in Funchal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Lti Pestana Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LTI Pestana Grand, one of the best and most prestigious hotels in Madeira, is also undoubtedly one of the best located. Sitting at the top of the Ponta da Cruz seacliff, it provides a superb view of the Atlantic Ocean and Cabo Girão. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Lti Pestana Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Grand Funchal
Hotel Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand Hotel
Pestana Grand Madeira
Lti Pestana Grand Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing