We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely hotel in beautiful location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lti Pestana Grand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lti Pestana Grand
Ranked #15 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
north staffordshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We spent 2 weeks at this hotel from 19th November to 3rd December. It has well kept gardens and very smart guest areas. There is direct access onto the promenade which leads almost to Funchal in one direction and Camara de Lobos in the other so is ideally placed for walking. As the hotel was very quiet we often had the indoor pool to ourselves. This is our 2nd visit and we will return as it is so peaceful and in a lovely situation. All the staff from the reception to the cleaners are pleasant and helpful.. The view from our 3rd floor balcony was stunning so choose a sea view room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pianofinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for visiting us again!
Were glad that we still have what it takes to provide you a nice and relaxed holidays.
We wish to you and your family a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.
We look forward to see you again between us.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,116
    447
    94
    20
    8
See reviews for
352
1,046
34
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I have been visiting this hotel since new and the quality of furnishings is still as good as when built. The cleaners change towels and bedding more frequently than any other hotel I have ever stayed in. There is always a quiet corner where you can find peace to read a book. Very few children stay in this hotel which means the peace is never interrupted. The views are spectacular both towards the mountains and to the sea. The frequency of both the hotel bus and the public bus is reliable. The only drawback is the price of the restaurants in the hotel but there are plenty of other restaurants nearby which offer cheaper meals.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South West side offer good views of the sea and also the mountains. They get the evenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for visiting us.
We were glad to hear from you that, the Grand still have the facilities and environment to provide you a relaxed holiday. Even with all the efforts we made, regarding the F&B services we found it really hard to compete with the services provided outside of the Hotel, which are many.
We hope to see you many more times at the Grand, until there we send our sincere regards and wishes of a saint Christmas and a Happy New Year to you and all your family.
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had a fantastic week staying at the Pestana Grand despite the bad weather, the week turned out to be half term, and the swimming pool in the spa was used by children playing games, but the spa was great, the hotel immaculate, the room was so clean and cleaned often with clean towels. I would love to go back - the outside pool was great, but unfortunately due to the weather we could only swim in it once. We enjoyed the "happy hour" and then a walk to a local restaurant for a lovely meal, We cant comment on the food as we didnt take advantage of the hotel food at all. We brought our breakfasts from the local supermarket and enjoyed eating this on the balcony. THe free bus into Funchal each day made it such a pleasure to go into Funcal, although you should walk at least once. THank you Pestana, a great holiday.

Room Tip: Sea Facing Rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for joining us.
We were glad to know that the facilities and service provided in general at lti Pestana Grand Hotel were up to your standard and satisfaction. Madeira itself is known by its microclimate, which it is possible to experience rain and sun at the same day.
We hope you had a safe flight back home and wish to see you soon in Madeira.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel. Good value as we were there in low season. Upgrading to a seaview room is definitely worth it. Rooms are quite big and clean. Staff were friendly. Breakfast was excellent. Drinks etc in hotel were expensive but there are lots of bars and restaurants around. There is a free shuttle bus into Funchal which takes about 10 mins and a taxi is 7 euro.
Was disappointed in the massage I had in the hotel but otherwise j would recommend the hotel to all ages.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie1081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
The Grand is located in a priviledge area and nice views to the sea can be achieved, specially from our front sea rooms.
I regret to hear that you were not satisfied with the service provided at our Health Club, next time we would appreciate if you could inform us what happened.
With Wishes of Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool england, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay at The Pestana Grand.
A wonderful hotel. Very clean, organised and staffed by wonderfully friendly and helpful staff.
Our suite, room 2021 was immaculate, very spacious and had 2 balconies both with excellent sea views.
Bed very comfy and bedlined changed frequently during our stay.Our chambermaid was wonderful. looked after us so well and became 'a friend'..........
Breakfast was sensational... so much variety . and even had sparkling wine to offer.Greatly appreciated as we were on honeymoon.
Flowers, bowl of fruuit and a bottle of bubbly on ice on our arrival, then flowers from our wonderful Classic Collection rep.
We stayed half board and the evening meal was fine, but alas not as much seafood offered as we thought there might be.Not a problem though as there were plenty of options to choose from.
There is an excellent seafood restaurant on the 'prommenade' to the right of the hotel nr to the supermarket.
Supermarkets are cheap and wonderfully stocked for wine, beer etc.We used 2 .. the one beforementioned and the one in the shopping centre up the hill.Aprox 5 mins walk away.
Lots of pools to choose from, and no sunbed 'hugging' at all.Pool areas also immaculate.
Reception staff very helpful, and always polite and smiling.
A good tip is to book a taxi to take you on a tour.We did this twice... One a full day.. She picked us up at 10am and we returned at 5.30pm. Cost 120e... which we enjoyed greatly.Our driver Theresa spoke excellent English, and was a fountain of local knowledge.And a great personality.Ask for her she is fantastic.Took us to a great place for lunch.... we liked her so much we asked her to join us.
Worth a visit is the market in Funchal, bit overpriced but worth it for the experience.Fruits I have never heard of !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
We walked into Camara da Lobos... took about an hour, but worth it.
A lovely fishing village. BEWARE though.. the cafes on the side of the harbour are VERY expensive. 2 orange juices cost us over 10euros.Better to go behind into the back streets. Look at the litle fishermans chapel, and grab a drink at BAR FILHOS D'MAR... inexpensive and they cant do enough for you.. even posted our postcards for us.
All in all we loved Madeira, the people, the food.
BUT The Pestana Grand made our holiday and I would certainly reccommend it.We hope to return in the spring.
By the way.. the weather .... 5-12th Nov was wonderful.. we came home tanned. and very happy.
Thanks to all the Pestana Grand team.....

Room Tip: 2012, a suite.HUGE large longe, large bathroom and lovely bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for joining us. It was with pleasure that we received you in a such special occasion as honeymoon is. The best you can take from your holidays, is when all environment combined result in your total satisfaction, i'm glad we accomplish that. It is a plus for us to hear such nice comments regarding our staff in general, and attention to detail. We all hoped that you have taken with you good memories to last and to remind in your future.
Wishing you all the best.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

we chose this hotel because of the salt water pools, it was an excellent choice , as Funchal seemed to be constantly shrouded in dark clouds, we were bathed in brilliant sunshine in Ponta da Cruz . Good restaurants within walking distance and very helpful staff made this hotel a very good choice. it was also very peaceful and spacious,breakfast was excellent and Carmina in reception was really very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank U3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for joining us!
We truly believe that the Grand is located in a privilege area with the most amazing views to sunset, among with a peaceful atmosphere near to the promenade.
We will share you good recomendations with our staff, specially with Carmina.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have just returned from our holiday at Pestana Grand. We had a great holiday there, from the time of check-in to check-out. Having read previous reviews the hotel lived up to the high expectations. We would like to praise the excellent chef that took charge of the cooking station at breakfast. The hotel was very busy but he cooked the individual orders promptly and to perfection every time. He was always very polite and at less busy moments he had time to chat to us. I feel the negative comments about him from previous reviews are completely unfair and the comment that the eggs were cold leaves us at a complete loss as they are freshly cooked to order and come from an omlete pan or hotplate straight onto your plate. How can they be cold! He should be commended by the hotel for the excellent service that he provdes.

Room Tip: Pick a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fill-up-Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for giving us your feedback regarding your stay with us.
We will certainly pass the message to Mr. Silvino, our chef in charge of the cooking station and i'm sure that he will be happy to hear this from you.
We were glad that all the facilities and services provided lived up to your expectations providing you a relaxed holiday.
We look forward to welcome you soon again.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.6 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,519 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#11 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
0.7 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#8 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lti Pestana Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lti Pestana Grand

Property: Lti Pestana Grand
Address: Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
#11 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#12 Business Hotel in Funchal
#15 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Lti Pestana Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LTI Pestana Grand, one of the best and most prestigious hotels in Madeira, is also undoubtedly one of the best located. Sitting at the top of the Ponta da Cruz seacliff, it provides a superb view of the Atlantic Ocean and Cabo Girão. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lti Pestana Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Grand Funchal
Hotel Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand Hotel
Pestana Grand Madeira
Lti Pestana Grand Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing