We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Porto Mare Experince” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porto Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porto Mare Hotel
Ranked #7 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Porto Mare Experince”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

A stunning hotel well worthy of its four star status and more. Comfortable large rooms with fantastic sea views across the Atlantic Ocean.
The restaurants are excellent each offering a different cuisine with really fantastic food. Breakfast was no exception as the choices and quality always met expectations.
The only draw back is the location as the choice of outside restaurants are limited.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay at Porto Mare hotel and for sharing your thoughts about it on tripadvisor.

It is rewarding to know that you had positive experiences with us and thank you for the let us know that the restaurants around are not better than ours….:)

Sincerely hope to meet you on a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards


Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,476
    378
    53
    12
    6
See reviews for
360
1,252
57
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel in January 2010. Despite being out of season, we had such a good time. The resort is lovely, nice little restaurants close by. The room was great. It was clean, quiet and had lovely sea views over the pool area. We did not eat at the hotel itself so I cannot fairly comment on that. I would stay at this hotel again if we ever went back to Madeira.

Room Tip: Sea view was apparently better than my parents room which was roadside and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeishaNeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the “Fabulous - good location” review shared on tripadvisor and really happy to learn that you had a positive holiday experience.

Sincerely hope to meet you on a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards


Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here in February 2013; we travelled with Thomsons and all went well ie flight, transfers. We had booked a superior sea-view room which was a really good size; had a splendid view of the pool area and sea from the balcony. As others have pointed out from floor 3 up you only have a balcony but a better view whereas rooms on the 2nd floor I now realise have a terrace complete with sun loungers; just depends what your priority is - and, what room is allocated! The rooms were very well furnished and thoughtfully so. Bathroom was a very good size with everything you need together with pool towels and bath robes for spa area.

The pools in the complex and the garden areas are lovely; very well tended. Everything is clean, bright and inviting. I would thoroughly recommend the Porto Mare - the staff were consistently attentive, in a very good way.

We dined in and out a few times during the course of the stay and had no complaints in either area.

Room Tip: Definitely worth booking a superior sea-view room. Apparently those on the 2nd floor have the benefi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Troves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review about your holiday experience at Porto Mare hotel. Really happy to learn that you have enjoyed it.

See you soon,

Warm regards


Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent two weeks here at the beginning of July on our first visit to Madeira. We travelled with Thomson Holidays and this ranks as one of our best holidays. After an uneventful flight the transfer from the airport by taxi took about 30 mins and we were in our hotel room within about 50 minutes of landing on Madeira.

Our room was ready despite us arriving a good couple of hours earlier than the official check in time and the check in itself was very smooth.

We had booked a superior sea view room and after being shown to room 2222 which is on the same level as reception and above the Atlantida buffet restaurant terrace, were delighted to find that the room was exactly as shown on the website with the addition of a terrace complete with 2 sun beds and a drinks table so no race for a sunbed at the pool. The rooms above from floor 3 up only have a balcony but a better view out to sea and over the pool. The room had all the amenities you would expect from a good quality 4 star hotel including a fridge, safe and decent toiletries. There was ample space for all our belongings and the air conditioning was adequate (but only just). The beds were two three quarter size beds pushed together and very comfortable with memory foam toppers and top quality linen changed on request. The bathroom was very well designed with an over bath shower, plenty of hot water and fresh towels every day if required. The pool towels were also in our room on arrival and were huge.

We had a couple of minor issues when we arrived, no bathrobes in the room which you need if you are using the spa and a small maintenance problem, both were rectified within 24 hours.

We ate in three of the restaurants during our stay as we were half board:

The Atlantida - good quality buffet restaurant, different theme each night, carvery on Sunday, breakfast daily
Alfama - Portuguese speciality restaurant
The Med - Mediterranean/international style food

Can't understand the negative comments on the Atlantida we ate here most nights and this was by far the best european buffet food we have had with a great selection at breakfast and dinner. The Alfama was a set menu you could use your half board credit for or pay the difference on the a la carte menu, we had another lovely meal here for an additional €40
for three courses, a bottle of house wine and water. The Med was aesthetically the nicest restaurant, we went on the meat lovers night and paid an additional €64 for the a la carte meal there.

We also tried the barbecue served at the pool bar at an additional cost of €38 which was good if you enjoy barbecues.

The entertainment throughout the complex was a good standard with plenty of variety, we particularly enjoyed The Black Dog Blues Band.

We bought a Spa pass for two for a week for €30 like the rest of the complex the Spa was immaculate and the pass entitled us to an hour in the sauna and aromatherapy steam room and to a 10 percent discount on treatments, I had a pedicure and a Decleor facial, both were better than any treatments I've had in the UK.

This hotel is in a beautifully maintained complex with stunning grounds and pool area, good food and best of all excellent customer service provided by friendly, cheerful staff. Only downside was the erratic wifi in the public areas and lack of any
wi fi in the rooms.

Tips if you visit Madeira and stay at Porto Mare:

Use the Pingo Doce supermarket and the wine shop on the corner at the Eden Mar for best prices on groceries and drinks.
Book the courtesy bus at reception if you are going into Funchal but load a few journeys on a Giro card for the local buses, the 1,2,4,6 all stop at the Porto Mare and you can get the cards in the Wine shop next to the Eden Mar.
Bella Ilha cafe across the road to the left has good wifi and is very reasonable for food and drink with great service.


We had a fantastic holiday here, Madeira is breathtaking and the people are very courteous and friendly. We would not hesitate to return to the Porto Mare.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank LoobyLou050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you such a comprehensive description of our resort facilities and services.

It is rewarding to know that you had a very positive holiday experience and it will always be a pleasure to welcome you

WI-FI is on the way…

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Our week on Madeira co-incided with a heatwave: the Porto Mare really did feel like a paradise oasis with its superbly manicured gardens comprising lawns aplenty interspersed with a delightful variety of flowers and plants. The views out across the Atlantic were glorious from both the bedroom balcony and the grounds (especially from the platform, at the end of the walkway over the sunken orchid garden, as we enjoyed a cooling zephyr of breeze); and by a trick of the eye from the Restaurant Atlántida the adjoinging swimming pool and Ocean seemed to virtually merge into one! The hotel had kindly given the four of us adjoining bedrooms; bedrooms which were very spacious and generously furnished and kept very clean.

Being just a maximum of five storeys high above ground level the hotel complex was beautifully proportioned and sunbathing by the pool felt as if we were in the exotic grounds of a country house.

The hotel group's courtesy bus into Funchal was a very nice touch which we used just the once for a delightful stroll around the very interesting old city and the wonderful tree-lined Avenida Arriaga where we sat drinking poncha under the gaze of the monument to Zarco.

One week wasn't enough to make the most of Funchal or all the facilities at the Porto Mare: we shall definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the feedback about your recent stay at Porto Mare Hotel.
Good to know that you had a positive holiday experience and that even discovered poncha, the local best drink in summer, winter day and night!

It will be a pleasure to have you around soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous holiday ,grounds beautiful ,rooms spacious and sea view wonderful ,buffet resturant dissapointing ,food cold.was 1/2 board but got €16 credit per person to use in there other resturants and they were truely amazing ,especially the med !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiptoes1298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review(s) about you recent holiday experience with us.
Sorry to hear about the cold food at the buffet. As you know we have a show cooking station for the meat and fish ...we will promise good attention on it.

We would be most pleased to welcome you again.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST MIDLANDS
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a week at the Porto Mare Hotel. Our room - a junior suite - was a perfect size and layout - even to a hob and toaster and pots and pans although my wife didn't fancy a week of cooking the facilities were there. The grounds were immaculate, the staff first rate and we had a fab week.
I must though talk about two detracting points minor in my estimation but worth a mention. First the hotel had advertized internet access from the rooms but on arrival we discovered that there was wireless only in the lobby and sometimes in other common areas, but inconsistent at best. I know no one goes on holiday to surf the net but as a lot of folks we do like to check our email and would have liked to be able to stream movies at night. Other thing that I want to add is the food at the buffet was 'good' not great. It is also the case that we usually as we did this week do a bit of exploring of the numerous restaurants within close proximity so clearly we didn't starve but it is appropriate to mention that the food was not to the standard of the other features of the hotel - would not stop me from revisiting to be sure.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing for a first rate, relaxing holiday

Room Tip: go for the junior suite perfect!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UK-BOB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and so many other holiday makers and for your preference by staying at Porto Mare hotel.

Until now the only Wi-Fi available is on public areas, we are now on the process of installing Wi-Fi in all Vila Porto Mare resort, therefore soon we will have this service available. Regarding the restaurants hope you have noticed that we have other restaurant options within the Vila Porto Mare complex…an Italian, a Portuguese/local food and a Mediterranean option also for the guests on Half board basis with set menu/á la carte service.


We would be most pleased to welcome you again.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,668 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.7 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mare Hotel

Property: Porto Mare Hotel
Address: Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-565, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Funchal
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Mare hotel occupies the central wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort and benefits from the use of all its facilities. There are many different corners and atmospheres here ... something new to discover every day. The rooms combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. Four restaurants, six bars, an ice-cream parlour, five pools, SPA, sports and children's facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Porto Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Funchal
Porto Mare Hotel Madeira/Funchal
Porto Mare Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing