We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Porto Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Mare Hotel
Ranked #7 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed in the sister hotel down in the old town of Funchal which we loved and booked this one by mistake but am so pleased that I did. Was a lovely hotel. Clean, quiet and with a wonderful spa. The buffet breakfast is a treat and the bar had live music in the evenings which made for a wonderful relaxing evening. The outside is beautifully kept and there are plenty of areas to relax in. The hotel is situated within walking distance of many restaurants, and up the road a wonderful shopping centre which was a joy to. Will definitely book again in this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your “Wonderful!” review shared with so many other holiday makers of TripAdvisor.

What a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed the hotel, services and facilities.

Sincerely hope to welcome you in a future, (by mistake or not), visit to Madeira 

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,496
    384
    54
    12
    6
See reviews for
364
1,270
57
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

An outstanding resort conveniently situated on the seafront of the sun kissed, south facing hotel zone on the west side of Funchal. It is close to a range of retail outlets including supermarkets and within a very pleasant 15 minute walk of the vibrant City Centre (a beautiful pedestrian zone), a superb park and the nearby cruise liner port. The hotel provides a free courtesy coach service to and from the City Centre. There is also a fantastic promenade that goes west to Camara de Lobos, with many fine eateries and facilities en route.

The hotel accommodation, services and facilities are excellent, including 2 indoor and 2 outdoor pools, excellent bars and restaurants, and truly excellent tropical gardens which are clearly professionally planted and maintained; one section of the garden is rich in orchid species.

The General Manager is very hands-on, often seen throughout the complex, and the staff of all departments are genuinely committed to providing guests with a quality and friendly service. This Porto Bay resort is my benchmark of what a top quality holiday resort should be. I have a timeshare apartment in The Residence part of the resort, and over several years this experience has been consistent.

Room Tip: There is a wide range of accommodation. Rooms and apartments facing south/south east have excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your review shared with so many other holiday makers of TripAdvisor.

What a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed the hotel facilities, the services and even the GM..:) Thank you for the public praise, with a few more comments like this and I will apply for a salary increase!

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We were a bit tentative booking the 'Porto Mare' after staying the sister hotel the 'Cliff Bay' (5*) last year. However we need not have worried as we had great holiday. The staff were extremely helpful - exemplified by the lengths the receptionist went to satisfy our request to change rooms - we were originally in a quiet room ( as requested at the time of booking) but found the balcony a little overlooked so we were allocated another room almost immediately. The buffet meal ( we tried on the last night) was above average and the Saturday evening dinner and cabaret event was spectacular and although seemed expensive on paper turned out be be great VFM bearing in mind the 'Haute cuisine' and outstanding quality of the cabaret. Best restaurants local to the hotel are 'The White Candle' which is found to the left of the hotel main entrance, just before the Spar supermarket. The Italian restaurant at the back of the hotel at promenade level is also excellent. We dined twice in each of these restaurants and would recommend either.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are to the east side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vic_gillespie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

So pleased to learn that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your support by sharing your thoughts about it on TripAdvisor.

We will be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel as part of a Travel Agent visit and have to say I was very taken with this hotel as I was with Madeira. The hotel is extremely worthy of its 4 stars, I would even put it at a 5. The hotel has a nice relaxed feel to it and I think part of this is due to the very pleasant and polite staff. The room was a great size and even the side partial sea view was ok. Tea/coffee making facilities in the room were a great plus as so many don't do this these days. The cleanliness was impeccable everywhere and the style and decor was very nice. The pool and gardens are immaculate and a pleasure to be in. We had breakfast which was all good (would have liked pancakes with syrup!!) and it was a pleasure to sit outside by the pool. We did eat at the Italian restaurant for a lunch which was also very good. The spa looked great though I didn't have time to use it. There is a courtesy bus into Funchal which I used - great service. I would certainly stay at this hotel again and will now be personally able to recommend it to future clients.

Room Tip: Garden view or full sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JillJ0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

So pleased to learn that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your support by sharing your thoughts about it on TripAdvisor.

We will be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Our first stay at Porto Mare :-)
We came to celebrate my mothers 80.birthday. (Group of 8 people)
We LOVED our stay here.
The hotel, the location, the food, the staff, the rooms even the weather was perfect.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tone E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

First time in our hotel, but not the last we hope.
Thank you for your review about your holiday experience with us.
It is rewarding to know that you have enjoyed it and we will be most pleased to welcome you for your second visit to madeira.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I usually stay at the Cliff Bay, but as this was an on the spur of the moment holiday we decided to try the Porto Mare and we were not disappointed. We chose it as it is part of the Porto Bay group, of which the Cliff Bay is a part of.

We arrived at around 13:30 on Monday 16 November ( we stayed for 4 nights) and the the reception staff were friendly and efficient. Our room was great. Modern, clean with on suite bathroom/toilet. We also had tea making facilities (a must for us Brits) and a fridge for keeping our goodies cool in. The TV was fine, although that's not what we came on holiday to do.

We had a sea view looking through the pool garden area and a large sun bathing area with two loungers. We had to pay a 20 Euro deposit for the safe, but this was returnable on checking out.

The hotel has a courtesy bus/coach that takes you into the centre of Funchal. The local buses also stop outside the hotel and will take you into Funchal or you can take the 48 up to Monte...well worth the ride. We stayed on a bed & breakfast basis and we're not disappointed by the food selection.

We will definitely be staying here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Billy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your “First time stay in this lovely hotel” review shared with so many other holiday makers.
What a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed the hotel facilities.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regads,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

This is my third time here at the same hotel it's lovely and very peaceful. The location is fabulous also. If I had to say a negative it would be the time share nonsense each time I've come I've been badgered about the residence. It is lovely but not my thing maybe when I'm 70 plus! When your constantly having literature through the door asking you to come to meetings and drinks about the time share and you decline I then don't expect to get more literature through the door and then a phonecall it's too much. Also we were upgraded this time which coincided for my 40 th birthday but on my actual birthday we had builders above us banging constantly until we complained. It took us to complain to get the point over. Shouldn't have got to that point. It put a dampner on my day really. Fernando the assistant bar manager at oceano bar is an asset to the hotel complex brilliant guy. The Portuguese restaurant alfamo is fantastic but they all are love this place. The cleaners are so friendly and happy. If you can afford come at new year simply outstanding

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michelle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

So pleased to learn that overall you had another enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your support by staying again in our hotel and for sharing your thoughts about it on TripAdvisor.
I have taken good note of the time share approach and we do everything possible not to contact you again and regret if we have caused you any inconvenience.

Sincerely hope to meet you on your fourth visit to our property.

Warm regards

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,711 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mare Hotel

Property: Porto Mare Hotel
Address: Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-565, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Funchal
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Mare hotel occupies the central wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort and benefits from the use of all its facilities. There are many different corners and atmospheres here ... something new to discover every day. The rooms combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. Four restaurants, six bars, an ice-cream parlour, five pools, SPA, sports and children's facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Funchal
Porto Mare Hotel Madeira/Funchal
Porto Mare Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing