We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Carlton Madeira

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Ranked #29 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good quality hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Enjoyed our stay here, good service and amenities and handy location between Funchal centre and the Lido. Breakfast very good, lots of choice and the terrace has the same view as at Reids which is next door. Two indoor and two outdoor pools, it's own pub with decent food and prices. Would recommend this.

Room Tip: We asked for sea view and were at the side so could watch the cruise ships come and go, which was be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are all very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel. We are also delighted to read that you have truly appreciated our services as well as the breathtaking views that we have to offer.
We also take this opportunity to thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,021
    761
    240
    76
    16
See reviews for
461
1,297
55
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (686)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
brighton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

This was the first time we had used the Beach Club We were able to use all the facilities of the Pestana Carlton and had a really enjoyable time We had an apartment which overlooked the sea and at night the waves lulled us to sleep To our right was Reid's Hotel and to the left magnificent views of the harbour area In the early evening we sat on the balcony watching the cruise liners leave trying to guess which way they would go and wondering on their final destination In the mornings we could watch a new set arrive and marvel at the ease the tugs nudged them into place

The hotel was lovely the staff friendly and helpful and plenty of them as well Our linen was changed daily with extra pool towels when needed There were plenty of sun beds and not in great long lines it was all very nice

The buffet meals were excellent value with a wide choice of starter salads etc and the sweets were amazing The main courses were a little limited

We have been to Madeira several times before and will definitely go back to the Pestana it is very well situated being only a short stroll down to the harbour area

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stellal539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Owners,
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for taking your time to share with us your holiday experience. We were delighted to read how much you have enjoyed your stay while using the Vacation Club.
We are of course very pleased to hear that you will be returning to stay with us again.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Helder, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

LS,

We stayed here with our family of 6 persons for 17 day's and have a wonderful time.
Very friendly personal good food in a relaxing environment and at the same time
a 15 minutes walking distants to the city center of Funchal.
Overall meaning of our group : Perfect place to spent your vacation !

The family of Pieter de Wit

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Mr. de Wit and Family,
Thank you very much for your very positive review about your recent stay in Madeira and for your loyalty in choosing the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel for your family holidays.
We are very glad to know that everybody had a wonderful time and we look forward to welcome you all again in the near future.
With our kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed at the Pestana Carlton in October. This is our second time in Madeira and our first time in this hotel. The reviews said nice things about the hotel and our experience was only very good. We had a room at the rear of the hotel overlooking mountains. It is not worth paying for a view of the sea in our opinion we would rather save the money and use it for trips and excursions. The room was very nice and very clean. We asked for a quiet room and the receptionist put us on the 15th floor well away from street noise it was excellent. This is one on the quietest hotels we have stayed at, no doors slamming in the middle of the night.
The pool area is very clean and there are ample sun beds for everyone.
Breakfast every morning is a bit repetitive but you would have to very awkward not to find something you could enjoy.
A pleasant short walk into the centre of Funchal with plenty of places to eat, we like to eat at different places every evening.
The staff were friendly and the holiday was excellent.
A very nice hotel that we would be happy to revisit next time we holiday in Madeira.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floor where you are away fron the noise of the steet and the hotel entra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guests,
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel thank you very much for your kind contribution.
We are very glad to read that you have enjoyed an excellent holiday and that you intend to come back to repeat this nice experience. Please let us know of your return before hand.
Good notice of your comment about the breakfast has been taken and rest assured we will do our best to improve. There is always a headwaiter and hostess in the Restaurant who are more than happy to be of all assistance to help our guests with their requests and needs.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed here for a week only but we fully enjoyed the relaxing environment of this hotel.
We had the vacation arranged through Kras, which included the flight and the transfer from and to the hotel.
Plenty of bathing/swimming options but sauna a bit limited and expensive massages.
Breakfast was perfect but we didn't try dinner as there were many good restaurants within 100m of the hotel (Chalet, Taj Mahal and the fish restaurant below it are all recommended!)
Lunch at the pool was good although the menu didn't show to much variety.
There is a lot to explore in this hotel (billard, bars, tennis court, midget golf, diving and don't forget to visit the gardens at the side of the hotel), the only complaint we had was the bad internet connectivity when not near the reception desk.
It is on walking distance from the centre of Funchal, but the taxi stand is about 50m away from the hotel and they are relatively cheap (5 euro to the center).
The Pub No2 in front of the hotel is a good place to watch TV (sports mainly) and have some pints with (free) peanuts.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are much more expensive, but the view on the hills is very nice. We were at the 18th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Djoezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guests,
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel thank you for the report that you have submitted on this web site about your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay fully and we look forward to welcome you again.
The range of facilities is really enormous at the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel and worth exploring them as you suggest.
We hope to have the opportunity of your visit in the near future.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed at the Carlton for one week in October and we were very happy with the hotel. Our room was spotless and sheets were changed every day and towels twice a day and beds were turned down every evening. The staff were very pleasant and efficient and I aksed for fresh milk and it was put on our table every morning for breakfast! The pools were clean and the sunbathing areas were immaculate with the staff putting up parasols whenever needed. Everything you asked for was done with a smile and nothing was too much trouble. (Just like UK and I dont think!). We had a junior suite with 2 balconies, the bathroom had a whirlpool jacuzzi style bath and there was a shower cubicle and his and hers wash basins. The views over the bay were superb including the harbour where we saw the cruise ships coming in, and the views of the sea were second to none. All in all, we will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the mountain side are sunnier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review about your pleasant stay at the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel.
We are delighted to read that you were very happy with the hotel and as you could notice each member of staff is very focused on offering the very highest level of service to all our guests.
Once again thank you very much for sharing with us your holiday experience and we look forward to welcome you again.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanidloes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed in excellent timeshare apartment in the hotel annexe with use of all the 5 star facillities on site. lovely seafront views and access to choice of 4 swimming pools (2 indoor).Room facillities more than adequate and cleaned/tidied on a daily basis by friendly staff.Location of the hotel is very good,next door neighbours are Reids Palace and the Royal Savoy and the town and port are only a ten minute stroll away.We will certainly look to return in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed on first floor of annexe,one floor above atlantic pool area,& about twelve floors belo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gordon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Owners,
Firstly thank you very much for your feedback, and for choosing the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel for your first holiday at the beautiful island of Madeira. We are very pleased to read that you will come back, and we sincerely hope that this was the first of many returns.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
1.4 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Madeira Regency Club
Madeira Regency Club
#45 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.7 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Carlton Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Carlton Madeira

Property: Pestana Carlton Madeira
Address: Largo Antonio Nobre, no 1, Funchal, Madeira 9004-531, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Business Hotel in Funchal
#17 Family Hotel in Funchal
#21 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#27 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#28 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Carlton Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Carlton Madeira, one of the most lively hotels in Madeira, enjoys a privileged setting in Funchal, at the top of a slope on the island of Madeira, providing fantastic views over the bay of Funchal and the sea. This luxurious and charismatic hotel in Madeira is a reference point for any visitor to Madeira, due to the excellent conjugation of a family atmosphere with the sophistication of its excellent installations. Once you are in the hotel, you will find at your disposal a wide range of services you can enjoy, including 3 leisure areas. In the Garden Pool, you will find a heated saltwater outdoor pool and a swimming pool for children. In the Atlantic Pool, there is a salt water outdoor pool with access to the sea and an indoor pool with Jacuzzi, relaxation rooms and bar. The Magic Spa offers an indoor heated swimming pool with sauna, Turkish bath, Jacuzzi, gym and treatment rooms. To promote the cultural gastronomic diversity of Funchal, this 5 star hotel in Madeira has 3 restaurants and 3 bars, with excellent views of the Atlantic Ocean, with a variety of flavours that will satisfy the most demanding tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Pestana Carlton Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Carlton Madeira Funchal
Carlton Hotel Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing