We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Never disappoints” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Carlton Madeira

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Ranked #31 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Another fabulous week at the resort. The staff are attentive but not intrusive. The service is excellent. The grill room last night was really good. he food was exquisite. Why people choose to go into the buffet when there is such excellent fare in the Grill room offers such fantastic food I will never know.

Room Tip: Speak to Mr Spinola who is an absolute star at organising anything
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest/Owner,
The Pestana Carlton would like to thank you for your review. Achieving quality and our guests’/owners’ satisfaction as well as their happiness is our daily goal.
We are delighted to hear that you have had another fabulous week and we take this chance to thank you for your compliments regarding the Taverna Grill Restaurant. The Chef together with his team do their best to make your evening meals the most memorable experience.
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.
.With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    940
    670
    213
    70
    16
See reviews for
424
1,149
49
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed here in the Easter hols for one week with my parents. The hotel was lovely. The location is great too, the views out from the hotel from all angles were spectacular. There are a handful of restaurants and bars just out the front of the hotel and a supermarket about 50 meters away so all very handy. If you want to go to the center of funchal take a taxi (front of the hotel) will cost about 5 euros or if your very fit you can tackle the hill on foot.

The hotel itself is very clean and spacious. We had mountain view rooms on a high floor (beware if you're scared of heights!) the rooms have a fridge to use and also tea and coffee facilities though you are better off either bringing your own tea/coffee or buying it from the shop outside the hotel as you have to pay to have them replenished. There is free internet connection for a laptop on the desk (they give you the wires and the passwords at reception) but if you want the wifi you have to be in the lounge/bar/terrace area.

The buffet dinner was very nice, lots of choice of food, but one of my only complaints would be how stuffed in you were. Most nights was only about a third full but they still put you right next to each other and the tables aren't very far away from each other.
We spent the evenings after dinner in the 'library' playing cards on their card tables, very nice room with views out over the ocean. not many books in there though. you could hear the live music from the bar drifting in as well so was very nice way to end the day.

The pool bar at lunch was perfect, service was great, food choice was everything you could want from a pool bar and the views over the pools/sea were lovely.We spent an evening in the pub to watch a football match and they were very accommodating, making sure it was on the right channel at the right time, the food in the pub was lovely too, and very nice desserts that you can have hot or cold and with ice cream if you like.

The main pool is heated to 26 degrees, which is still a bit chilly if the sun isn't out but a lot warmer than the unheated pool down by the sea. There are also indoor pools that we didn't use that are also heated.

There was some small building renovations happening in the lower floor apartments near the pool but they didn't really effect our stay or our sleep at all.

The only downside really is their games room. Which has a cheap pool table, a rather expensive looking table tennis table and a worn looking football table. All were dirty and dusty, The pool table was covered in concrete dust? and the room itself, though looking out over the ocean, felt as if you were breathing in concrete dust as well. which is a shame as i love to play a game of pool against dad on holidays but we couldn't stay in there for any length of time.

Other than that the hotel was brilliant, will probably be coming back although it is rather expensive. Hopefully will be a bit more sunny next time!

Room Tip: We had mountain view rooms on a high floor which were lovely but if you want sun on your balcony go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessjade14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback, telling us all about your great stay at the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel.
We are sure that your descriptive review will help many other travelers to choose where to stay in on their next trip to Madeira Island.
We are very happy to hear that you have had a nice holiday enjoying all the facilities within the hotel and we thank you also for your good suggestions. The hotel has been subject of several renovations through the years, for example the new pool by the ocean level, and the Reception area in December but there is always new opportunities to improve. All your suggestions are most welcome.
We cannot promise the sunshine, but we look forward to welcome you and your family in the near future.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was our first package holiday for our family of four (two kids age 6 and 10) We booked through Thomsons and were a little wary about te whole thing, but didn't need to be. The whole experience was excellent from start to finish. We have travelled extensively and are ver fussy about hotels, but the Carlton was fantastic. We had two adjoining rooms with an island view, which is breath taking, and in our view far more interesting than a sea view. The rooms were spacious clean and very nicely furnished. The beds were very comortable. We were on a Bed and Breakfast package and breakfast was great. We decided not to take he dinning package a we wanted to eat out at different restaurants which we really enjoyed. Based on the quality of the hotel and the breakfast, we assume the food elsewhere in the hotel would be equally good.

An excellent hotel that deserves its 5 stars.

Room Tip: If you don't mind heights take a room on the top floors. Island view is great, paying extra for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and for choosing the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel for your holiday in Madeira, showing that this hotel is also suitable for family holidays.
Your kind words and recommendation are the best award we could obtain and we will do our best to carry on with the good work.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you all again,
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Amazing location, OK staff, great view! The hotel needs a renovation (I believe it is one of the oldest ones in the island) but other than that I had a great time there. Very spacious, the pool bar's view is breathtaking and the bar is quite nice as well. If interested in doing a taxi tour around the island, I recommend asking at the reception for Otavio, an amazing guide we had. The guys speak all principal languages and is like an encyclopaedia, not to mention really sympathetic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for the review you have submitted in this website.
We are very glad to read that you enjoyed a nice holiday at the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel.
This hotel was indeed first built in 1972, but we would like to take this opportunity to refer the several renovations which have been endured through the years improving our facilities and service. However, we are well aware that there are always new opportunities in terms of improvement and development to follow.
Once again thank you for your contribution and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Pestana the week before Easter leaving on the bank holiday Monday. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived until we left. We had paid extra for a seaview room and were offered an extra upgrade at a price which was a shame as we had already paid one upgrade! We opted for the room we had paid for overlooking the sea, mountains and port. Stunning view with lots of interesting things to observe. Breakfast was plentiful and very good although the cooked(hot) food was only barely warm rendering it uneatable for my taste. Lukewarm scrambled eggs etc are not nice. However the fruits, cereals, pastries and breads more than made up for it. On the downside the bottled water in the room was overpriced so we did not use it and the tea/coffee making tray was only free unless you wanted a refill and then you would have to pay for a refil. For a hotel of this standard to charge for teabags/coffee and milk is a bit penny pinching given the room rates. We managed to avoid the time share representatives and did not succumb to offers of free drinks etc. Overall we would definately visit again.

Room Tip: we were in room 1530 overlooking the port and sea, highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemarie1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel.
We are very happy to hear that despite some less favorable details you enjoyed a lovely holiday and intend to come back to visit us.
Good notice of your remarks regarding the food has been taken in consideration and rest assured that we will do our best to improve.
Thank you very much for your recommendation. If you please let us know of your return in advance, we will do our best to allocate you in your favorite room or a similar one nearby.
We look forward to welcome you again.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Good hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Nothing was a problem for them. The pools (4) are excellent although some work to drill the earth from the balcony planters went on all morning and afternoon and was annoying...Breakfast is plentiful and we found the Pub did decent snacks or a drink before popping out. We did not try the restaurant - although the buffet at E29 in the Breakfast room one evening was well attended and the food was good with plenty to choose from for everyone.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms facing east overlook Funchal and the harbour. Sun on balconies in the morning only (k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Werner S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed in February/March with 2 young children. The room (family) was extra spacious (60+ m2), which we loved. The hotel is really well managed, non of its areas is too busy, and hasn't got a flaw that is worth mentioning. It has a rather understated charm, and the fact that it is a property with a certain history and tradition, only adds to it. The staff is really pleasant (with an odd exception or two), they are very polite and efficient. After our return home, they even sent us my daughter's slippers that we had forgotten to pack.
To be honest I was really positively surprised, as the hotel was nicer as what I expected based on the reviews read. I'm really happy we've chosen this hotel over the others that we were considering (which may have had higher ratings in Tripadvisor). The hotel really has a prime location, next to the Madeira's finest (and thus much much pricier) Reid's palace, and once you see Lido (where most other hotels, also 5-stars, are located), you really appreciate the location even more. The views are spectacular, there are not masses of hotels around, you have several restaurants nearby, and you're really (even with young kids) in a walking distance of Funchal centre, Marina and old town. Beautiful garden pool area.To summarize it, a really really solid hotel, great value for money, and an excellent location. Oh, and the breakfast was good (plenty of fresh fruit, a nice choice of pastry and bread, freshly baked omelettes, we were more than happy), so I cannot agree with some reviewers finding fault in that.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leona_Ela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
1.4 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#15 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,616 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 2,409 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#7 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Carlton Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Carlton Madeira

Property: Pestana Carlton Madeira
Address: Largo Antonio Nobre, no 1, Funchal, Madeira 9004-531, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Business Hotel in Funchal
#18 Family Hotel in Funchal
#21 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#28 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#29 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Carlton Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Carlton Madeira, one of the most lively hotels in Madeira, enjoys a privileged setting in Funchal, at the top of a slope on the island of Madeira, providing fantastic views over the bay of Funchal and the sea. This luxurious and charismatic hotel in Madeira is a reference point for any visitor to Madeira, due to the excellent conjugation of a family atmosphere with the sophistication of its excellent installations. Once you are in the hotel, you will find at your disposal a wide range of services you can enjoy, including 3 leisure areas. In the Garden Pool, you will find a heated saltwater outdoor pool and a swimming pool for children. In the Atlantic Pool, there is a salt water outdoor pool with access to the sea and an indoor pool with Jacuzzi, relaxation rooms and bar. The Magic Spa offers an indoor heated swimming pool with sauna, Turkish bath, Jacuzzi, gym and treatment rooms. To promote the cultural gastronomic diversity of Funchal, this 5 star hotel in Madeira has 3 restaurants and 3 bars, with excellent views of the Atlantic Ocean, with a variety of flavours that will satisfy the most demanding tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Pestana Carlton Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Carlton Madeira Funchal
Carlton Hotel Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing