We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the best value hotel we have ever stayed in.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porto Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porto Mare Hotel
Ranked #7 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Probably the best value hotel we have ever stayed in.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

This was a last minute R&R holiday which with the plus of better than average weather and a very nice hotel was a good decision. There was nothing at the hotel which failed to come up to scratch - the staff were attentive and cheerful without being intrusive, the grounds of the hotel complex are beautiful even in january, the food was of a high standard and for those who wish to swim, the options are great. Perhaps if you want to hit the nightlife, location is not ideal but a taxi from the centre is only 5 euros and during the day, there is the free hotel bus.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
Thank you for your comments about Porto Mare Hotel on TripAdvisor
It is rewarding to know that we were able to please you and that in general you have enjoyed Madeira.

Hope to see you in a near future,

With warm regards

Muito Obrigado

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,473
    377
    53
    12
    6
See reviews for
359
1,250
57
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

This hotel is located in the 'hotel zone' in Funchal and is some distance from the city centre but the hotel runs a regular (free) shuttle bus into town. It has excellent facilities including a several restaurants, gardens and swimming pools and there is a wide range of entertainments available. The staff were helpful and friendly and the rooms are spacious and well appointed. There are plenty of restaurants and shops in the vicinity as well as good bus services.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alekto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

We arrived at the Porto Mare on New Years Eve to put 2011 on a more positive footing, and staying at the Porto Mare helped us achieve that. The staff were so welcoming and accomodating, and we managed to book a table for the New Year Gala Dinner which was excellent, in both the quality of the food (7 course meal with champagne) and service.

We had a garden sea view room which overlooked the pool and restaurant and looked directly into the gardens and from our balcony we watch the sun rise and sun set everyday. The quality of cleanliness and service of the rooms was excellent, we had daily maid service,and a welcome pack when we arrived with fruit and water, and vouchers for drinks and discounts in the hotel bars and restaurants.

The quality of breakfast was superb. The selection, range and choice of fresh foods ranging from continental to cooked breakfasts is second to none, the presentation is excellent, and chefs are on hand to cook to personal tastes.

The hotel has 4 restuarants all of which serve distinct and high quality food. Whichever one we choose we came away satisfied with the quality of the food, the variety of menu choices and the service by the staff. The staff are the friendliest and happiest staff I have met in any hotel I have stayed at abroad or in the UK.

The 3 swimming pools and the gardens are amazing and we took a rainy afternoon to enjoy a his/her facial in the spa treatments which included back, face and neck massages. This was a wonderful relaxing experience and very good value for money as it was a special offer package. The spa offers many treatments and offers.

There was lots of evening entertainment from local culture (fado or folk band) to classical music, to show/caberet acts to resident artists Duo Harmonica who provide good music for couples to dance to. There were also activities in the afternoons and childrens activities too. So we couldnt get bored there. There's even a librar where you can take books or swap books if you run out of reading material.

The best treat is the afternoon tea. Its as good as whats on offer at the Savoy or Reids, without the fuss of having to wear a jacket and tie - my hubby hates ties. So we really enjoyed scoffing the sarni's and scones, and cakes. Of course, I worked it off in the gym or at the pilates class, while hubby went out for a run on the stretch of promenade that runs all the way from the rear of the hotel along the coastline almost to the next town (tunnel permitting)

We had a fantastic stay at the Porto Mare and will definitely be going back. We liked the fact that they reward returning guests through their Prestige Card scheme, offering discounts and get togethers. Its definitely a 5 star quality hotel with a 4 star rating. Lets hope that changes.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorraine668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. It seems you have profited of the different facilities within the Vila Porto Mare complex and therefore had a good time. We are happy to know that.

As a prestige member guest I can see that you are one of the valuable clients that keep supporting our hotels so I really would like to that you for that.

Hope to see you soon, Muito obrigado,

With warm regards,

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

We have stayed in many hotels around the world including Cliff bay in Funchal and the Rirz Carlton in Sharm el shiek.

Last year we went to Funchal twice once in June and again in late October early November, the first time we stayed at the suites Hotel Eden Mar, this is situated in the same complex as Port Mare, whilst it was very nice we are so glad we decided to try Porto Mare.
As it was my Birthday we emailed ahead and asked for a nice room, on our arrival we were told our room was not quite ready but we could leave our luggage and enjoy a nice drink on the terrace near the lovely pool (complimentary as we were returning guests) This we did and afterwards we returned to reception and were shown to our room, it was amazing it was on the same level as reception and had a very large terrace with a pool /sea view. The terrace had two sun loungers on it, this was ideal for us to catch a few hours in the sun and relax.
The whole stay was very good the rooms are of a large size with nice bathrooms the beds are large and comfortable. The Italian restaurant linked to the hotel is fantastic with very good food. Breakfast is served in two restaurants and you are free to use either, we didn't eat in the other buffet restaurants but I am sure they would have been great as well, all staff were friendly and welcoming this hotel is top quality I cant fault anything.

We liked it so much we have booked again for May,( our wedding anniversary) if we are given the same room we will be very happy. We would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a top quality value for money stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrownNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Dear Guest,

What a responsibility to be compared with one of the best hotels on the Island and another world brand of hotel business. It increases our responsibilities and our commitment to try to do better in order to please the majority of the guests who visit us. Muito Obrigado.

It is also rewarding to know that you have already booked for May, we will be most please to have you back and hope to see you then.

With warm regards,

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2011

Porto Mare is a good hotel on balance, with a few issues nonetherless. It's accurately rated as 4 star but it's not 4+. The best thing about it is location: in town with amenities like supermarket shopping centre and some great restaurants, away from crowds yet 10min by bus to Funchal. Can walk in about 20-25min. Shuttle to the city is useful. Grounds are really good , that's the only thing that's nearer 5 star level - huge pools, botanical garden and nice sea view though not directly on the cliff. Food is good but not great in the morning and evening buffet - while breakfast is great value, dinnert is definetely not, as quality of food varies, service quite slow, and it costs 25euro per person! also tey have very dull piped music in the reastaurant, no atmosphere for that price! Breakfast is very good overall.
Rooms are big which is nice, but with dated decor and no attention to detail (bad quality pictures on walls) - very basic dsign, saved by nice view and a balcony. Showers are also dated with so=so pressure. They charge 10e for the safe - who knows why? It's a reasonable value if to take into account location and room size but just not special.
Finally the service IS good, especially from some of the reception staff, who really are helpful - especially ISABEL. Only one girl at reception was not great (i.e. sour response on the phone and generally not that friendly), One young guy was great too.
The best effort was made during the New year's eve trip to the fireworks - they even vrought some free sparkling wine to the hills, very well organised coaches - thank you for the memorable night!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AppreciateCharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor. Secondly I regret to know that we were not able to fulfill all your expectations on service and food.
Also take the opportunity to inform you that we have within the Vila Porto Mare complex different food options that can suit different needs. An Italian restaurant being one of the most popular restaurants on the Island, a Mediterranean option at The Med also with a variety of special wines at a very affordable cost and the Alfama where we offer a different selection of Madeira & Portuguese courses.
I am also pleased to inform you that after seven years of operation for 2011 to Porto Mare hotel, we are planning some deco interventions so we can give a more actual look to the majority of the 200 rooms. The fastness of times demands that.

Hope to see you in a near future,

Muito Obrigado,

With warm regards,

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2010

We have no doubt this was our best hotel experience ever. The facilities, food and service were excellent. Everthing was enhanced by the beautiful gardens surrounding the hotel. We kept finding little hidden corners we had not discovered before. Antonio, the Manager, was everywhere, which we have no doubt contributed to the smooth way the hotel operated and all of the staff were so efficient and pleasant. We celebrated our 26th wedding anniversary in the Med restaurant and had a first class meal.We appreciated the various sessions organised by the hotel such as a tour of the gardens and Madeira wine tasting and also enjoyed the evening musical entertainment in the varous bars. We have raved to our friemds at home about this hotel and hope to make a return visit some day ourselves.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
Thank you for your thoughts about Porto Mare Hotel. It is flattering the way you have commented your holiday experience and I would like to express my gratitude but everything would be much more difficult without the 216 GREAT colleagues I work with.

Again “Muito Obrigado” and hope to see you soon in one of our hotels.

P.S. there is a new “hidden corner” in Vila Porto Mare gardens…

Best regards

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2010

The Porto Mare resort Madeira is FAB-U-LOUS!!! Clean rooms, wonderful restaurants, friendly staff and amazing pools. Could have stayed forever!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liana_twaites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor your opinion about Porto Mare hotel.
I am really happy to know that you have enjoyed it and answering to your comments “Could have stayed forever “, I take the opportunity to inform you that we can always find a suitable proposal for longer stays!!

With warm regards and “ Muito obrigado”

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,666 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.7 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mare Hotel

Property: Porto Mare Hotel
Address: Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-565, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Funchal
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Mare hotel occupies the central wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort and benefits from the use of all its facilities. There are many different corners and atmospheres here ... something new to discover every day. The rooms combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. Four restaurants, six bars, an ice-cream parlour, five pools, SPA, sports and children's facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Porto Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Funchal
Porto Mare Hotel Madeira/Funchal
Porto Mare Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing