We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spring Sunshine”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lti Pestana Grand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lti Pestana Grand
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Spring Sunshine”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed in the hotel in March 2012 This was our first visit to Madeira and we were very impressed with the facilities and the quality of the catering, the staff were friendly and accommodating even though it was a large family party of different ages from 80 years, whose birthday it was, to young 17 year olds. Sitting by the pool in bright sunshine in March is a great experience, after leaving Leeds Bradford airport in the middle of a snow shower. The Fish restaurant a short walk down the cliff top promenade is not to be missed, we had the birthday party there and all the staff sang to him in Portuguese "Happy birthday to you" .
My only complaint with the hotel was the ridiculous internet charges and the poor availability, not what you would expect of a Hotel of this quality.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesMainMcKenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
One of the best things Madeira has to offer besides the warm welcome from Madeira people, is the warm weather.
The weather in Madeira is sunny most of the year, March promises to be the start of the summer. The fish restaurant you're refering to, i believe is "O Barqueiro", one of the best fishing restaurants in the island, 5 minutes walking from the hotel.
I understand and value your point of view, regarding the internet facilities but, it is a policy from the Group Pestana to charge internet however, passwords of 30 minutes can be requested at our reception without any cost for wifi use.
We lookd forward to welcome you again in our beautiful sunny Madeira.
With kind regards
Yours sincerely
Ricardo Santos
Gestor de Unidade / Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,186
    479
    109
    22
    9
See reviews for
380
1,126
35
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Pestana Grand in Funchal is without discussion one of Madeiras top class hotels. Well designed with spacious rooms, studios and apartments. A beautiful garden and an enormous pool plus 4 restaurants means lots of choice. Attractive and quiet environment around the hotel. The hotel staff is the kindest and most helpful you can find and true representatives for the warm and welcoming people of Madeira. My wife and I will be coming there again and again.

Jan Bahnson, Denmark

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bahnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Mr. Bahnson,
Thank you very much for visiting us.
I'm glad you found at our hotel, a place were you feel welcome and surrounded by a calm and relaxed atmosphere. Not less important, thank you for the compliments towards the employees that give the true life to the lti Pestana Grand Hotel. They are the true stars of this hotel.
With kind regards
Yours sincerely
Ricardo Santos
Gestor de Unidade / Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed in the hotel in july 2012
This was our first visit to Madeira and we would return to this hotel again
This is a modern hotel finished to a high standard, the public areas are light and comfortable
The rooms are spacious and comfortable although the beds are a little bouncy, there is more than enough storage space for clothes, a mini fridge (which you can store your own purchases in unlike some hotels) and tea / coffee making facilities
I found the hotel clean and had regular towel and linen changes
There are some rooms with a land view which can get noisy when using the balcony as they overlook a road
We were bed and breakfast so I can only comment on breakfast which was the normal buffet offer and was a good as I have had anywhere
The garden and pool areas are excellent no shortage of space or sun beds, free beach towels every day although the sun beds are starting to look a bit saggy that apart the whole outdoor area maintained to a very high standard
Its an hours walk to the centre of Funchal, its all downhill and plenty of bars on route to break the journey, it is along a main road and even taking the promenade route will put you on the main road halfway along
There are regular busses to the centre of Funchal from near to the hotel and they run till nearly midnight although less regularly later on
There is an excellent promenade walk to the fishing village of Camera de Lobos which takes about an hour
We found all of the hotel staff friendly and helpful
I had heard stories of Madeira holidaymakers all being elderly this is not the case but there were very few children and families but apart from that a range of adult age ranges
I would recommend public transport as I found Taxis expensive and would also recommend the Rua Santa Maria area for a meal out

Room Tip: Try to avoid land view rooms as there is some road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diveguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for a such detailed review from our hotel.
We sincerely hope that this was the first of many visits to our beautiful garden island.
I'm glad that you found in our hotel, all the conditions for you to have a memorable and enjoyable stay in Madeira. Most important of all i would like to thank you for the compliments you made towards our staff and i cannot get tired to say that the message will be passed onto them. We all hope you had a safe flight back home to your family and we wish to see you again soon.
With kind regards
Yours sincerely
Ricardo Santos
Gestor de Unidade / Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guiseley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

This was our second holiday in this hotel.We contacted them prior to arriving and asked if we could have the same room we had previously stayed in. This was already allocated but we got the one next door. We chose a sea view room and the supplement is worth it. Beautiful views and overlooking the swimming pool and garden areas. The 5 star is justified everything is first class.
Breakfast is sumptuous. We didn't have dinner in the hotel as we like to go for stroll in the evenings and dine out. Plenty of restaurants near by. Recomended Brunoe's & Monumental Grill
There is a courtesy bus that runs to/from hotel into Funchal. If you miss this there is a local bus service virtually outside hotel. A taxi one way costs approx 7 Euro's.
The staff are so polite and always smiling this makes this hotel special.

Room Tip: We had room 1410 fourth floor sea view. Very quiet. only noise early evening when entertainment play...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your loyalty to the lti Pestana Grand Hotel.
It is a pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel knowing you have had another excelent stay with us. I'm glad that the facilties provided were once again up to your expectations and specially that you found in our staff what Madeira is known for: friend, polite and people always in a good mood. I must say that, i like our staff very much and i am really proud of the team i work with. We all look forward to see you soon, until there i hope you have arrived safe at home with the one's you love most.
With kind regards
Yours sincerely
Ricardo Santos
Gestor de Unidade / Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Some of the 1-bedroom apartments have internal bedrooms with a small opening onto the lift lobby area, not conducive to a good nights sleep.
Parts of housekeeping are not 5star standard but the grounds and the indoor leisure was lovely, think the copper tiled steam room is one of the pretties we have ever seen!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julesuk14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us.
I regret to known that you did not have a good sleep in some of the nights and the service provided from our housekeeping department did not corresponded to your expectations.
We hope you have had a safe flight back home and we look forward to welcome you again.
With kind regards
Yours sincerely
Ricardo Santos
Gestor de Unidade / Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

It is the first time when we visit Madeira.This hotel was a very good choice. Room are very spacious and comfortable. There is a courtesy bus to Funchal. The view from the room is fantastic. The gardens and the pools are very beautifull. The breakfast and the dinner was very good. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank George_171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us.
It is with major satisfaction that we, as a team read your feedback.
We hope that the service provided together with the beautiful surroundings that Madeira offers, makes you visit us more often. The comments towards our staff are much appreciated and will be shared with them. Hope to see you soon.
With kind regards
Yours sincerely
Ricardo Santos
Gestor de Unidade/Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This is about the 10th time I've stayed at the Pestana Grand. It's great value and the rooms are very spacious and comfortable. The gardens and the pools are really well-maintained. Breakfast is the busiest time in the hotel and staff manage to accommodate all needs. We had dinner on two occasions, the steak on the stone was very good and reasonably priced as was the wine. The buffet was fine, what you would expect from a buffet. Staff are very helpful and although you are not close to the centre of Funchal there is a free bus or if you don't want to wait and a good local bus service. There are a few places to eat in waking distance, including a great fish restaurant and there's always the nearby Madeira Forum shopping centre for cafes, restaurants (well attended by the locals) and a large supermarket. I can see no reason not to return as it's the perfect venue for a relaxing holiday but if you are looking for a more exhilarating nightlife then perhaps this is not the venue for you.

Room Tip: The sea side view offers a great sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for leaving your feedback about your recent stay with us.
I must say, we have something in common, we both fall in love to Madeira and to the lti Pestana Grand Hotel. It is a great pleasure to welcome you so many times in our property and we will do our best, to assure that the service and facilities are up to your standards.
Hope you had a safe flight back home and we all wish to welcome you again in our hotel.
With kind regards
Your sincerely
Ricardo Santos
Gestor de Unidade/Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
2,709 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 87 in Funchal
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
2.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.7 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lti Pestana Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lti Pestana Grand

Property: Lti Pestana Grand
Address: Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
#11 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#12 Business Hotel in Funchal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Lti Pestana Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LTI Pestana Grand, one of the best and most prestigious hotels in Madeira, is also undoubtedly one of the best located. Sitting at the top of the Ponta da Cruz seacliff, it provides a superb view of the Atlantic Ocean and Cabo Girão. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TravelUp, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lti Pestana Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Grand Funchal
Hotel Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand Hotel
Pestana Grand Madeira
Lti Pestana Grand Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing