We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Comfortable accommodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lti Pestana Grand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lti Pestana Grand
Ranked #15 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable accommodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Room with a view facing west over the Arlantic providing a relaxing sunset each evening enjoying wine and snacks on our balcony. The staff, especially Owner's Relations was great in helping us create an itinerary for the week on island tours and meal options. Our first evening was the only night we had dinner on sight; there are plenty of other options nearby and in town either direction. You can begin or end your evening in the lounge downstairs with entertainment every night.
The promenade allowed a convenient walk in either direction to downtown Funchal or Camara de lobos. Convenient transportation to downtown Funchal as well (walk one way, ride the other?).
All common areas were clean and had nice decor. Our unit had everything we needed during the week, however for such a nice place, some of the finishes were lacking (older non flat screen TVs, no wi-fi access in unit). There was a minor insect problem that staff responded to quickly - I'm guessing this is a common occurrence since insects/ants is listed on a drop down box in the online survey from the resort.
It was off-peak season and our first visit to Madeira...most of our time during the day was off site. We didn't use nearly all the amenity the resort has to offer (pool, fitness center, spa, etc.). Hopefully the opportunity will allow itself in the future.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ktkadish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing lti Pestana Grand Hotel.
We were glad to learn that you enjoyed the room and views to the Atlantic Sea.
Our hotel was built in a year that the flat Tv's were being built, however the future is for a change for flat's. Regarding the internet in the whole hotel, we've been experienced some tecnical problems and it is our aim to have wifi fully operating at the Pestana Grand soon.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,079
    426
    90
    18
    7
See reviews for
338
1,005
33
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is a good quality hotel, with efficient, discreet, attentive staff and good facilities. Both our room and the public areas were smart and very clean. We enjoyed the indoor swimming pool and the gym, but did not try any spa treatments. We were slightly disappointed with the gardens, which were very neat, and pleasant enough, but not as 'tropical and lush' as those at the Miramar where we also stay. We had 2 young teenagers with us, and made good use of the Madeira Forum shopping centre which is close by. The kids were able to visit on their own to 'hang out' (visit McDonalds, buy coffees, do clothes shopping), and we were able to see the newly released Skyfall movie at the Cinema there. Also recommend the walks along the seafront, into Funchal or to Camara dos Lobos. We have been visiting Madeira for 12 years and always feel safe, and the climate is good. Don't understand why more families don't go.

Room Tip: We had a 2-bedroom apartment that wrapped around the end of the building with lovely views on all si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing the lti Pestana Grand Hotel for visiting Madeira.
The compliments you made towards both our facilities and staff make us feel proud, our aim is certainly to provide all our guests a good holiday in a friendly atmosphere.
The gardens in the Grand and all the layout of the hotel is different, having also a different target on the type of hotel that guests choose to stay. Besides, due to proximity of the Ocean, the salt would not let the type of threes and flowers existing in Miramar to survive at our hotel.
We hope you have an excelent New Years together with your family and we certainly look forward to welcome you back soon.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north staffordshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We spent 2 weeks at this hotel from 19th November to 3rd December. It has well kept gardens and very smart guest areas. There is direct access onto the promenade which leads almost to Funchal in one direction and Camara de Lobos in the other so is ideally placed for walking. As the hotel was very quiet we often had the indoor pool to ourselves. This is our 2nd visit and we will return as it is so peaceful and in a lovely situation. All the staff from the reception to the cleaners are pleasant and helpful.. The view from our 3rd floor balcony was stunning so choose a sea view room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pianofinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for visiting us again!
Were glad that we still have what it takes to provide you a nice and relaxed holidays.
We wish to you and your family a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.
We look forward to see you again between us.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I have been visiting this hotel since new and the quality of furnishings is still as good as when built. The cleaners change towels and bedding more frequently than any other hotel I have ever stayed in. There is always a quiet corner where you can find peace to read a book. Very few children stay in this hotel which means the peace is never interrupted. The views are spectacular both towards the mountains and to the sea. The frequency of both the hotel bus and the public bus is reliable. The only drawback is the price of the restaurants in the hotel but there are plenty of other restaurants nearby which offer cheaper meals.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South West side offer good views of the sea and also the mountains. They get the evenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for visiting us.
We were glad to hear from you that, the Grand still have the facilities and environment to provide you a relaxed holiday. Even with all the efforts we made, regarding the F&B services we found it really hard to compete with the services provided outside of the Hotel, which are many.
We hope to see you many more times at the Grand, until there we send our sincere regards and wishes of a saint Christmas and a Happy New Year to you and all your family.
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had a fantastic week staying at the Pestana Grand despite the bad weather, the week turned out to be half term, and the swimming pool in the spa was used by children playing games, but the spa was great, the hotel immaculate, the room was so clean and cleaned often with clean towels. I would love to go back - the outside pool was great, but unfortunately due to the weather we could only swim in it once. We enjoyed the "happy hour" and then a walk to a local restaurant for a lovely meal, We cant comment on the food as we didnt take advantage of the hotel food at all. We brought our breakfasts from the local supermarket and enjoyed eating this on the balcony. THe free bus into Funchal each day made it such a pleasure to go into Funcal, although you should walk at least once. THank you Pestana, a great holiday.

Room Tip: Sea Facing Rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for joining us.
We were glad to know that the facilities and service provided in general at lti Pestana Grand Hotel were up to your standard and satisfaction. Madeira itself is known by its microclimate, which it is possible to experience rain and sun at the same day.
We hope you had a safe flight back home and wish to see you soon in Madeira.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel. Good value as we were there in low season. Upgrading to a seaview room is definitely worth it. Rooms are quite big and clean. Staff were friendly. Breakfast was excellent. Drinks etc in hotel were expensive but there are lots of bars and restaurants around. There is a free shuttle bus into Funchal which takes about 10 mins and a taxi is 7 euro.
Was disappointed in the massage I had in the hotel but otherwise j would recommend the hotel to all ages.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie1081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
The Grand is located in a priviledge area and nice views to the sea can be achieved, specially from our front sea rooms.
I regret to hear that you were not satisfied with the service provided at our Health Club, next time we would appreciate if you could inform us what happened.
With Wishes of Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool england, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay at The Pestana Grand.
A wonderful hotel. Very clean, organised and staffed by wonderfully friendly and helpful staff.
Our suite, room 2021 was immaculate, very spacious and had 2 balconies both with excellent sea views.
Bed very comfy and bedlined changed frequently during our stay.Our chambermaid was wonderful. looked after us so well and became 'a friend'..........
Breakfast was sensational... so much variety . and even had sparkling wine to offer.Greatly appreciated as we were on honeymoon.
Flowers, bowl of fruuit and a bottle of bubbly on ice on our arrival, then flowers from our wonderful Classic Collection rep.
We stayed half board and the evening meal was fine, but alas not as much seafood offered as we thought there might be.Not a problem though as there were plenty of options to choose from.
There is an excellent seafood restaurant on the 'prommenade' to the right of the hotel nr to the supermarket.
Supermarkets are cheap and wonderfully stocked for wine, beer etc.We used 2 .. the one beforementioned and the one in the shopping centre up the hill.Aprox 5 mins walk away.
Lots of pools to choose from, and no sunbed 'hugging' at all.Pool areas also immaculate.
Reception staff very helpful, and always polite and smiling.
A good tip is to book a taxi to take you on a tour.We did this twice... One a full day.. She picked us up at 10am and we returned at 5.30pm. Cost 120e... which we enjoyed greatly.Our driver Theresa spoke excellent English, and was a fountain of local knowledge.And a great personality.Ask for her she is fantastic.Took us to a great place for lunch.... we liked her so much we asked her to join us.
Worth a visit is the market in Funchal, bit overpriced but worth it for the experience.Fruits I have never heard of !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
We walked into Camara da Lobos... took about an hour, but worth it.
A lovely fishing village. BEWARE though.. the cafes on the side of the harbour are VERY expensive. 2 orange juices cost us over 10euros.Better to go behind into the back streets. Look at the litle fishermans chapel, and grab a drink at BAR FILHOS D'MAR... inexpensive and they cant do enough for you.. even posted our postcards for us.
All in all we loved Madeira, the people, the food.
BUT The Pestana Grand made our holiday and I would certainly reccommend it.We hope to return in the spring.
By the way.. the weather .... 5-12th Nov was wonderful.. we came home tanned. and very happy.
Thanks to all the Pestana Grand team.....

Room Tip: 2012, a suite.HUGE large longe, large bathroom and lovely bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for joining us. It was with pleasure that we received you in a such special occasion as honeymoon is. The best you can take from your holidays, is when all environment combined result in your total satisfaction, i'm glad we accomplish that. It is a plus for us to hear such nice comments regarding our staff in general, and attention to detail. We all hoped that you have taken with you good memories to last and to remind in your future.
Wishing you all the best.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.6 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 2,429 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.2 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#13 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,018 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lti Pestana Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lti Pestana Grand

Property: Lti Pestana Grand
Address: Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#7 Family Hotel in Funchal
#11 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#12 Business Hotel in Funchal
#15 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Lti Pestana Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LTI Pestana Grand, one of the best and most prestigious hotels in Madeira, is also undoubtedly one of the best located. Sitting at the top of the Ponta da Cruz seacliff, it provides a superb view of the Atlantic Ocean and Cabo Girão. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Lti Pestana Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Grand Funchal
Hotel Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand Hotel
Pestana Grand Madeira
Lti Pestana Grand Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing