We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the job...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Ranked #29 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect for the job...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Mrs Bealbhocht picked this for the long promised trip to Madeira. Right next door to Reid's, in the best location in Funchal. Sensational views, and wonderful facilities. Breakfast was first class. There is really no criticism that can be made of it, except Bealbhocht's usual whinge that broadband, though free, was only available in the lobby.

Room Tip: Get one with an ocean rather than mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bealbhocht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, February 11, 2015
Dear Guests
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
Achieving quality and our guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,043
    771
    242
    78
    16
See reviews for
467
1,318
56
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nailsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Firstly let me say that the staff here could not be more helpful and the rooms are cleaned and maintained to a high standard. Amenities wise, again you couldn't really ask or want for more. The only gripe I have, which to some will sound petty, is that this is the only hotel I have ever stayed at whether it be business or pleasure, 1 star or 5 star that charges you extra if you want to have the facility of making a hot drink in your bedroom! Come on hotel management, is this really going to cost you a vast amount of money? The counter argument, is that this is one of a few hotels that won't charge you for the use of a safe, but if you want to be truly 5 star then get it sorted Mr. Hotel Manager.

Room Tip: Worth getting an upgrade for rooms with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for selecting the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel for your holiday in Madeira.
We hope sincerely that you have enjoyed a lovely stay with us.
Your opinion is very important for us; therefore, it was with great concern that we have read your comments about the extra charges. The Management has taken good notice of your advice and as we have removed the extra cost for the use of iron in the rooms, the tea and coffee facilities may be the next step.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again, please let us know of your return beforehand.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

This Hotel is in a great location easy walking distance to all the sights and attractions of Funchal . The bedroom was very clean and comfortable with good views. There is excellent pool facilities with a choice of two outdoor pools and one indoor pool all very clean and tidy. We found the choices at breakfast excellent. The staff were helpful and friendly and over all we had a great stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy6056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guests,
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed a great stay as your satisfaction and happiness is the best reward that we could expect to achieve.
We would like to rectify that there are in fact two indoor pools for our guests to use. One is located on the 2nd floor together with the spa a fitness room and there is another new one down by the ocean level with 24 meters, relaxing rooms and a big Jacuzzi.
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed in hotel for one week in May. Had a great holiday one week not enough. Good location about 15 min walk into town, lots of cafes, restaurants and shops. Trip on cable car is a must. Hotel very clean and staff very friendly. We had bed and breakfast and there are some very nice restaurants nearby. Had not been to Madeira before but very impressed and will go back and to this hotel. Would also recommend East Coast trip into the mountains.

Room Tip: Would pay extra for seaview as room with view of mountain can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ossie353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
We are very glad to read that you enjoyed a lovely stay/holiday.
When we read that you wish to come back, we feel very happy to understand that we gave you the right impression. We hope this is the first of many visits to Madeira and to the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel.
We look forward to hear of your return,
With kind regards ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Just returned from one week stay at the hotel and have enjoyed every minute of it. The hotel is in a lovely position with beautiful views and spotlessly clean. The pool areas are absolutely gorgeous surrounded by lovely flowers and beautiful scenery. The staff are very helpful and very pleasant. The food is good and with plenty of choice although there are some really good restaurants near by so would not necessarily go half board again. Funchal centre is approximately fifteen minute walk downhill but we used to get the local bus or taxi back which was very easy. Madeira is a beautiful island and we would not hesitate to return to the island and stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 166Stepho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your review about your stay at the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed a lovely stay with us.
Your opinion is very important for us, and for those who are considering coming to Madeira on holidays, therefore we believe that the detail of your review will be certainly very helpful.
Once again thank you very much for your contribution and we look forward to welcome you again soon.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tickhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed for a week in early May on a B & B basis. The breakfasts were very good with everything you could want to set you up for the day. The hotel was spotlessly clean and is in a great position. The pool is heated and set in lovely gardens with no shortage of sunbeds at any time of the day. A 20 - 30 minute walk and you are in the centre of Funchal or you can catch the bus outside the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillMartin1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your excellent review in Tripadvisor.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your holiday with us.
We really appreciate your choice among so many hotel options available in Madeira.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liindfield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Had a week at the Carlton with my wife, daughter and grand-daughter at the end of April and again thoroughly enjoyed the time. I/we have been staying in the Carlton off and on since about 1994 and it never disappoints - the refurbishment a couple of years ago has kept it up-to-date and the staff, as always, make you feel really welcome. The facilities are always kept clean and fresh and in good condition and the shallow pools are great for a two year-old! Our daughter enjoyed the gym facilities while we swam with our granddaughter! She thought it would be helpful if the gym opened earlier than 9.00am. The breakfasts are great and the Pub is very useful for a snack lunch or early evening meal.
The Carlton's location is excellent as you can walk down into Funchal in 10-15 minutes. There are several really good restaurants within a few minutes walk - Donna Amelia and Casa da Penha in particular.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms - floors 2-4 and particularly rooms 2-8 - have excellent position and get the sun v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your feedback about your recent stay at the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel and especially for your loyalty.
We are delighted to read that you and your family have enjoyed another lovely holiday with us.
Good notice of your remark about the Gym has been taken and we will do our best to do it better the next time. Please let us know before hand of your return.
We now look forward to welcome you again soon.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
1.5 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,806 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
0.8 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Madeira Regency Club
Madeira Regency Club
#45 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Carlton Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Carlton Madeira

Property: Pestana Carlton Madeira
Address: Largo Antonio Nobre, no 1, Funchal, Madeira 9004-531, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Business Hotel in Funchal
#17 Family Hotel in Funchal
#21 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#27 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#28 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Carlton Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Carlton Madeira, one of the most lively hotels in Madeira, enjoys a privileged setting in Funchal, at the top of a slope on the island of Madeira, providing fantastic views over the bay of Funchal and the sea. This luxurious and charismatic hotel in Madeira is a reference point for any visitor to Madeira, due to the excellent conjugation of a family atmosphere with the sophistication of its excellent installations. Once you are in the hotel, you will find at your disposal a wide range of services you can enjoy, including 3 leisure areas. In the Garden Pool, you will find a heated saltwater outdoor pool and a swimming pool for children. In the Atlantic Pool, there is a salt water outdoor pool with access to the sea and an indoor pool with Jacuzzi, relaxation rooms and bar. The Magic Spa offers an indoor heated swimming pool with sauna, Turkish bath, Jacuzzi, gym and treatment rooms. To promote the cultural gastronomic diversity of Funchal, this 5 star hotel in Madeira has 3 restaurants and 3 bars, with excellent views of the Atlantic Ocean, with a variety of flavours that will satisfy the most demanding tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pestana Carlton Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Carlton Madeira Funchal
Carlton Hotel Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing