We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Ranked #31 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The declared 5* hotel. At the beginning of November it was generally filled by the British pensioners – a silent intelligent environment. It is not need to leave this hotel because there is all you need: Spa, sauna, bars, restaurants, sea open pools … Everything is well, all at high level. Fine breakfast. Wonderful service personnel: competent, attentive, benevolent, unostentatious. Very convenient arrangement, a parking for the car.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vkovr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,264 - 1,270 of 2,355 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed the week following New York hurricane and the weather was disappointing. I would have enjoyed spending more time around the pool and making better use of the spa facilities. Car parking was expensive at the hotel- not car hire friendly at all.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juicybabis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Beach Club area in the Pestana Carlton resort, which does allow you to use all the facilities of the resort. The two outdoor pools are great and very well kept. Staff are friendly. The location is very good, safe, and very close to the city centre of Funchal. It is about a 10 min walk to the city centre. The area is a bit hilly so the walk back to the hotel from the city centre is a bit up hill, but nothing to crazy. We also enjoyed how there were small grocery stores very close to the hotel and restaurants as well. One other plus to this hotel is that there is a PADI dive centre on site for scuba diving and snorkelling tours.
Overall we had a great stay and would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacky222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Have just returned from a one week break at the carlton hotel. Overall the holiday was really pleasant apart from the not so good weather!! The hotel was very clean and everything appeared in good order. Its correct what other people have said about the tea/coffee supply its an initial complimentary provision once consumed will cost you 6 euro to refill..the drinks are expensive too, 3.15 euro for a glass of coke but guess these are 5 * hotel prices? There is a "spar" shop opposite the hotel and you can buy water and pop for less than half the price and keep them cold in the mini fridge in your room. The food tasted really good (we were half board) but gets a little samey over time would recommend B&B as there are plenty of eateries close by. The food is good at the hotel "tarverna grill" as is the Breakfast Buffet and the service is also very good. All the staff were friendly and pleasant I would advise though if you pay cash be mindful of how much you give as some staff do not return your change and appear to take it as their tip. I gave 20 euro note for something that cost 16 euro, the difference was not returned to me... The hotel is at the top of a very steep incline which can really take it out of you, if your planning to walk up it on your return from Funchal town consider the bus or taxi back (wish I did!!) especially if you have difficulties walking or breathing. Overall a very beautiful place and really nice hotel. Did end up staying an extra night in another hotel as our flight was cancelled because of poor weather conditions which was no fun. The airport staff were not the most helpful or communicative but guess that was our bad luck and hopefully not a regular occurence.

Room Tip: sea view is highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank richard p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have been visiting the Carlton regularly for a good few years, in fact since it was a Sheraton. It's position in the resort is unbeatable. It's range of facilities are excellent but the standards are gradually deteriating. Examples - pool towels are now threadbare and the sun beds are past their sell by date( and the remaining gravel around the pool continues to lacerate feet), the Taverna restraunt is now open only on Sat and Sun nights and the buffet food in the main dining room is now poor, breakfast very good. Themed evenings are discontinued except for style of food with no entertainment. The pool and pub bars are excellent. Staff overall continue to be very good and there are lots of long term members but new members are not adequately trained. The hotels priority would seem to be with the beach club( time share ) which is short sited. We always have a pool view superior room which while being excellent in design is now becoming shabby. And yes, the tea bag tip should be taken - this is not just a rip off, they cannot be bothered to do it - shame on them. I am afraid to say it is now only the location that takes us back.

Room Tip: Room choice - Pool view means sea view ( and pool ) while sea view means port view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RobB481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just back from a third visit here and I'm not sure I'd return. It has always been a bit 'old fashioned/staid' but this time struck me as tired. OK it is is the end of the season but the staff all seem to have lost the spark of enthusiasm that was so noticeable a couple of years ago.

In mitigation I should stress that we had rubbish weather and an inferior room to last time so these may have put me off a bit.

The food wasn't quite so enjoyable either. Still a great choice for breakfast but not the quality I remember. Poolside food OK but nothing more. The Pub provided a simple one dish dinner that was also fine.

There is a new indoor pool and jacuzzi at sea level which saved the day for us in the bad weather. The pool is freezing but the jacuzzi is large and comfortable. Most guests seem to ignore it so it's a great place for some restful lounging when it rains. You can also use outdoor sunbeds if the weather improves.

The great point about this hotel remains, its stunning location. The views are great and Funchal is walkable in both directions.

The dated atmosphere grated a bit this time and could do with a bit of a boost. The decor in the Pub and 'classy' restaurant is now so worn out it is starting to be embarrassing

Value of the accommodation is still pretty good but based on this experience I'd think twice before a return visit.

Room Tip: avoid the 18th floor. Balconies are not glass fronted and there is no roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rydeb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lovely hotel, 2 swimming pools, the garden pool is the best. Open bar near pool for food and drinks, quite expensive thou. We had a mini suite which was lovely, only problem the balcony looking out to the sea was quite high and small, but the side balcony was larger, but looked out to the port. Only had B & B which was o .k, went out for meals on nighttime, restaurant facing hotel called Chalet, was very good and reasonable. Restaurants near Reids were very expensive, if you we're lucky enough to get a table. Bar facing hotel Red Lion was good, and also the Indian was very good, went twice in one week. Have kettle in room and tea bags, but once they are gone, charge to replace, take your own, and get milk from Spar shop facing. About 15 minute walk to Funchal. Must have a go on the cable car .

Room Tip: Stayed on 14th floor, very big room, had our own bathroom each, and very big bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharonjleighonsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#33 of 88 in Funchal
2,907 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.8 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
2,968 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Village
Pestana Village
#23 of 88 in Funchal
915 reviews
0.5 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Carlton Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Carlton Madeira

Address: Largo Antonio Nobre, no 1, Funchal, Madeira 9004-531, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Business Hotel in Funchal
#17 Family Hotel in Funchal
#23 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#27 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#30 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $95 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Carlton Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Carlton Madeira is a luxurious and charming 5-star hotel in the city of Funchal, on the island Madeira with views of the sea, garden, swimming pool or Funchal bay. It's only 10 minutes on foot from the city centre, with a private car park available for a fee. It features two enormous outdoor saltwater swimming pools, direct access to the Atlantic ocean, and a dive centre where you can experience your first underwater adventure and take boat excursions. For deeper relaxation, you can take advantage of all of the services available at the Spa, including the 25-foot indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, Turkish bath and relaxation rooms where you can enjoy a Magic Spa treatment. The hotel features Wi-Fi, four restaurants and two bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pestana Carlton Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Carlton Madeira Funchal
Carlton Hotel Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing