We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“One of the best hotels l have stayed in” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porto Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Porto Mare Hotel
Ranked #8 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Seaham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels l have stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Hotel was fantastic and the surrounding gardens are stunning, staff are very efficient, friendly and most pleasant nothing was too much trouble. We would like to say a big thank you to Andrea from the pool bar and Agostinho and his colleague for their assistance with my mother as she is disabled and provided a special mattress for her sun lounger.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review shared with so many other holiday makers of tripadvisor.
It is rewarding to know that you had a positive holiday experience at the Porto Mare hotel.
I will proudly share your thoughts with Andrea and Agostinho. They will be most pleased to receive it.

We would be most pleased to welcome you again.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,389
    352
    46
    12
    6
See reviews for
342
1,166
53
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our second visit to the Porto Mare Hotel, Funchal, was just as perfect as our first visit and we shall certainly go again. We found no fault in the hotel whatsoever and can't understand why it is not a 5 star. All of the restaurants serve excellent food, the bedrooms are quite large and very comfortable, the staff most helpful, the grounds delightful and the evening entertainment very tasteful.

Room Tip: I would think any room would prove suitable but we enjoy a ground floor garden room as you look out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthea93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the “Excellent again!” review and for the second stay at Porto Mare hotel.

Happy that you have enjoyed the different facilities and the services we do have available within Vila Porto Mare.

Sincerely hope to meet you on the 3rd visit to our property.

Warm regards

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I recently visited Maderia for my daughters wedding with family and friends so we stayed at the Porto Mare Hotel.
I found it to be a very welcoming and high quality haven with good food and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Porto Mare hotel and for sharing your kind thoughts on tripadvisor.

It is rewarding to know that somehow we have made a positive contribution to such a special occasion.

Warm regards

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a lovely hotel - set in beautiful tropical gardens. We stayed 1week in what is known as "the residence" & is like an apartment with cooker, microwave & even a dishwasher.
There are several good clean swimming pools & a games room.
The staff are all very friendly and effecient. The shuttlebus into funchal towncentre is free and runs regularly and on time!
Hotel restaurants are pricey - but there are so many good restaurants close to the hotel there is no need to ever eat in. We had breakfastincluded & thebuffet is excellent - although their croissants are almost inedible!
Its a great hotel for couples or afamily- am not sure I would recommend it for teenagers though - but that is probably true for Madeira generally.

Room Tip: ours was in the residence - I cannot comment on the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alan_hodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Just a short note for your feedback and for staying at Porto Mare Residence.

Happy to know that overall you have enjoyed your holidays and do hope to welcome you soon,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Porto Mare has a surprisingly high ratio of returning residents and it's not hard to understand why. Madeira itself is a lovely island so the hotel certainly has a head start, but the key is that it supplements this with a complex that offers every facility you could possibly want and provides this with some delightful service. With sister hotel Eden Mar and time share The Residence connected internally and their facilities available to all, opportunities for activity abound and there is a full calendar from Portuguese lessons to kitchen tours, pilates classes to classical concerts, wine tasting to water gym and yoga to evening entertainment. The cuisine is outstanding and spread across four separate restaurants. We chose to dine for the majority of our two week stay in the Atlántida, Porto Mare's main restaurant, which provided a choice hot and cold buffet of the highest order, each night having its own theme, and we also enjoyed a buffet breakfast here that again was outstanding and, as with dinner, featured chef's serving and cooking 'out front'. I had undertaken a sponsored charity diet several months before our holiday and it is unfortunately no exaggeration to confess that, with this unmissable culinary experience, I found myself back where I had started by the end of our stay. There was just too much of it that was too good not to enjoy! For the record, we also particularly enjoyed a fish evening in the Alfama restaurant as well as venturing to the sea front restaurant beneath the hotel complex where the Il Basilico provides Italian cuisine in a modern and attractive setting. (it is to be found, by the way, next door to the ice cream parlour whose best-kept secret is a very special lunchtime soup.) The grounds, with tropical gardens beautifully tended, are extensive and, certainly during our stay, never crowded. Our weather was variable and, while the enormous outside pool was tempting, its temperature was really only fit for the hardy, but, with indoor alternatives and a spa in which to relax, there was never any fear that we would not be engaged throughout our stay. And when we wanted to look further afield there was many an island tour to choose and a courtesy bus into Funchal also at our disposal. A word of warning to check and be sure of return journey times, and a recommendation that, should you choose to try out Funchal's cable car, come down the same way rather than travel by bus - that is a REALLY scary journey! We left far too much undone and this is without doubt a hotel that we would be delighted to visit again.

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms are attractive
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank toptrumps_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such a comprehensive review shared on tripadvisor about your holiday experience in Madeira and our hotel in particular.

We would be most pleased to welcome you soon,


Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We were welcomed with a bottle of champagne and flowers in our room which was a nice touch and rose petals on the bed. Our room was faultless and the maid service was pretty good, they seemed to renew the toiletries every day. We had a sunny balcony so we spent most of our sunbathing time there rather than round the pool. We used all the pools which seemed to be empty so we had them to ourselves most of the time. The breakfast buffet was really good. Loads to choose from hot or cold and plenty to drink also hot or cold.
The hotel and pools were spotless and the gardens were beautiful with most of the plants and shrubs labeled. A lovely veiw across the Atlantic.
We ate a few times at the evening buffet and weren't disappointed.
We would recommend this hotel to friends and family. We found some of the staff a little grumpy but perhaps this is just the way they are so would let this stop us from returning.
The hotel is in a good area for eating out, plenty of restaurants to choose from the White Candle was particularly nice.
We walked into Funchal a couple of times stopping at the presidents garden for a look around. There are some good shops around.
We didn't do much sight seeing because we wanted to just relax which is exactly what we did.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sjoke s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Happy to know that overall we made a positive contribution for such an important event of your lives. Thank you also for sharing your feedback about it on tripadvisor

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back on a future visit to Madeira.


Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We have visited Porto Mare (The Residence) a number of times over the last few years and in our opinion it has just got better and better. The staff are exceptionally helpful and the surrounding gardens are stunning. We visited in June 2013 and the weather was perfect: all 4 pools were warm enough and there were plenty of low key activities should you wish. Nothing is forced! There are a number of eating options on site but the Hotel is surrounded by plenty of restaurants. Booking Eden Mar, Porto Mare or The Residence gives you all three Hotel facilities and a very relaxing environment. One very impressive feature is the management team! There is always a manager walking about checking that everything is in order: and it always is!

Room Tip: A junior suite just gives that bit of extra room. All rooms overlook beautiful gardens and almost al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hoban13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay at Porto Mare hotel.
It is rewarding o know that overall you had such a positive holiday experience and we will be most pleased to welcome you soon,


Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,519 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#10 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
2.0 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mare Hotel

Property: Porto Mare Hotel
Address: Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-565, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Funchal
#6 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Mare hotel occupies the central wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort and benefits from the use of all its facilities. There are many different corners and atmospheres here ... something new to discover every day. The rooms combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. Four restaurants, six bars, an ice-cream parlour, five pools, SPA, sports and children's facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Porto Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Funchal
Porto Mare Hotel Madeira/Funchal
Porto Mare Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing