We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Nearby Hotels
$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$577
$369
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$263
$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa(Funchal)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$156
$144
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Porto Mare Hotel(Funchal)
$198
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,596)
Filter reviews
2,596 results
Traveler rating
1,243
927
306
90
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,243
927
306
90
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsatlantic poolgarden poolsea viewbuilding sitelovely hoteltime sharetea and coffeesalt waterold townjunior suitebuilding workgreat facilitiesbed and breakfastsea waterhalf boardlarge hotelpool towels
Filter
Updating list...
1,133 - 1,138 of 2,596 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have time shares here in the beach club,we only had 2 more years to go but we have extended for another 10 years in a newly refurbished apartment, I love the layout and the new pool on sea level is lovely, staff are friendly and will go out of their for you. Looking forward to next year when we can go and relax.

Room Tip: Facing the sea
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jacquiemoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Dear Guests/Dear Owners,
Thank you very much for your holiday feedback.
Achieving quality and our guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal and when it happens we feel that our mission has been accomplished.
We are very happy to read that you have extended your contract giving us the happiness of your visit for the next 10 years more.
We look forward to welcome you again next year.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel was very nicely equipped. There were ample pools although the top pool was salt water which I did not really like. There are always lots of sunbeds available so there was not that rush to get to the pool in the morning. If you required a parasol it cost 2 Euros. We did not use the bars in the hotel as they were quite expensive, there was a good pub across the road that was very cheap €2.30 for the local beer which was Coral and it is quite nice.

We had a one bedroom apartment for 3 of us. We had two bathrooms- one with a shower and the other with a bath and a shower.One bedroom with two single beds and one double pull down bed in the living area and a small kitchen and a huge double balcony, we were in room 2416.

These were ok but the pillows left a lot to be desired, they were sort of stuffed with what seemed like cotton wool balls. Apart from that I could not fault the place, it was cleaned every day and the sheets were changed every day. The staff seemed very pleasant, especially the concierge on the door - I forget his name but he would remember mine, he could speak a few different languages and was always very friendly.

I would say that this hotel is good but if you want to walk into Funchal centre then it is quite hilly and the pavements are very hard to walk on, small mosaic tiles that were quite slidey and the pavements were not flat, all full of bumbs but a taxi into town was about €4

Room Tip: Room 2416 or 2409 was good (2409 was on the corner and was huge
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank shirleydouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Dear Guests/Owners,
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel and the Vacation Club take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback.
We are very happy to confirm that we have 4 pools for our dear guests to use: two outdoor (with seawater, from which one is heated and the other one is not heated), and two heated indoor.
We have read your opinion about the pricing in the bars and we are sorry for your disappointment.
Your kind words regarding the staff, especially the concierge will serve as an incentive to carry on the good work.
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I stayed at the Pestana Carlton for a week on holiday in June 2014.

Overall the hotel is fantastic... Clean, on the whole good service, great facilities etc.

We had a mountain view room and if you're staying here I would definitely recommend opting for a sea view room. The hotel is right on the coast and the views are gorgeous.

The rooms themselves had everything you would need although could do with a bit of modernisation. That said the bathroom was nice (although the shower was poor).

We didn't try the buffet dinners, but breakfast was a great selection ranging from hot food, cereals, fruit, pastries and sliced meats/cheeses. There is a great restaurant called Beef and Wine close to the hotel which I would definitely recommend trying.

One thing worth noting is that the hotel is right at the top of a hill so if you struggle walking then it might be worth finding somewhere not on such a slope (although there are buses and taxis).


Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank hall284002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your kind contribution in Tripadvisor.
We are very glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us in June. We hope you have enjoyed the Firework’s festival which takes place in this month and we take this opportunity to advise you to come one year for the New Year’s festivities to admire the fireworks all around the bay of Funchal.
We thank you very much for your recommendation regarding the modernization of the rooms.
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

My other half has been to Madeira quite a few times and normally stays at the Royal Savoy next door but we thought we would give the Pestana ago. We booked the holiday via Thompson who said it was a 5* hotel.

First impression of the hotel is good, the main lobby was clean and the area surrounding the hotel was nice. The staff that checked us in were really friendly. There was a problem with our room, we booked a room with a "sea view" but the room we was given was a view of the mountains. We went back down to reception and all was sorted.

We was given a room with overlooked the marina on the 18th floor! It was an amazing view and worth the extra cost for the room! The room was clean and a good size. Our room has a small TV that does have some English channels (BBC News, CNN and BBC Entertainment) and a fridge. Just a warning, the fridge is pretty small so don't rely on it too much. The air conditioning was okay but not amazing, it resulted in us using the spare key to leave it on 24/7 to keep the room cool. Our room also had a small balcony that had a table and two wicker chairs. There was also dressing gowns, towels and beach towels which was a nice touch.

The pool area was kept really clean with plenty of room. The only issue we had was finding the pool attendant. It was quite a busy week for the hotel but there only seemed to be one guy around the pool areas. There are two pool areas which are both pretty nice. There is also a indoor pool with a massive jacuzzi.

Our room was Bed and Breakfast, at first the breakfast was really nice however its the same everyday. We got sooo bored and fed up of the same food that we started to skip it. We didn't eat anything else at the hotel as there is plenty of restaurants in the area. I would recommend Beef and Wine which is about a 5 minute walk away.

It can be quite loud in the evening, we did go for a couple of drinks in one of the terrances which was nice in the evening however when you got to your room you could hear the same guy singing! The bar staff were amazing, I got any cocktail/drink I wanted, just had to ask. They seem to know what is what.

Overall the hotel was really good, the only issue was the 5 stars. It isn't a 5 star hotel! We went expecting a 5 star hotel and didn't get it.

Overall the hotel was nice

Room Tip: Get a sea view room... really worth the extra money!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for the opportunity by choosing the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel for your holiday in Madeira.
The views from the 18th floor are indeed very impressive, we are very happy to hear that after sorted about the room you have enjoyed it.
Regarding the English channels, we are obliged to inform that this is a situation out of our power as the problems with the satellite do not let us receive the signal in Portugal as we used to. We are hoping to find a solution in the near future.
We understood that we did not meet your expectations totally and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Am actually a little late in writing this review as we actually stayed here in early June. Better late than never though. This hotel sits at the top of a steep road (no real surprise here as a lot of roads are steep!) leading out of Funchal heading towards the lido area. We were very lucky to have been given a pool view room on checking in which gave us a beautiful sun soaked balcony overlooking the sea as well as the pool. The hotel is well maintained and the staff were all very friendly - particularly Lisbeth (apologies for spelling!) on reception who was always smiling and greeted us by name whenever we passed the front desk. The overall standard was very appealing and I would love to return soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CMHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Dear Guests,
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and wish to come back soon.
We can assure you that your comments addressed to the team have been very much appreciated as the recognition of our dear guests.
We look forward to hear of your return.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews