We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!!!”
Review of Porto Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Porto Mare Hotel
Ranked #7 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Paradise!!!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

this Hotel is amazing! Great Food service and rooms.

The swimming pools are fantastic with beautiful gardens, The Orchid garden is especially lovely.
We had a ground floor garden room with a terrace which opened directly onto the garden and meant you were straight across from the pool. It was amazing being in the garden and so private yet not having to go through the hotel.
The Happy Hour is brillant. Just perfect after the pool and before dinner.

The restaurant is very large catering for 400 people and so very busy; If you can find a quiet corner, the food is lovely especiallyt the salads and vegetables. The fish and meat are very hit and miss sometimes good sometimes bad but you will never go hungry here.

Could fault the service friendliness or cleaninless of this hotel.

Can't wait to go back. Hear the New Year is Spectacular with the Fire works!!

Room Tip: Choose ground floor garden room. Saves you lots of time not having to go through the hotel,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review sent to TripAdvisor about you holiday experience at Porto Mare hotel and happy to learn that overall you have enjoyed you holidays.

Just to remember for a future visit that within the Vila Porto Mare complex we have four different gastronomic experiences... Atlantida the themed buffet restaurant, Il Basilica
o the Italian for lunch and dinner, the Med, with Mediterranean cuisine and Alfama with some of the best local and Portuguese specialties. Also four different bars and an Ice cream parlor by Eden Mar Pool & garden.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you in a future visit to our island,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,594
    397
    57
    13
    6
See reviews for
390
1,347
57
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Having previously stayed at the Residence and the Eden Mar this time I stayed at the Porto Mare. Wherever you stay within this complex the standard is excellent. The gardens are lovely and there are so many places to sit and relax. The rooms vary within the different hotels but they are all large and well equipped. I had a garden view room this time and enjoyed the sense of privacy but I think others may miss the view of the ocean which adds to the holiday experience. The staff as always are extremely helpful and friendly. The room is kept spotlessly clean and the breakfast in the Atlantida restaurant was first class. I think this was my 7th stay here and I look forward to the 8th.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Edingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great support by staying so many times with us and for trying the three properties of Vila Porto Mare resort. Also thank you for sending us your feedback about it and for sharing it on TripAdvisor.

We will be most pleased to welcome you on the 8th visit to our resort

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was our first visit to Madeira and could not have chosen a better place to stay. The hotel was spotless throughout with nothing looking tired or shabby. The gardens were a joy to behold with an array of beautiful plants, all of high quality and maintained on a daily basis.
We had a sea view which looked out to sea but across the gardens and the pool and also had the pleasure of listening to the budgies in the cage below.
The food and choice was excellent, even for the fussy eaters!! There was always musical entertainment in the evening when having a drink which added to the ambiance.
All the staff could not have been more helpful, always prepared to help with a smile, nothing was a problem. We will definitely be back.
We had a wonderful time and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Always get a room with a sea view, it is on the opposite side to the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the “Wonderful Hotel” review and for your first stay with us…hopefully won’t be the last!.

It is really rewarding to learn that you have enjoyed your holiday experience with us.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arborfield
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Before we booked our stay at the Porto Mare hotel in Funchal, Madeira, we read all the reports both on Tripadvisor and other related websites. Our expectations were hence high and we were not disappointed! We were upgraded to stay in The Residency in a one bedroom apartment, with double bathrooms, kitchen etc. and it was fab. The gardens are incredible. The pools fantastic. The finishings in the rooms superb. The breakfast buffet sumptuous. But above all, the staff at the Porto Mare are a delight, in particular the lovely ladies of the housekeeping. We had an excellent ten days stay here and will probably return at some point!

Room Tip: We had room 3081, which is facing the side street. Sitting on the balcony it was nice to just watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmitUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Porto Mare hotel to stay and for sending your thoughts about it to TripAdvisor.

Really happy to know that you had a very positive experience with us and we would be delighted to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira,


Warm regards

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

.
The Porto Mare’s best aspect is not seen from the road, but once in the main reception the beautiful and immaculate gardens / pool area facing the sea come into view and don’t in any way disappoint. There were very few children around during our stay. It was a great place for quiet relaxation. I’m very happy to give a lot of praise to this comfortable and well appointed hotel with just one exception. The reception staff were slow, disinterested and inaccurate and give a very poor, and at the arrival stage, worrying impression. Three other staff passed behind reception and totally ignored us waiting with our luggage and booking forms. The only present member of staff continued to deal with a billing problem without acknowledging us at all. All the other hotel staff we encountered were excellent. That said, this is a very nice place to stay. The hotel and grounds are spotlessly clean, our room, a suite, was immaculate and very comfortably furnished. There are plenty of good places nearby to eat out and a taxi rank just yards away. I would be very happy to recommend this hotel to friends and to stay again. I would however be seeking out the general manager if I had a similar reception experience.

Room Tip: A suite if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback about your holiday experience at Porto are hotel.
Sorry to know about your experience at reception. I have shared your thoughts with all my team and discussed it with them so we can do better.

We will be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to Porto Mare hotel.

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We have stayed at many hotels in Maderia but always come back to the Porto Mare because the staff are so friendly, the food is excellent and the rooms are clean. The grounds are fantastic with places that grow unusual plants, the pools are clean and well maintained on a daily basis.
Overall in my opinion you cannot get a better holiday for relaxing and taking in the atmosphere of Maderia.

Room Tip: All sea view rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for another stay and for your feedback about it

We will be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to The residence.

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have just retruned from 7 nights stay at this hotel and have to say we were very impressed with everything, the facilities are excellent with 5 pools to choose from which are all kept to a very clean high standard, the staff work really hard at keeping the hotel up to its good 4* rating and are very friendly and all serve you with a smile, the gardens are lovely and very well kept, the hotel is in a perfect location for walking to the local restaurants, and bars, I can highly recommend The Basilica restaurant at the bottom of the hotel, lovely food. the rooms are good size and plenty of wardrobe space too, my only comment would be for a complimentary bottle of water to be put in the room, as the mini bar has nothing in you have to pre-order.will definately recommend this hotel to our clients.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lynette h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for your seven days stay at Porto Mare hotel and for your thoughts shared on TripAdvisor.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,880 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,376 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#8 of 86 in Funchal
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#11 of 86 in Funchal
1,831 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mare Hotel

Property: Porto Mare Hotel
Address: Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-565, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Funchal
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Mare hotel occupies the central wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort and benefits from the use of all its facilities. There are many different corners and atmospheres here ... something new to discover every day. The rooms combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. Four restaurants, six bars, an ice-cream parlour, five pools, SPA, sports and children's facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Porto Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Funchal
Porto Mare Hotel Madeira/Funchal
Porto Mare Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing