We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of Porto Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Porto Mare Hotel
Ranked #7 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

First time we have stayed at this hotel.

The hotel is spacious and quiet despite being adjacent to a main road.

The multi tasking staff are 100% efficient, helpful and polite 100% of the time and are probably the best team I have ever seen.

Rooms are clean, American style spacious with huge beds and well equipped.

The large garden areas are well kept and delightful

Pool areas and multiple indoor / outdoor pools are immaculately kept and are a credit to the staff

Breakfast buffet area can be quite crowded mid session so go early or later unless you like to que.

Excellent range of breakfast choices available and kept topped up all through service

Would we stay here again - Definitely

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Prestatynblue2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

First time in our hotel, and you start with an “Exceptional” review about your holiday experience with us. Thank you for your support .

It will be a great pleasure to see you around in a future “second stay” in Porto Mare hotel,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,570
    394
    57
    13
    6
See reviews for
381
1,333
57
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, England
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was our first trip to Madeira. We opted for a suite (3 of us travelling). Well worth the extra. A very large bedroom with two queen beds with plenty of storage - a flat screen TV, a bathroom with two showers (one over bath, one in separate cubicle). There is also access to the balcony. There are sliding double doors dividing the bedroom from the lounge area. The bed settee was already made up - we realised why. Unlike other hotels where the bed settee is just unfolded, this hotel had an extra top mattress. This made it feel like a normal bed. The pillows were great - you just sink into them. There is another door to the balcony. The lounge are also had a TV in a cabinet. There was a sitting area as well as a round table with 4 chairs. This area had just as much storage as the bedroom!. There is also a bathroom off this area as well. There is a kitchen area with a hob, fridge, toaster, kettle with coffee tea etc. In fact everything you could wish for.
As for the hotel - lovely. The grounds are fantastic and the sunbeds are positioned in different areas giving the feeling that it is not crowded. Although we travelled in late October the weather was quite warm therefore a lot of the sunbeds were occupied. Not many people were in the pool -we dared to enter twice. It was really cold!! We only ate at the pool bar once - reasonably priced for the quality of food.
The quality of food in the Atlántida restaurant was excellent. The breakfasts were great. A selection of fresh bread, various cereals, fruit, sausages, bacon, eggs,made-to-order omelettes and more. As for the evenings, the themes varied on a weekly rota, including Portuguese, Italian and Carvery evenings. Always various desserts including fruit. We will definitely return. Thank you to all who contributed to making our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hummybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your “Lovely hotel” review shared with so many other holiday makers. What a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed the hotel facilities and used our restaurants for your meals.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira,

Wram regads,

Muito obrigado,



. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We love the Porto Mare, this was our 5th visit.

We love the big pool, 50M long, we swam 1km before breakfast every day and same in evening. Good job we did as that meant we could make the most of the excellent buffet breakfast.

The room was beautiful, we had one minor problem with the aircon in the room, we completed the "maintenance" slip and left it on the door and it had been fixed while we were in breakfast.

All the staff are very friendly and helpful.

We didn't try the restaurants in the evenings, preferring to eat out, over the years we have to got know several favourites and always try a few new ones, we try to get recommendations from local people.

We will return

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review about you stay at Port Mare hotel and it is good to know that you have enjoyed it

We will be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira,


Warm regards

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

There are two aspects of this hotel which rate it above all other hotels we have stayed in: 1) the staff; and 2) the gardens. The Porto Mare must have very enlightened management because all the staff -- whether it be the room maid, the restaurant staff, the gardeners or Reception -- all make you feel so welcome as if you were staying in their own home.

Our room maid (2055) was so efficient and so friendly with an excellent command of English, putting us to shame with our rudimentary Portugese. The restaurant staff are constantly there to look after you, whether it be the waiters and waitresses, or the kitchen staff behind the servery. Bar staff too are friendly although perhaps a little less on the lookout when a new customer is waiting to be served.

Madeira's temperate climate lends itself to lush vegetation, and there are some marvellous formal gardens to visit. However most Madeira hotels are built on the coast where there is little greenery. Not so the Porto Mare. Not only does it have a prominent position overlooking the sea with a panorama to left and right, but it also has extensive sub-tropical gardens with many palms, a sunken orchid garden, an extensive herb garden (used by the kitchen), quiet corners, hidden benches, gazebos etc., winding paths and extensive lawns which are immaculately maintained. Not to mention a magnificent swimming pool, children's pool, and an indoor spa with another pool for those rare days when it is too wet to sit outside.

Accommodation is comfortable, spacious and air-conditioned throughout. Bathrooms are clean and well-appointed. There is a large comfortable lounge with sumptuous sofas to lose yourself in.

Finally the food is superb! The main buffet restaurant (the Atlantida) is so well organised, and the variety and quality of the food is excellent. Desserts alone are a work of art and delicious, with a choice of around 20 alternatives. Then there is breakfast where one can dine on the veranda in the cool of the early morning on every conceivable alternative from scrambled egg, amazing bacon, muesli, fresh fruit: the list goes on and on. There are other restaurants too for an evening out, some more formal.

All in all this is a 4-star hotel with all the luxury of 5-star comfort but with none of the 5-star pomp. Quite simply outstanding. We will be back soon for our fourth visit.

Nick & Nancy Timmins

Room Tip: The hotel charges extra for a sea view, as compared to a garden view. This would be a matter of pers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review shared on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at Port Mare hotel. So pleased to know that you had such a positive holiday experience and therefore enjoyed the facilities, and services of our resort.

It will always be a great pleasure to see you around,


Warm regards

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This was our 15th stay at a Porto Bay hotel. We have mostly stayed at Eden Mar and the Residence.This was our first but definately not last stay at Porto Mare.

Let us first of all send a warm thank you to our chambermaid (cannot remember her name),
room 2344 from October 13th to 20th. She was very efficient and always in a good mood even if she was very busy all the time.
A second thank you to Jenny Babtista at the Residence reception. She was so kind and helpful when we had problems with our boarding passes. ( No help from the Porto Mare reception)
This brings us to the one and only negative thing during our wonderful holiday week, namely :
a couple of receptionists were a little "sniffy" and you got the feeling of beeing a disturbing factor.
This never happened at Eden Mar, where you always felt wellcome.

As mentioned above Porto Mare is in our opinion a gem. The rooms are nice and clean, spacious and well equipped. The view is stunning with the sea and the gorgeous garden.

The breakfast is outstanding, suberb choice as well as the buffet at Atlantida.
One week and 2 extra kilograms !!
A hint to coming guests: You must try the Stone Grilled Tournedos at Alfama. It is super, super.

On the whole guests were very well looked after, plenty of musical entertainment and good information on happenings.

We highly recommend this MORE THAN 4 star hotel and we look forward to our 16th visit there next year.

Yrsa & Heikki
Esbo
Finland

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yrsa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for another stay within the Vila Porto Mare and for your feedback about it. I will certainly share with the housekeeping and reception the comments you have sent us regarding this two services. I have already discussed with reception team the point raised by you and do everything possible to correct it.

Sincerely hope to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira,


Warm regards

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 days with my gf, and they have really everything - spa, pools, playground, minigolf, veeery nice gardens etc etc .. The people there are very friendly they are still ready to help you with anything.. fantastic 3 days, really like in heaven :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zooinek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for your kind review about your short stay with us.
It will be a pleasure to see you around in another opportunity.


Warm regards

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beuningen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

A highly recommended hotel!!!
It was the second time for us we were in Porto Mare Hotel in Funchal/Madeira. And again, we were absolutely NOT disappointed.
We asked for an other room (with garden view) and we got it the next day. Complete rooms, that are cleaned every day. All room asseccoires work perfect. Garden and pool were beautiful as always and maintained very well.
All staff is very kind, willing to help and aimed to have their guests a good time. Nothing is too much! We can recommend you restaurant Atlantido. A breathtaking selection of food every day for breakfast and dinner.
Wifi (for free) in the lobby works very good and in the meantime you can enjoy the music of 2 artists in bar Portofino, who sing all styles of music every evening. For 8 euros a day you can get wifi in your room.
The complete hotel (environment en staff) radiates a certain rest, is fully-equipped with warm colors and gave us (like the 1st time) the feeling of living in a 2nd home!
We have decided to come back next year for 2 weeks. And we heared from many hotel guests that they have the same opinion. Many of them were in this hotel for the 5th or 10th time.
And after next year possibly again! Crucial factor every time will be that the level of the complete hotel exploitation must be the same at least! We think that management and complete staff will succeed with this challange. . . So, till the next time!

Room Tip: We can advice rooms with garden and/or sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the “Holiday autumn 2013” review about your recent stay a Porto Mare hotel.
It is good to know that you had a very positive holiday experience with us and took advantage of our facilities and services.
We promise our best attention on details and quality levels so we can always meet our guest expectations.

See you soon,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,857 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,364 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#8 of 86 in Funchal
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#11 of 86 in Funchal
1,814 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mare Hotel

Property: Porto Mare Hotel
Address: Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-565, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Business Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Mare hotel occupies the central wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort and benefits from the use of all its facilities. There are many different corners and atmospheres here ... something new to discover every day. The rooms combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. Four restaurants, six bars, an ice-cream parlour, five pools, SPA, sports and children's facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Porto Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Funchal
Porto Mare Hotel Madeira/Funchal
Porto Mare Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing