We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT 5 STAR HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Ranked #29 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“GREAT 5 STAR HOTEL”
Reviewed August 7, 2010

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a week at the Pestana Carlton Hotel. Hotel was a typical 5 star hotel with a lovely buffet style breakfast with the usual choice of fresh fruit, cereals, fruit juices, pastries, fried breakfast and sparkling white wine which was served between 7 am and 10 am.

The location of the hotel is about a 10 minute walk into Funchal main area and a further 10 minutes to the Old Town where you can reach the cable car to Monte. As there is a steep hill just outside the hotel it takes a little longer to walk back (unless you are very fit). There are a few restaurants in close proximity and a few bars. Bar Number 2 was frequently visited and was very welcoming. We also went to the Taj Mahal Indian Restaurant which is just across the road and our meal was fabulous. Next door to the hotel is Reids Palace Hotel, famous for its afternoon tea. Although a little expensive it was worth the experience. Less than a 10 minute walk.

Our only negative comment about the Pestana is to be aware of the invite which you will receive offering what would initially appear to be a complimentary mid week drink in the Hotel Pub. This in fact is a tactic to attempt you to attend a Time Share Presentation.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slj1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, August 8, 2010
Dear Pestana Carlton Madeira Guest,

We are writing to thank you for spending your precious time on submitting your review about your enjoyable holiday at Pestana Carlton Madeira.

We would also like to thank you for choosing the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel and we look forward to have another opportunity to host you, in a near future.

In the meantime, we remain with the best regards

The Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,041
    769
    242
    78
    16
See reviews for
467
1,315
56
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
208 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Stayed at this property in late June. Traveled w/ friends who had done an RCI exchange and got a 2 bedroom. We are all timeshare owners and are used to seeing them all over the world. We know that European standards are diffident from American standards, but our experience didn't match the reviews. The room was difficult to find, had to go down two different elevators (floors 8 and 6 I think), but when comng up the floor nmbers were different (floors 1 and 3 I think). It was almost impossible to find the room or even remember how to find it. Have never seen anything this odd in my 40 years of travel! The second bedroom had almost no privacy and the door to the unit came right into my bedroom. Amenities were tired looking and the whole place needed a face lift. The pool area was quite a nice and location was very good for us. We enjoyed the restaurants close by. We got 10% off showing a card they gave us. Really enjoyed the Taj Mahal restaurant – best food we had all week and right next door. The tours were quite good as well, but the same tours are a bit cheaper if you don’t get them through the timeshare/hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jann1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeiracarlton, General Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, August 12, 2010
Dear Madeira Beach Club Guest,
First of all let me thank you for choosing our beautiful island of Madeira, and our Time Share property, Madeira Beach Club, for your Holidays.
Madeira is indeed a very nice place and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed it.
Concerning your comments regarding your accommodation, I’m afraid your comments may confuse our guests; in fact you didn’t stay at the Pestana Madeira Calrton Hotel. You stayed at the Madeira Beach Club, which is a Time Share property, within the Hotel premises, planned to be renovated soon.
For what concerns the Hotel, kindly that it has all been all renovated in 2005/2006 and has in the rooms one of our strongest points. Not only due to the superb views they have over the ocean, but also because they were renovated according to high standards.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back at the Pestana Carlton Hotel,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

The Pestana Carlton is Pestana's top hotel in Madeira and also was one of the first hotels of the Portugese Pestana group.
It has been majorly renewed to match today's five star standards, and so the hotel and resort as well as the spacious rooms and suites can match up to one's expectations in such a large five star hotel.
It is also situated at the very beginning of Funchal's hotel district ("Lido"), where a lot more of these huge "five stars" can be found.
Probably the hugest advantage of Pestana Carlton is its position, which allows an almost undisturbed view both into town as well as on the neighbouring, legendary Reid's Palace hotel, seen in all its beauty from the sea.

While the hotel and facilities satisfied, the food was a major disappointment: uninspired buffets all week round, in an equally unispired mass dining-hall.
Poorest performance for a hotel of this category; even the service staff were openly unsatisfied with this situation!
Only relief was the traditional BBQ/ à la carte restaurant - but alas, it was only open on weekends, and your buffet (half board) fee was NOT fully refunded when eating at the à la carte. So additionally to your expensive à la carte bills, you still lost around 15€s per person by not getting the missed buffet refunded, which is downright disgraceful.
The à la carte restaurant was a highlight and "worth the pain" in this particular situation, as they prepared luxurious, fresh and tasty dishes and even managed the classic Chateaubriand to perfection multiple times.
They also had a larger wine list, which you also missed in the mass-buffet restaurant.

Madeira has become a frequent destination for us, and we won't frequent ANY of Madeira's Pestanas again. (The other Pestanas are lower category, even larger than the Carlton, and not perfectly renewed yet etc...)
The only thing we will return to will be the Carlton's Pool Bar due to its perfect, afore-mentioned view. Also, the pool bar was the only place to get decent, inspired drinks; last time, they were riding the "vegetable cocktale" wave - think Cucumber Gin Tonic etc.
The main bar failed to supply anything of note, and even the standards were lame.

In case it interests anyone after these lines, the large pool area of the Carlton would be another plus if you don't heavily focus on dining quality.
The lower level of Carlton also provides another, smaller pool, sea access and a scuba center. The short promenade at sea level also gives a great impression about all these monstrous concrete blocks which the hotels can be.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConHei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, August 8, 2010
Dear Pestana Carlton Madeira Guest,

We are writing to thank you for spending your precious time on submitting your review about your holidays at Pestana Carlton Madeira.

Ensuring the best holiday experience for all our guests is our goal, therefore it was with great concern that we have read your comments.

We assure you, we will do our best to improve our services, so that they can meet our guests’ expectation.

We would also like to thank you for choosing the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel and we look forward to have another opportunity to host you, in a near future.

In the meantime, we remain with the best regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We loved our recent stay at the Carlton. It is 5star, and provides all the standard and quality you would expect of a 5star hotel without being pretentious. Rooms were lovely, nothing was too much trouble for the staff, and the facilities were all well maintained. I hope they never drop their standards. Loved the location, and the ability to enjoy a lazy, laying-on-sunbed holiday, whilst at the same time being a 10min walk from Funchal marina and centre. Alternatively the Lido area a 10min walk in the opposite direction from the hotel, so ideally placed and plenty to do if we wanted it. Can do nothing but recommend this hotel! I hope no-one ever spoils it!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KWeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, August 8, 2010
Dear Pestana Carlton Madeira Guest,

We are writing to thank you for spending your precious time on submitting your review about your enjoyable holiday at Pestana Carlton Madeira

Look forward to welcome you again at the Pestana Carlton Madeira in the near future.

The Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

What can i say..... sun glaces, beach towel, blue sea and sunny days, t-shirt , sandals ....
in DECEMBER.... and flowers . the cristmas red flowers.
This is Madeira in December.
The hotel is very good , located in a cliff by the sea, has two pools one salty near de sea and the other biguer, near the gardens,restaurant and bar lounge. THE LOCATION IS VERY GOOD. You can walk to the center of FUNCHAL, the historic down town ,shopping and restaurants, in five or ten minutes, no need transfers.
But Madeira isn't only Funchal , AND YOU MUST SEE the NORTH SIDE. - wild Nature- sea and mountains- beautiful.
TO EAT i RECOMEND O "PREGO NO PÃO DE CACO", it's a tipical sandwich whit meat. the ESPETADAS, and the fresh fish .
I did'nt eat at the hotel , besides the breakfast (very good, with variety)

I will came back

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisbon_PortugalPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Plush 50's style hotel, lovely sea views excellent service (special mention to concierge Manuel whose dedication was above and beyond the call of duty) but not much to do in the area unless you enjoy sitting by the pool looking like a Lobster Thermidore! Centre of Funchal too far to walk to and very hilly especially as the majority of guests were elderly, also watch out for the pavements which were lethal due to numerous potholes! Meals and drinks recommended at "The Pub" on the hotel's grounds, try a jug of Sangria!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whiska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

After spending many holidays in Funchal this is the first time we had stayed at this hotel and it was a pleasant surprise. We booked mountain view rooms as we spend little time in our room but because of the demolition work going on we were given a free upgrade to a sea view room (we were with Thomson). This was a lovely room, not large but perfectly adequate, very clean with a large bathroom. We didn't use the tea/coffee facilities as we weren't left any milk.
The breakfast was the usual that you would expect with cereals and porridge, cooked breakfast plus fruit, cheese, cakes, etc. We were half board which we upgraded to for 1p and the meals in the Taverna grill were wonderful. The menu was limited but we were there for 11 nights and were quite happy with the choices. One evening we took up the option to go to the Casino dinner and show which was very good. Tuesdays meal was served in the other restaurant and it was an Italian buffet. This wasn't as good as the other food but the lasagne was very good served with some fresh vegetables.
The pools were lovely although the loungers were placed in rows in some areas which didn't give you much privacy. The Atlantic pool reopened while we were there and it looked good but we didn't spend much time down there as we preferred the Garden pool area.
All the staff were friendly and helpful.
There was a good mix of nationalities and ages at this hotel which made a nice change from the predominently British pensioners that are at some hotels.
The demolition work at the Savoy didn't cause any problems with noise the only thing we noticed was there was more dust around at the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunandwarmth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
1.5 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
1,805 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 87 in Funchal
1,327 reviews
0.8 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Madeira Regency Club
Madeira Regency Club
#44 of 87 in Funchal
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Carlton Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Carlton Madeira

Property: Pestana Carlton Madeira
Address: Largo Antonio Nobre, no 1, Funchal, Madeira 9004-531, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Business Hotel in Funchal
#17 Family Hotel in Funchal
#21 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#27 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#28 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Carlton Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Carlton Madeira, one of the most lively hotels in Madeira, enjoys a privileged setting in Funchal, at the top of a slope on the island of Madeira, providing fantastic views over the bay of Funchal and the sea. This luxurious and charismatic hotel in Madeira is a reference point for any visitor to Madeira, due to the excellent conjugation of a family atmosphere with the sophistication of its excellent installations. Once you are in the hotel, you will find at your disposal a wide range of services you can enjoy, including 3 leisure areas. In the Garden Pool, you will find a heated saltwater outdoor pool and a swimming pool for children. In the Atlantic Pool, there is a salt water outdoor pool with access to the sea and an indoor pool with Jacuzzi, relaxation rooms and bar. The Magic Spa offers an indoor heated swimming pool with sauna, Turkish bath, Jacuzzi, gym and treatment rooms. To promote the cultural gastronomic diversity of Funchal, this 5 star hotel in Madeira has 3 restaurants and 3 bars, with excellent views of the Atlantic Ocean, with a variety of flavours that will satisfy the most demanding tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Carlton Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Carlton Madeira Funchal
Carlton Hotel Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing