We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT..highly reccommended.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Ranked #15 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay at The Pestana Grand.
A wonderful hotel. Very clean, organised and staffed by wonderfully friendly and helpful staff.
Our suite, room 2021 was immaculate, very spacious and had 2 balconies both with excellent sea views.
Bed very comfy and bedlined changed frequently during our stay.Our chambermaid was wonderful. looked after us so well and became 'a friend'..........
Breakfast was sensational... so much variety . and even had sparkling wine to offer.Greatly appreciated as we were on honeymoon.
Flowers, bowl of fruuit and a bottle of bubbly on ice on our arrival, then flowers from our wonderful Classic Collection rep.
We stayed half board and the evening meal was fine, but alas not as much seafood offered as we thought there might be.Not a problem though as there were plenty of options to choose from.
There is an excellent seafood restaurant on the 'prommenade' to the right of the hotel nr to the supermarket.
Supermarkets are cheap and wonderfully stocked for wine, beer etc.We used 2 .. the one beforementioned and the one in the shopping centre up the hill.Aprox 5 mins walk away.
Lots of pools to choose from, and no sunbed 'hugging' at all.Pool areas also immaculate.
Reception staff very helpful, and always polite and smiling.
A good tip is to book a taxi to take you on a tour.We did this twice... One a full day.. She picked us up at 10am and we returned at 5.30pm. Cost 120e... which we enjoyed greatly.Our driver Theresa spoke excellent English, and was a fountain of local knowledge.And a great personality.Ask for her she is fantastic.Took us to a great place for lunch.... we liked her so much we asked her to join us.
Worth a visit is the market in Funchal, bit overpriced but worth it for the experience.Fruits I have never heard of !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
We walked into Camara da Lobos... took about an hour, but worth it.
A lovely fishing village. BEWARE though.. the cafes on the side of the harbour are VERY expensive. 2 orange juices cost us over 10euros.Better to go behind into the back streets. Look at the litle fishermans chapel, and grab a drink at BAR FILHOS D'MAR... inexpensive and they cant do enough for you.. even posted our postcards for us.
All in all we loved Madeira, the people, the food.
BUT The Pestana Grand made our holiday and I would certainly reccommend it.We hope to return in the spring.
By the way.. the weather .... 5-12th Nov was wonderful.. we came home tanned. and very happy.
Thanks to all the Pestana Grand team.....

Room Tip: 2012, a suite.HUGE large longe, large bathroom and lovely bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for joining us. It was with pleasure that we received you in a such special occasion as honeymoon is. The best you can take from your holidays, is when all environment combined result in your total satisfaction, i'm glad we accomplish that. It is a plus for us to hear such nice comments regarding our staff in general, and attention to detail. We all hoped that you have taken with you good memories to last and to remind in your future.
Wishing you all the best.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,945)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,215 - 1,221 of 1,947 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

we chose this hotel because of the salt water pools, it was an excellent choice , as Funchal seemed to be constantly shrouded in dark clouds, we were bathed in brilliant sunshine in Ponta da Cruz . Good restaurants within walking distance and very helpful staff made this hotel a very good choice. it was also very peaceful and spacious,breakfast was excellent and Carmina in reception was really very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank U3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for joining us!
We truly believe that the Grand is located in a privilege area with the most amazing views to sunset, among with a peaceful atmosphere near to the promenade.
We will share you good recomendations with our staff, specially with Carmina.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have just returned from our holiday at Pestana Grand. We had a great holiday there, from the time of check-in to check-out. Having read previous reviews the hotel lived up to the high expectations. We would like to praise the excellent chef that took charge of the cooking station at breakfast. The hotel was very busy but he cooked the individual orders promptly and to perfection every time. He was always very polite and at less busy moments he had time to chat to us. I feel the negative comments about him from previous reviews are completely unfair and the comment that the eggs were cold leaves us at a complete loss as they are freshly cooked to order and come from an omlete pan or hotplate straight onto your plate. How can they be cold! He should be commended by the hotel for the excellent service that he provdes.

Room Tip: Pick a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fill-up-Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for giving us your feedback regarding your stay with us.
We will certainly pass the message to Mr. Silvino, our chef in charge of the cooking station and i'm sure that he will be happy to hear this from you.
We were glad that all the facilities and services provided lived up to your expectations providing you a relaxed holiday.
We look forward to welcome you soon again.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Hotel set in lovely grounds about 25 minutes from the airport. Wonderful friendly staff that nothing was too much bother for. Look out for Eduardo in the dining area, most charming and superbly efficient.

The room we had, with partial sea view, was spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. The peace and quite was lovely and we slept with the patio door open as it was so warm. The air con did work but too noisy for us to sleep through. The fridge was useful as was the digital safe.

We stayed with bed & breakfast but did sample the hotel restaurant one evening. Breakfast is fantastic and the choice wonderful, my favourite was the freshly cooked omelette. The evening meal was a bit of a let down being a buffet, plenty of choice but quality was lacking for us especially at over 60 euros. The bar pool snacks were good as well as the daily specials, Thai green curry being excellent.

Happy hour between 6 & 7 each night was good particularly when you could get two for one cocktails.

The pool area was lovely and the whole complex was kept immaculately clean and well manicured.

We took advantage of the spa by having full body massages which were great and very relaxing.

Having a free shuttle bus into Funchal meant you didn't feel too far away from anything. If you missed the shuttle the public bus is just up the road a little way and is cheap.

There is shopping mall a short walk away with just about anything you need. Plenty of restaurants in easy distance and a lovely promenade in front of the hotel.

I will be vey surprised if we don't go back next year!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank bwgrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Guest,
First of all, thank you very much for joining us!
Your feedback help to find out in which ways or areas we can improve our services in order provide you the best holiday experience. I regret to hear that the A/C was noisy in your room, we will keep that in mind for your next visit and please if that happens so, let us know.
We have been changed and updating our evening meals for several times, our aim is to fulfill all our guests desire, let's see if we can achieve that.
Thank you very much for your compliments on Mr. Eduardo and staff in general, message will be passed onto them.
We all hope you have had a safe flight back home and expect to welcome you back again to our hotel.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

4 day break flying with easy jet at this wonderfully situated hotel on the west wide of funchal. approx 25 mins from airport by car. booked room and breakfast. buffet breakfast was one of the best we have experienced with an extensive choice. wonderful to be able to sit outside looking at the ocean by swimming pool each morning in october. grounds are gorgeous with many exotic plants and bird-life. hotel has access to a promenade for walks into funchal and in the opposite direction towards the fishing village. wonderfully safe and picturesque in either direction, but some steep paths to negotiate. lit at night and seems very safe.

we both commented on the peace and tranquility at the pestana, sitting on the balcony during the day and at night. the only sounds were of the lapping water in the swimming pool and no traffic sounds or noise from surrounding buildings. the balcony was large with wicker chairs and table.

the room was very good, with sofa and chair, kingsize bed, desk chest and large wardrobe space with safe. bathroom had separate shower cubicle and bath, with marble floor. bathrobes were provided, but no slippers. shower was powerful and the wall hairdryer was adequate. shower gel,shampoo and body lotions were provided. towels were plentiful and replaced on request.

the room had a fridge with complimentary fruit juice, beer and coke on arrival. bottles of water had to be paid for at 2.50 euros each if used. tea,coffee making facilities with cartons of milk in fridge, but had to be paid for if restocked. we were taken to our room on arrival by a member of reception, after being given a complimentary glass of madeira, and called shortly after to make sure everything was okay.

linens were lovely, but pillows not that comfy. pool towels were provided in the room and replaced daily. the room was immaculate and the chambermaids excellent. carpet was bit past its time but very clean.

3 lifts on each floor. all public areas spacious and immaculate. small shop selling newspapers, which arrive daily at 4 pm. many seating areas both inside and out. fabulous pool areas with beautiful sea views. lovely inside pool with loungers and loads of sunbeds. some umbrellas. spa and hairdresser on site, but we did not use them. we chose to eat off site, apart from breakfast, so cannot comment on restaurant. but pool cafe and happy hour 6-7 pm excellent value for money.

reception staff were very welcoming and helpful. service in bar areas was on occasion slow but very professional.

average age group was over 50 during our stay mostly couples. many were repeat guests. would highly recommend the pestana grand for a peaceful break for mature couples who enjoy peace, sunshine and lovely surroundings.

we ate twice at the real canoa as recommended on this site and also at the fish restaurant a short stroll along the promenade to the right of the hotel, down the steps past the cafes and restaurants on the road. amazing location looking out over the sea run by the same family for 35 years. both highly recommended and about 60 euros for 2 courses and wine for 2.

up the hill is a large shopping mall with zara and supermarket. there are many cafes and restaurants within walking distance but all on hills hard work in the heat. there is a courtesy bus into funchal from the hotel or taxi is about 6 euros.

will definitely be returning

Room Tip: west side view balcony room has wonderful view of bay and sun in the afternoon. sunsets are gorgeou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HEV333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for joining us.
We are amazed with your attention to detail and the way you described each part and area of our hotel. We are happy to know that you found in us a nice 4 days escape from the daily stress and we look forward to see you soon in the future.
Madeira certainly is a place that deserved to be revisited, until there we remain with our kind regards.
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We keep coming back to this hotel every three years as my dad has a time share there. I suppose that makes us a better judge of how the hotel has changed over the past ten years? I would say that it has got back on par of when it first opened. The rooms were clean and tidy, and kept so. The food and drink excellent, there are some excellent "meal deals" on at the pool bar now. I agree with a comment below that they need to invest in some more sun umbrellas and replace some of the ones that have seen better days. Never had a problem getting a sun bed all week, although we couldn't get an umbrella on one day. The reception staff are exceptional. They simply can't do enough for you, and our one or two little room problems were fixed on the day of arrival. All in all, I can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PontyCyclops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your loyalty to us.
In the name of our team i must say, that we are all glad to still provide what you expect from the lti Pestana Grand Hotel. The furniture in our pools will certainly be updated when possible in order to provide waht is expected in our hotel.
We value very much and will share your comments about our reception staff.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We've just got back from a great stay
The hotel is in a really place not to far from Funchal
There are lots of restaurants near by and an awesome fish restaurant
its worth hiring a car but be warned that the roads up in the mountains are small !!!
The staff in the hotel reception are very helpful but we found the waiting staff a little bit hard work as most of them didn't understand english
The pool areas are great we have a little girl and she liked the indoor pool as its not as cold as the outside pool
We had a few problems but nothing that spoiled the holiday

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Trekker_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your loyalty to our hotel.
We as a team, are glad that we still manage to provide a service that corresponded to your expectations. The comment about our staff that did not understand english, made me a bit concearned and we will check with our restaurant team, where are this faults.
Thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcome you again soon.
With our kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Area/Complex Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 88 in Funchal
2,356 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
2,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#33 of 88 in Funchal
2,906 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
272 reviews
1.0 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort

Address: Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23 | São Martinho, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal (Formerly Pestana Grand)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#12 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#12 Business Hotel in Funchal
#15 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $96 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Grand is one of the best and most prestigious 5-start hotels in Funchal, Madeira and sits upon the Ponta da Cruz cliff with a view of the oceans and Cabo Girão. It is only 30 minutes on foot from Formosa beach and has direct access to Promenade do Lido, the famous promenade in Madeira. Surrounded by magnificent gardens is the island's largest outdoor saltwater swimming pool with views of the sea. The hotel has a Spa, with a Jacuzzi, sauna, gym, Turkish bath and even a panoramic indoor swimming pool, in addition to massages and/or spa treatments. For dining, guests can enjoy four restaurants and two bars. If you bring your family, the little ones can play in the lounge or the garden with a game zone. There is a free private car park (subject to availability). All rooms are spacious and bright, include Wi-Fi and have private balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Otel, Expedia, Priceline, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Grand Funchal
Hotel Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand Hotel
Pestana Grand Madeira
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing